We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent accomodation, improve wifi” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Barossa Valley Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Novotel Barossa Valley Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rowland Flat
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent accomodation, improve wifi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Excellent accommodation, improve wifi lovely location in a beautiful environment of vineyards as in Italy and France. excellent facilities, helpful staff. Only flaw: poor wifi. Impossible to use Ipad and iphone even in the lobby.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eramaise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAROSSA_NOVOTEL, General Manager at Novotel Barossa Valley Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor.com. Your comments provide valuable feedback to me and my team and we will continue to improve on the service and experience you have just informed us of.
You will be happy to hear, we have changed our Internert provider and services as of this month. This service now allows all our valued guest to select from a few different options in the rooms for wifi and free wifi in the Hotel foyer for thirty minutes each day per device as well as the Imac computer in our webcorner in the reception area which is also free of charge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,073 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    692
    903
    351
    91
    36
See reviews for
345
1,224
34
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is a great hotel, everything you need and very centrally located to access all the wineries. Also fantastic restaurant with extensive wine menu! Terrific pool and the hotel rooms are all self-contained.

Room Tip: As this hotel is popular for conferences, it is good to have one at the end of the complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tonikasch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed here at the start of 2013. I have stayed here quite a few times before and love the area of where the Novotel is situated. However the quality of the hotel seems to be going downhill. The room was cleaned ok, however there was a hairclip on the ground in the bathroom when we got there and that's where it stayed throughout our whole stay. My daughter ate a mango and when placing it in the bin, some of the mango stuck to the lid. Again it stayed this way the whole stay. The mould in the shower was disgusting! I felt like buying some bleach to spray around the silicone and then scrub it off.

The pool - I have never encounted such a filthy pool at any resort. Not only were the tiles filled with grime, but the water wasn't clear at all. I overheard some people commenting that they hoped it was all the suntan lotion. Could be so much better. Ever since I started coming here about 7 years ago the same problem arises - not enough deck chairs. Again this could be fixed so easily. Also although there is no smoking by the pool, we saw the same cigarette butts on the ground the whole stay.

Staff at breakfast were great, but were obviously understaffed. Empty plates piled high, food running out and not being topped up until someone asks them and even on another occasion a staff member telling me they didn't have those muffins today, only for another to bring them to my table.

Would I stay here again - Unfortunately not. I think this time was the last. I expected so much better which is a shame because the area is beautiful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sun4oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAROSSA_NOVOTEL, General Manager at Novotel Barossa Valley Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for posting a review of your stay at the Novotel Barossa Valley Resort on Trip Advisor. I would like to take this opportunity to say thank you for your feedback. I was very disappointed with the number of concerns regarding upkeep and cleanliness. Be assured that the Service & hygiene are issues taken very seriously, as they do not reflect the high quality standards we strive to achieve.
It is important that our guests receive a high standard of service during their stay at the resort, I am sorry to learn that we did not deliver these standards on this occasion. Rest assured that we shall address the issues you encountered and take the steps necessary to ensure your experience remains an isolated incident.
We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and are in fact undertaking a full bathroom refurbishment this year and are currently improving the gym, equipment and surroundings. As It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

When looking for "higher" end hotels / resorts in the Barossa, there is not a great deal to choose from. Unfortunately this seems to be exploited through the cost per night.
The rooms were of the Novotel standard, although the walls are a little thin, which means you should hope the couple next door don't have a baby with them.
Unfortunately the Novotel Barossa can not claim credit for what is good about the area. The views and wine of the area are world class but the service is mismatched.
No express check out, which meant waiting for 15-20 mins while the single staff member on the counter took phone calls.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Very clean, well run hotel. We stayed while on a wine trip and I read all the views and was slightly hesitant, but it was perfect. Highly recommended and only given 4 stars as I can't give every place we stay 5 and its slightly away from the main town so you have to taxi if you want to drink and eat out.

Room Tip: I'd book early, especially around weekends as we had to move our trip from Monday to Wednesday a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAROSSA_NOVOTEL, General Manager at Novotel Barossa Valley Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor.com. Your feedback and comments provide valuable feedback to me and my team and we will continue to improve on the service and experience you have just reported.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We need a getaway from work/familyetc.we didnt need to go interstate,we knew we could escape to the Barossa Novotel and enjoy the food/ wines and the beautiful swimming pool and the spa facilities......The room service was great we are totally recharged ready to face the world again... Thanks

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ethiejames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowland Flat
4.4 mi away
Barossa Weintal Hotel / Motel
7.3 mi away
Vine Inn Barossa
Vine Inn Barossa
#1 of 3 in Nuriootpa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Louise
The Louise
#1 of 3 in Marananga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Lanzerac Country Estate
Lanzerac Country Estate
#1 of 14 in Tanunda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jacobs Creek Retreat
Jacobs Creek Retreat
#6 of 14 in Tanunda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Paddocks
The Paddocks
#1 of 1 in Nuriootpa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Barossa Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Barossa Valley Resort

Property: Novotel Barossa Valley Resort
Address: 42 Pioneer Ave | Rowland Flat, Rowland Flat, South Australia 5352, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Barossa Valley > Rowland Flat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rowland Flat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Barossa Valley Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the picturesque Barossa Valley wine region, Novotel Barossa Valley Resort is just a 55 minute drive from Adelaide. Surrounded by world-famous wineries, the resort offers a multitude of features: enjoy a game of golf at Tanunda Pines Golf Course or a treatment at Endota Spa. The resort features 140 rooms with private balconies and kitchenette facilities. It also boasts an award-winning restaurant, tasting room, heated outdoor pool, tennis courts, gymnasium, an 18-hole golf course and refurbished conference facilities for up to 250 delegates. Novotel Barossa Valley Resort is a non-smoking resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Novotel Barossa Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Barossa Valley Hotel Rowland Flat
Novotel Rowland Flat
Novotel Tanunda
Tanunda Novotel
Novotel Barossa Valley Resort Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing