We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quinta Real Monterrey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Second time at this hotel, very expensive for what you get, everything is old. I´m on the executive building and just next to the air conditioner motors, a lot of noise inside the room, this is not a 250 dollars per night hotel never. Breakfast is very expensive, Internet is U$ 70 for 3 days. For the same money you can get a newer Hotel with much better comfort. Very well located.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amoreno1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (301)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 301 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

High camp, from the scent of the lilies under the dome when you enter, through the stone columns of the patio to the neo-baroque details of the bedrooms, the Quinta Real Monterrey is a period piece, celebrating 1980s style. (In some cases, eg the plastic jacuzzi bath this could do with updating though). Rooms are huge and very comfortable.

I had previously stayed in the Quinta Real in Villahermosa, which is also designed around a patio but it had all the charm of a high security jail. This was a world away from that.

A reasonable breakfast with a classical pianist made this one of the very few hotels I’d like to return to. (That said I think many of the complaints in other reviews are justified and my office had prepaid so I never saw a bill thus I don’t have the full picture.)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeBristolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is the 3rd hotel on this chain that I visit and the bad experiences are consistent. In my opinion this hotel lacks a category, since it is not a good hotel for business, couples, families, etc.

In the business category it has big rooms but not functional. If you plan to work on a desk, the "desk" is a crystal piece supported by two stones, that reduce considerably the amount of space and there is a single outlet that is hard to reach.

I stayed 3 nights in this property. When going to the room you have to go down several stairs with your luggage, no elevator close by, instead they have a guy running to help you all the time. You are usually in a hurry so in my case I did it by myself.

Housekeeping is not adequate. One time I had to ask them to bring me the hand towels they took. I had to always ask them to make the evening service (specially to replace towels) and since the moment you arrive they place a fruit plate that will not leave the room until you leave, so if you did not eat everything most of the fruit will be past due and they don´t care to leave it that way.

The shower has cloth (not plastic) curtains, so everything gets wet and also that is not healthy at all.

Having steps to go to the bed can cause you a problem if you forget them at night, and the bathroom is several feet away from the place it should be.

The restaurant is also a terrible experience. Prices are very expensive. Service is consistently slow (at one time we were 3 people waiting 40 minutes for dessert) and in one morning even though there were tables available they sent us to the bar to have a seat on bar tables where the breakfast experience was slower, the waiter forgot what we order, in one word: complete chaos.

The exercise room is just OK, with machines that are a couple of generations older, however the pool was perfect, clean, good temperature and minimum size to swim laps.

On a price/benefit ratio this hotel is not a choice.

Room Tip: ASk for rooms with a view to the inside patio of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MPM_WORLDWIDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was my first visit to Monterrey and reading some of the travel advisories had me a little worried. The city and this hotel are beautiful and the hotel has exceeded my expectations. First, there are extra staff everywhere who rush to help you. My room (409) was spacious, clean, and well appointed. The cleaning staff come in twice a day to make sure everything is restocked.

The lobby bar was comfortable and very cool. The restaurant serves a large menu of great dishes and it seems that even the local business people come to the hotel to eat. The staircases and hallways are decorated with artwork and lots of old world style.

The hotel is located right across the street from an upscale mall and best of all a large Starbucks. The mall has a number of popular eating establishments with some offering outside seating. The area that the hotel is located is a business district so many tall office buildings and hotels.

Wifi is an added charge. You can buy normal speed and high speed. I would recommend the normal speed, which is about $10 per day. The hotel has an amazing pool area and well appointed fitness center. Three treadmills, three elliptical machines, free weights, and functional trainer equipment.

When I return to Monterrey, and I will, I will be coming back to the Quinta Real.

Room Tip: Ever room seems like a winner in this beautiful hotel. If you want added convience and promixity to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Gorgeous hotel. Excellent, friendly service. Large, beautifully decorated rooms--mine had a separate sitting area. The food in the restaurant was excellent. The Jonas Brothers were in town for a concert and were staying at the hotel. Monterrey's largest shopping mall is across the street and includes some nice restaurants on the top level with a view. My only complaint was that the concierge recommended a local restaurant where no one spoke English and the food was just okay.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank platinumflyer2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This is my hotel of choice in Monterrey. It's not a chain hotel per say although there are a few in Mexico. The hotel is built in the old Hacienda style and is so charming. The suite rooms have a step down to the bedroom area with lots of room to relax. The beds are very comfortable and the bathrooms charming and truly Mexican. The exercise room is new and has good equipment - it overlooks the absolutely stunning swimming pool - that while indoor - seems to be outside. The ceilings soar above the pool and the doors going into the pool must be at least 25-30 high. The centre courtyard is lovely, the bar welcoming and very plush with a fire place in the middle. Food is good but overpriced - especially breakfast. If you are looking for something Mexican - skip the US chains and head over to this hotel - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TraceyMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed 6 nights here in Feb 2013. Book rate is about $400 USD ++ per night, my corp discount showed $300, but a local colleague was able to get $175 rate.
Presidents and famous people have stayed here. Jonas Brothers checked in just before I left, so it's well regarded as "the best in town".
Service is top notch, professional, and they have a lot of people on staff to take care of you.
Hotel is nicely decorated, original art on the walls. The stuff in my room was a bit creepy with naked kids with no arms and stuff, but it was somebody's idea of art... the other naked cherubs just carried the theme over the top for me.
One shortcoming was the age and need for a modernization. The bath (large, clean) had a Jacuzzi tub insert; the intake grill for the pump was aged and dark / heavily discoloured... it looked dirty but was not dirty, just old. Same for the taps and fixtures. Time for a modernization.
Restaurant food was very good, but again very expensive. Light breakfast for my colleague and I (not included in room rate) cost over $60 USD. Having a pianist play while I ate was nice, but not worth it for the business traveller.
Internet was not included, and cost about $20 per day. Service was reliable and fast.
Great location, very safe, right across from a top end shopping mall with lots of choices in great restaurants and shopping.
After 6 days of this, my biz trip was extended so I checked out the local competition. Directly next door is Safi hotel. I moved there and will review separately, but to summarize it was less than 1/2 price, included breakfast and internet, was newer and more modern, with great service and lovely decor. Room was much smaller but still all I needed.
So, if you are a pop star or a President, go for it. If you are at all conscious of value and budget, go next door, or locally there are other top end choices for a lot lower price.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonN099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Pedro Garza Garcia
0.0 mi away
Safi Royal Luxury Valle
Safi Royal Luxury Valle
#6 of 15 in San Pedro Garza Garcia
363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camino Real Monterrey
Camino Real Monterrey
#9 of 15 in San Pedro Garza Garcia
385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Monterrey Valle
Grand Fiesta Americana Monterrey...
#1 of 15 in San Pedro Garza Garcia
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Live Aqua Urban Resort Monterrey
Live Aqua Urban Resort Monterrey
#5 of 15 in San Pedro Garza Garcia
95 reviews
1.6 mi away
NH Collection Monterrey
NH Collection Monterrey
#3 of 15 in San Pedro Garza Garcia
704 reviews
1.9 mi away
Safi Royal Luxury Towers
Safi Royal Luxury Towers
#15 of 96 in Monterrey
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Real Monterrey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Real Monterrey

Address: Diego Rivera 500 | Fraccionamiento Valle Oriente, San Pedro Garza Garcia, Monterrey 62260, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Nuevo Leon > Monterrey > San Pedro Garza Garcia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in San Pedro Garza Garcia
#4 Spa Hotel in San Pedro Garza Garcia
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro Garza Garcia
Price Range: $162 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quinta Real Monterrey 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quinta Real Monterrey is located in the eastern area of the city, at 5 minutes from the historical center, at 35 minutes from the International Airport Mariano Escobedo and at 15 minutes from the Fair and Exhibition Center Cintermex. With 165 spacious suites from 40 to 163 m2, in our Presidential Suite of two floors, all have internet access, living area, marble desk, 3 telephone lines, minibar, television, air conditioning and heating. Pay per view movies, safety deposit box, iron and ironing board, bathrobe, slippers and amenities Hermes. We also offer suite service 24 hours and a pillow menu available for you to have a full rest. Services and Amenities Concierge Business Center Restaurants and Bar Events Suite Services (24 hours) Fitness Center Pool with a bar Executive transportation Parking lot and valet parking Logo Shop Medical Assistance Laundry and dry cleaning Excursions (request) Baby sitter (request) Local attractions Paseo Santa Lucia Parque Fundidora Planetario Alfa Museo de Arte Contemporaneo Museo de Historia Mexicana Catedral Metropolitana Macroplaza y Barrio Antiguo Chipinque, Cola de Caballo y Grutas de Garcia Centro de Ferias y Exposiciones Cintermex y Convex Restaurants and Bars Bar Los Murales this bar offers a variety of national and international beverages, that you will enjoy in a comfortable atmosphere accentuated by his large fireplace, live music from 8:00 p.M. To 1:00 a.M. Open Monday to Thursday from 1:00 p.M. To 1:00 a.M. And Friday and Saturday from 1:00 p.M. To 2:00 a.M. Pool Bar located in the indoor pool area. This bar offers a service from 8:00 a.M. To 10:00 p.M., Counting with t.V. To enjoy of the news and sports events, service of natural beverage since morning. Open from 8:00 a.M. To 10:00 p.M. Restaurant Los Balcones with a view to our central gardens, you can have breakfast, lunch or dinner of the most representative Mexican cousine and international in a quiet environment and very comfortable. Also we have two private rooms for small social meals or meetings, with a capacity to receive over 8 customers. Open daily from 6:30 a.M. To 12:00 a.M. General Information Check in 3:00 p.M. Check Out 1:00 p.M. Business Center In Quinta Real Monterrey we know how important is your comfort and the efficient when is about your business meeting, we offer you: 3 rooms available from 2 to 12 people. Computers, photocopies, printers, cannon, scanner and a flip chart. Phone meetings Internet stationery supplies translates Fax Coffee Break Continuous coffee, pastries, soft drinks and tea, from 7:00 a.M. To 11:00 p.M. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Quinta Real Monterrey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Real Monterrey Hotel San Pedro Garza Garcia
Quinta Real Hotel Monterrey
Monterrey Quinta Real Hotel
Quinta Real Monterrey Mexico/San Pedro Garza Garcia, Nuevo Leon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing