We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good Hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Barossa Valley Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rowland Flat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed in a standard studio, king bed. Room size was good with a small lounge area, small kitchenette and a desk with built in power board etc. As with many hotels in Australia wifi is not free in your room - this is a trend in Oz that has to change. You can get 30 min free wifi per 24 hr period in the lobby. All rooms in the Novotel have very nice views of the valley and all the upper rooms have balconies. Our room at least was very clean, some other reviewers have stated the opposite. They are currently refurbishing, we had a room with a new bathroom which was excellent. Refurbishing during the day does generate noise but there is no noise after about 5pm. Our room rate was very inexpensive being ACCOR members, this may not be the case for everyone as I have seen some pretty high tariffs quoted in other reviews. The refurbishing may also have influenced the rate.
Gripes about the room as per some other reviewers is the senselessly small size of the fridge and no freezer - this is a wine region for goodness sake! Additionally no doona cover - very odd.
Bar and restaurant are very good - see my other review. Pool is nice, large and plenty of shade and sun loungers (at least when the hotel is 1/2 full mid-week). There is a golf course & tennis court. The kids get a playground and this combined with the pool may make the Novotel a sensible choice if you had children in tow.
Staff are friendly and helpful.
Hotel is in a good location for Barossa towns and vineyards.
We would stay again - particularly given the very low tariff paid $119 per night.

Room Tip: Second storey rooms with the obviously elevated view would be my choice. Maybe a room away from the...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FinB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,180)
There are newer reviews for Novotel Barossa Valley Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,091 - 1,097 of 2,180 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2013

We spent 2 nights at this beautiful resort overlooking the Barossa Valley. What a way to wake
up and start your day with such a beautiful, then on to magnificent breakfast, everything you
could imagine, from cereals fruit cheeses meats also eggs bacon sausage baked beans
and too many other things to mention. Poached eggs were cooked on request as were omelletes.Too many choices, staff were so friendly and cheerfull.Rooms were in the process
of being renevated, bathrooms would be a great improvement changing the shower that is
presently over the bath. All in all a great place to stay. Will definately return.

Room Tip: Upstair rooms have such a fantastic view, worth walking up stairs.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janice t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAROSSA_NOVOTEL, General Manager at Novotel Barossa Valley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear janice t ,

Wow, thank you for your review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. And yes the bathroom refurbishment, which is nearing the end, will be a huge improvement to our Hotel.
Thank you again for your feedback, I will share your comments with all our teams.

Warm Regards,

Sarah Henderson
General Manager
Novotel Barossa Valley Resort
Ph: 08 8524 0010

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

This must be the reason Adelaide has recently won 9th Best Capital City in the World. It is this Barossa Getaway which is within a relatively short drive! We stayed three nights and had a fabulous time. Never short of anything to do. One can do as little or as much as they wish. We stayed in a recently renovated room. The shower was fabulous as was the bed.

We found the staff to be very efficient and courteous. The meals in the restaurant are great if one doesn't want to venture out. Would highly recommend a stay and would definitely come again!

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated room if there is one available!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank swimming999
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BAROSSA_NOVOTEL, General Manager at Novotel Barossa Valley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed here a few years ago with fond memories so decided to head back for a night in the Barossa. Safe to say we were disappointed with the experience this time around. There has been limited work/improvements/upgrades made to this property over the last 8 years when we stayed here last, perhaps as there is no competition in this location they feel they don’t need to keep up with international standards, after all people will still pay the price to stay (which is unreasonably high). Our room had been made up, but obviously dirty. White bowl ornaments near the TV and the side tables were dirty, not just slightly but covered in dust and hair – had obvious been at least a couple of months since they had seen a cloth. Also, the bed spread had stains too.

The most disappointing part of our stay was the room service. After receiving many room service orders over the years in hotels both local and overseas, there are some simple expectations when ordering to your room – ie: food on a plate, cutlery, condiments, napkins, salt and pepper, table (even IF there is desk in the room) etc. Our food was delivered in take away boxes, on top of one another in a green paper bag. They may be going for a chic modern take on ‘takeaway’, however this entirely fails. If I wanted to eat out of a box, I would have headed to the local fish and chip shop – it is not an acceptable way to serve up room service, especially in a highly regarded resort in the Barossa. There are two forks, two knives and two plates in the pantry – all of which we had used before we got our food not knowing we would need them with our dinner. Our food had to sit there as we did the ‘washing up’, again – something you should not even have to think about doing when paying well over $250 a night.

The staff were all excellent and can’t be faulted. Friendly and helpful front desk, bar and restaurant staff made it a pleasant experience. It’s simply the resort offerings, cleanliness and room service that needs attention – for a lot of travellers it is the little things that make the experience what it is, unfortunately for the Barossa Novotel they failed at providing this which lead to a disappointing stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away from the main reception/pool area as possible to enhance privacy and quie...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonz83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Kevette S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BAROSSA_NOVOTEL, General Manager at Novotel Barossa Valley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

This is a really great location. The views from the room are mesmerizing. Rooms are modern and well appointed.
A nice gold course is alongside the hotel if you like golf.
Meals and drinks are on the expensive side so better to go into town to eat.


  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Maytrip_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowland Flat
4.5 mi away
Barossa Weintal Hotel / Motel
7.4 mi away
Vine Inn Barossa
Vine Inn Barossa
#1 of 3 in Nuriootpa
275 reviews
3.3 mi away
Lanzerac Country Estate
Lanzerac Country Estate
#1 of 14 in Tanunda
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Louise
The Louise
#1 of 2 in Marananga
305 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jacobs Creek Retreat
Jacobs Creek Retreat
#9 of 14 in Tanunda
180 reviews
4.6 mi away
Stonewell Cottages & Vineyards
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Barossa Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Barossa Valley Resort

Address: 42 Pioneer Ave | Rowland Flat, Rowland Flat, South Australia 5352, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Barossa Valley > Rowland Flat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rowland Flat
Price Range: $133 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Barossa Valley Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the picturesque Barossa Valley wine region, Novotel Barossa Valley Resort is just a 55 minute drive from Adelaide. Surrounded by world-famous wineries, the resort offers a multitude of features: enjoy a game of golf at Tanunda Pines Golf Course or a treatment at Endota Spa. The resort features 140 rooms with private balconies and kitchenette facilities. It also boasts an award-winning restaurant, tasting room, heated outdoor pool, tennis courts, gymnasium, an 18-hole golf course and refurbished conference facilities for up to 250 delegates. Novotel Barossa Valley Resort is a non-smoking resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Barossa Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Barossa Valley Hotel Rowland Flat
Novotel Rowland Flat
Novotel Tanunda
Tanunda Novotel
Novotel Barossa Valley Resort Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing