We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Barossa Valley Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rowland Flat
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Family weekend away”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We had a great time helping my parents celebrate their 40th wedding anniversary recently. The staff were welcoming, friendly and assisted with all our requests.
Tanunda golf club is on site and is a great way to spend a few hours!
We used the tennis courts and the gym and all facilities were A1. The kids enjoyed the playground and chess set along with the pool and the outside pool table.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from any and all wedding party guests if staying over the weekend!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    711
    928
    353
    93
    36
See reviews for
352
1,254
34
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harpenden, UK
Level Contributor
221 reviews
197 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

On our fourth visit to the Novotel, we stayed ten nights and were sorry to leave. This means that we must like it! It's the perfect antidote to the English winter, a very restful and peaceful place to stay. Its primary attraction is its situation, raised above the Jacobs Creek vineyards and looking across the vines and gum trees to the grassy hills opposite; to sit on the balcony in the evening with a bottle of something chilled and watch the hills go purple is a real delight. It's a gentle, revitalising view rather than a spectacular, challenging one. The main road is across the valley, so traffic noise is minimal, and the only other noise is from the wonderful Australian birds.

Rooms are good, if rather over-furnished and cluttered, each one having a balcony with this view. We never eat in the hotel, having had poor and expensive experiences on our first visit, but there are plenty of good eating places in Tanunda and Lyndoch. We always ask the staff to remove all the items from the mini bar when we arrive, so that we can use it for our own milk and food; not all hotels would be happy to oblige. There's a large pool/terrace area.

Will we be back? Yes, if we can afford it, but Australia has becoming very expensive for English visitors.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKPeripatetic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAROSSA_NOVOTEL, General Manager at Novotel Barossa Valley Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a rave review on tripadvisor.com, especially on your forth stay. Your feedback and positive comments provide encouragement to all my team and I to continue to provide the service and experience you have just reported.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Great view over the valley in a really great tourist spot in the Barossa Valley. The suites were dressed up in a modern decor theme and were clean and fresh. Generally the staff were great thought middle management could improve. We stayed for a longer stay and were never bored with our Winery experiences.

Room Tip: All suites have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadtripahoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We had a wonderful time at this Hotel. The outlook from our room was so great we could have stayed in the room the whole time!
I am interested in one of the reviews about cleanliness - I found our room very clean.
I couldn't fault anything - very comfortable bed, very well appointed room and amenities - friendly staff - and great golf course a stone's throw away.
It was also great to have kitchen amenities if one wanted to eat in.
I recommend this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: All rooms appeared to have a great outlook - just depends on how far you want to walk as to whether...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Have returned to this hotel every time we have been in the Barossa and will certainly be back again.
Location is excellent, centrally located in the valley.
Really like the takeaway / Room Service menu, much more imaginative that the usual offers of room service. Its a great way to enjoy a special wine (or two) you may have bought from a cellar door.
Also full marks to the staff, everyone I dealt with were very friendly and helpful, often hard to have such a consistent standard across all staff.
Rooms are a little tired but can be overlooked by enjoying the view!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Qld4101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed here recently for 4 people 2nights mid week. It was very affordable and service was top notch. The best part of staying is the full buffet breakfast which you can even tell the staff how exactly to cook your eggs and it's as easy as done! The room setup was great, bedrooms not too close together. Fantastic shower, bathroom and kitchen facilities. Couch was not exactly comfortable but the beds made up for it. The pool looked great even though we didn't get to use it and the view of the wine fields were very homely and serene. Overall, a very lovely spot to visit and an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Try staying mid week - prices are much better then
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotelcrtic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowland Flat
4.4 mi away
Barossa Weintal Hotel / Motel
7.3 mi away
Vine Inn Barossa
Vine Inn Barossa
#1 of 3 in Nuriootpa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Louise
The Louise
#1 of 2 in Marananga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Lanzerac Country Estate
Lanzerac Country Estate
#1 of 14 in Tanunda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jacobs Creek Retreat
Jacobs Creek Retreat
#9 of 14 in Tanunda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Paddocks
The Paddocks
#1 of 1 in Nuriootpa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Barossa Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Barossa Valley Resort

Property: Novotel Barossa Valley Resort
Address: 42 Pioneer Ave | Rowland Flat, Rowland Flat, South Australia 5352, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Barossa Valley > Rowland Flat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rowland Flat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Barossa Valley Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the picturesque Barossa Valley wine region, Novotel Barossa Valley Resort is just a 55 minute drive from Adelaide. Surrounded by world-famous wineries, the resort offers a multitude of features: enjoy a game of golf at Tanunda Pines Golf Course or a treatment at Endota Spa. The resort features 140 rooms with private balconies and kitchenette facilities. It also boasts an award-winning restaurant, tasting room, heated outdoor pool, tennis courts, gymnasium, an 18-hole golf course and refurbished conference facilities for up to 250 delegates. Novotel Barossa Valley Resort is a non-smoking resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Novotel Barossa Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Barossa Valley Hotel Rowland Flat
Novotel Rowland Flat
Novotel Tanunda
Tanunda Novotel
Novotel Barossa Valley Resort Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing