We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gallo 71

Gallo 71
Reserve with OpenTable
Gallo 71 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chihuahua
Level Contributor
247 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

This was my third time in Gallo 71, and each one has been excellent! And this is the only place where vegetables taste as good as the meat! You have to try the Fried Coliflower and the grilled artichoke! And of course, the salty Rib Eye. Wine chartnis excellent and the atmosphere unbeatable.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Signore_Colomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    107
    42
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Pedro Garza Garcia, Mexico
Level Contributor
239 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“The good, the bad, and the ugly....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

I've had dinner here for a couple of times. I like to have a nice meal and I'm quite picky when it comes to dinning. This restaurant is located in a very nice and safe area, very easy to get there and not far from the hotels area in San Pedro municipality. It is a good restaurant of Mexican new age cuisine, nothing really outstanding in the menu other than the grilled cauliflower and the marinated scallops which are absolutely amazing. Stakes are average, so avoid ordering beef. There are better places in Monterrey for that. The wine list is just too short and mostly from Mexico. Don't take me wrong, there are very nice Mexican wines, but not in this restaurant.
The atmosphere is nice but quite noisy, not good for a romantic dinner or special occasion. On Tuesdays there is a guy making cigars for free so you could enjoy one in the smoking room after your dinner/lunch.
Be prepared to pay around $50 dlls per person plus drinks. I strongly advise to make a reservation upfront to avoid waiting for a table. Parking is a challenge but there is valet service.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jose Luis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zephyr Cove, Nevada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Hidden secret”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Well, like some others, I heard that El Gallo 71 was a new restaurant and part of the El National restaurant chain, so we thought we would try it out.

What a great surprise. I ordered one of the less expensive steaks because I only wanted 300 grams. It seems that most of the excellent restaurants in Monterrey offer huge portions of meats up to sever kilos or lbs. Even 300 grams is a lot.

Well what arrived was one of the best steaks that I have ever had! Ever, and I have had a lot of steaks. It rivaled the best USA steak houses. I ordered medium rare, and it was perfect to the edge, looked just like the pictures in steak books, and melted in my mouth. It was grilled to perfection. I couldn't believe it. What a treat.

Now I am a critical reviewer, and have given others more negative reviews, but this place is a must go. BTW the wine was great, and desert fabulous, the pistachio cake, a huge portion.

Service was excellent, and price reasonable. I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chihuahua
Level Contributor
247 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“An excellent option while in San Pedro... Or even far!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

When someone mentioned that the Gallo 71 is from the same group than La Nacional, I expected the same concept and quality food. But it is even better! They have a lot of grilled vegetables as appetizers, and each one is delicious! And the octopuss is superb!. And the cheesecake bluberry dessert is memorable. Service is very good, and the armosphere invites you to stay longer than upu should! Memorable lunch!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Signore_Colomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburg, Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Meat like you have never eaten”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Named after the owners grandparents original grocery store maybe 80 years ago Gallo, this restaurant is decorated with the inspiration of the original business infused with the modern chic, quite an excellent combination. Has a cigar area totally isolated which we appreciated, as we do not like smoke at all. Now, about food: this chef knows how to work with salt and spices, start with the fabulous Artichoke or the Asparagus at the Grill both delicious, will not lose your appetite. Meat is fabulous, filet cooked in the perfect timing we just loved it.Do not lose your visit in the tacos might be good but the chunk of filet is the best you have ever tasted believe me. The Tuna tartar was seasoned very well for someone who wants fish, period. And prepare yourself for the divine Pistachio Cake not to be missed! WE will be back!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crab123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gallo 71 also viewed

San Pedro Garza Garcia, Monterrey
 
San Pedro Garza Garcia, Monterrey
San Pedro Garza Garcia, Monterrey
 
Monterrey, Nuevo Leon
San Pedro Garza Garcia, Monterrey
 

Been to Gallo 71? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing