We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Novotel Barossa Valley Review: Amazing Views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Barossa Valley Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Novotel Barossa Valley Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rowland Flat
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Novotel Barossa Valley Review: Amazing Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

My partner and I stayed 2 nights at the Novotel in the Barossa Valley and were extremely impressed. Our travel agent, Shannon Waldon from the Flight Centre, Aspley, Brisbane, recommended the place.
The basic room was very spacious and included a huge bed, day bed, desk and mini kitchenette with a microwave and stocked bar fridge. What was most impressive was the view from our balcony! And privacy assured as you were able to snuggle in bed and look out over the Barossa with no one able to see in.
After exploring the Barossa for a day, we were able to take back our Maggie Beer purchases and wine from Chateau Tanunda and eat pate, cheese and bread while sipping wine and enjoying the view from our balcony. The free wine tasting from 5 - 6pm was held in the hotel foyer/shop area and topped off the day, as Red Art presented their red wine selection.

The service itself was impeccable. We were treated to detailed instructions of where to go and what to see in the Barossa by Hitesh when we arrived. (We were told later by other staff members how helpful he was to staff and travellers alike with even the littlest things)

Daryl from the Hotel Restaurant (Harry's) could not have been more helpful and attentive throughout our stay. He took the time to say hello and make conversation despite how busy the restaurant was.
We had an issue with the free computer and printer service in the foyer and Sarah Henderson (Manager) did everything in her power (even printing out our travel documents for us!) to find a solution immediately. The staff really made it special.
We were able to book a double massage the day we arrived and the warm oils used were a pleasant surprise. This was expensive, but worth it for the experience. I don't travel well with my stiff and sore joints, so found having a relaxing massage essential to keep traveling around the Barossa. Word of caution, book your spa experience before you arrive as they can be booked out fairly quickly. We were very lucky to get in when we did.

We couldn't find the advertised Gym and will ask about that next time.

The outdoor pool was heated (apparently - as we saw some guests swimming while it was 15 degrees outside) and they had a huge life size chess board next to the pool you could use.

One word of caution for older or disabled travellers - we were allocated an upstairs room (2 storey hotel) which meant you had to use the stairs and walk a fair distance to the foyer area. If you have trouble climbing stairs or walking distances, request a room closer to the foyer and on the lower level.
The room we stayed in had a big bathroom, but little storage facility and a high bath with a shower in it, making it difficult for someone less agile to lift their legs to get in to have a shower.



A great recommendation, Shannon!

Room Tip: I would definitely recommend contacting reception or your agent and checking on the room facilities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TanjaWebWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    693
    908
    351
    92
    36
See reviews for
346
1,228
34
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Henley Beach, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

everything was quite good except the dinner meal . i had waygu beef and it was not cooked properly and was tough. we enjoyed that it was close to wineries and bakeries. the breakfast was delicious and the view was great and travelling from seppetsfield through tanunda to eden hills was scenic. the staff were very helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank jillian-taylor6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAROSSA_NOVOTEL, Manager at Novotel Barossa Valley Resort, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear jillian-taylor6,

Thank you for your great review of your enjoyable stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive and constructive feedback.
I will pass on your comments about the waygo beef being too tough to the Chefs as they do take pride in providing variety and quality for all their menus and ways of improving.
I am happy you found the staff to be very helpful and efficient; they are true ambassadors for the region.
We hope to welcome you back in the barossa soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at your hotel and the staff were very friendly and made us very welcome we dined at your restaurant and the staff and food was exceptional. The room was very comfortable but we felt that the bathroom was in need of a revamp as the grout in the tiles were a little mouldy and for some, getting in and out of the bath to have a shower could cause problems for some. Over all we had a lovely stay and the surroundings were stunning, the location was private and would recommend your hotel to others.
Thanking you
Mr and Mrs N. Gale

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank babe31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacktown, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

The hotel is in a great bush setting amongst the grape vines of the Barossa, The rooms and service were top class. We had a wonderful stay. I travelled with an elderly mother and the staff could not have been more helpful or accommodating. Highly reccommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank denise_kehoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

My husband and I had our wedding here in March 2012, we got a gift voucher to come back for our first anniversary so we stayed over night and upgraded to a spa room.
We love the resort, but accommodation wise had a much better experience staying in June then we did in March last year.
The rooms are comfortable and the spa was clean. We had a great stay.
We had dinner at Harry's Restaurant, the winter menu was a bit limited and quite expensive (we would have ordered room service if we checked the menu out before getting a table) but we ordered steaks ($40ish) and they were amazing!
The staff were fantastic and it was nice to see staff who were also there for our wedding.
We had a disappointing experience at Endota but management handled it fantastically.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed at the Barossa Novotel for 2 nights in a 2 bedroom unit with 2 adults and a 5 and 8 year old. We really enjoyed our time here and I felt the unit and furnishings were overall of a high standard. Our unit was on the ground floor and along with all the other units the views over the Barossa from the balcony were beautiful. The best thing about the resort are the activities. My kids loved playing on the basketball court conveniently located next to the Gym. We also walked around the tracks and the kids braved the pool which is heated at 24 degrees - still too cold for Mum and Dad. We also ate at the restaurant for dinner on the first night and the food and service there was also highly recommended. We felt that it was only slightly pricier than a night out at a good restaurant or pub meal. Mains are generally about $30-$40 mark. The wines on the other hand were fairly pricey, but a tip we were given by a winery in town is to take your own and pay the $15 corkage fee. The same bottle of wine on their wine list was about $50. The only slight criticism with the hotel is that housekeeping failed to give us extra shampoo, soap, bath gel etc when making up the room on the 2nd day so I had to phone up for these. Lastly highly recommended is the complimentary wine tasting at 5pm. I would definitely consider staying there again if I am in the Barossa again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank DamHelMiaTob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

The Assistant Manager is a great asset to your Hotel, food at Harry's excellent.
Overall a great stay, Breakfast below par, Chap on reception not welcoming the phone seemed more important than a guest wanting to check in. Rooms large and comfortable. Parking spots quite tight, Iron in room needs to be a steam iron. Toiletries basic and need upgrading. Overall 7 out of 10. I would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank oznic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowland Flat
4.4 mi away
Barossa Weintal Hotel / Motel
7.3 mi away
Vine Inn Barossa
Vine Inn Barossa
#1 of 3 in Nuriootpa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Louise
The Louise
#1 of 3 in Marananga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Lanzerac Country Estate
Lanzerac Country Estate
#1 of 14 in Tanunda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jacobs Creek Retreat
Jacobs Creek Retreat
#6 of 14 in Tanunda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Paddocks
The Paddocks
#1 of 1 in Nuriootpa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Barossa Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Barossa Valley Resort

Property: Novotel Barossa Valley Resort
Address: 42 Pioneer Ave | Rowland Flat, Rowland Flat, South Australia 5352, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Barossa Valley > Rowland Flat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rowland Flat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Barossa Valley Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the picturesque Barossa Valley wine region, Novotel Barossa Valley Resort is just a 55 minute drive from Adelaide. Surrounded by world-famous wineries, the resort offers a multitude of features: enjoy a game of golf at Tanunda Pines Golf Course or a treatment at Endota Spa. The resort features 140 rooms with private balconies and kitchenette facilities. It also boasts an award-winning restaurant, tasting room, heated outdoor pool, tennis courts, gymnasium, an 18-hole golf course and refurbished conference facilities for up to 250 delegates. Novotel Barossa Valley Resort is a non-smoking resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Novotel Barossa Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Barossa Valley Hotel Rowland Flat
Novotel Rowland Flat
Novotel Tanunda
Tanunda Novotel
Novotel Barossa Valley Resort Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing