We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Location & Facilities, Poor accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Sebel Twin Waters
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    136
    41
    16
    6
See reviews for
252
63
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband and our 3 and 5 year old stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment and had a great week. The apartment was clean and a good size and being on the ground floor was great for kids to play outside or walk a few metres to the pool. Having use of the Novotel Resort facilities (incl Kids Club) was a real bonus. The lagoon and surroundings were surprisingly picturesque and the beach which was only a couple of mins walk from our door was a favourite. We agreed it would be a great place for a multi-generational holiday or with a group of familes. In line with what others have said, I would definitely stay here over the Novotel particularly with young kids as you can cater at home and have more space. We definitely needed a car as it is relatively remote but once driving it is central for Australia Zoo, Eumundi Market etc. Wi-Fi facilty would also be good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GCM2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercTwinWaters, General Manager at The Sebel Twin Waters, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for you kind review on trip Advisor, I was pleased to see that you and your family got to experance the Resort in its true light. Having the ability to sit back & relax on you back deck while watching the kids have a ball by the lagoon. having access of the facilities at the nearby Novotel is a plus and always a hit with all the family. We hope to have you back at Grand Mercure soon.

Regards
Rino Canto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Firstly I was surprised on how big the result is, there's lots to do for kids and it seems to be more geared up for that.
The facilities are pretty good for kids, with sailing, kayaking, putt putt etc and there is a bar/restaurants for adults.
Check in took a while, but to be fair it did get rammed and the check in girl was really nice and polite.
The room itself was not that great, there was a keyboard for the internet of which the batteries inside were rusted through, the bathroom was clean but quite dated along with the room, but that didn't bother me as much.
However the bed was so poor, after 2 nights I was glad to move onto the next place!
I would probably go out and eat, very expensive to eat there as well as you do need a car to get anywhere if you want to eat.
On a positive note, down the road are some lovely cafes and a fantastic beach, we ate out in maroochydore both nights and was food was excellent.
However I have to say it was cheaper than most and 1 or 2 nights at the right price is a good value option.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brsgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercTwinWaters, General Manager at The Sebel Twin Waters, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thankyou very much for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor, we do appreciate your feedback. We do try very hard to ensure that all our facilities are maintained to a very high standard.

we are very proud of our product and the services we provide in conjunction with our sister property at the Novotel and our guests do benefit interms of the overall stay. I do hope the bedding in that particular Apartment does not put you off staying with us in the future as most of the apartment are very comfortable. We do hope to see you again in the near future.

regards
Rino Canto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast Qld
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Family of 5 stayed in a 3bedroom apartment on the ground floor. We chose to stay here as we had stayed at the Accor Twin Waters resort on the other side of the lagoon and found the rooms to be too small. The apts at Grand Mercure are definitely a lot bigger however like everywhere there are positives and negatives. Negatives - our apt had no screens which was ridiculous given the resort in the middle of mangrove swamps with midgies galore. This means shut all doors and put on the aircon. There were two windows - one in the second bedroom and one in the third bedroom but the had no screens either. Considering the resort has snakes there was no way we were leaving them open. All sliding doors had no screens. We ended up leaving with midgie bites galore. Another negative is that this resort must be one of the only ones left on the planet with no internet. We went to the grand canyon last year out the back of no where and even they had the internet. Considering the price it should be available and for free.

Positives - well stocked kitchen with stove, microowave, fridge etc... Balcony had a bbq all be it a bit old. Alot less noisy over this side of the lagoon than at Accor/novotel and you have the bonus of still being able to use their facilities. Cooking facilities are great as the Accor/Novotel resort restaurants are a mega rip off. There are also some pools over here as well so if the Accor pool is crowded like it often is you can come back to Grand Mercure and use their pools.

Overall we had a nice time but if we were to return we would book via the apts office not online as apparently there are a few units with screens (up to the owners of the units apparently) and we would request one of these. We also found the cleaning a bit sub par.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beautifuleveryday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercTwinWaters, General Manager at The Sebel Twin Waters, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to post your impressions of us on Trip Advisor. we do truly value your comments as they help us improve our product and services as we go along. We do have some challenges as you have pointed out but by and large these issues have been addressed in most of the Apartments at the Resort.

As to the wild life we very lucky to be set in a very tranquil location surrounded by bush land & bordered by the Mooroochy River & Pacific Ocean on our doorstep. In saying this that also comes with a lot of Native Flora & Fauna which is mentioned on our check in fact sheet. as most animals are very shy it is unusual to be confronted with a problem. We do hope that this does not deter you from staying with us again in the future,

regards
Rino Canto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Really loved this place! We stayed here for 5 nights and it is such an amazing spot. The apartment itself was comfortable and good value. We got a 3 bedroom apartment for $250 a night on wotif at the time. When we arrived we were overlooking the grassed area that led onto the sandy lagoon. Beautiful spot to sit as the sun sets.

The ability to use all the novatel facilities was great, the kayaks, sail boats and the floating trampoline out in the water was fun. Also buffet is delish!

I would recommend staying at the Grand Mecure if u want a little quiet as the Novatel side can get quiet busy and there are quite often weddings on over there which can be noisy. (Novatel is on one side of the lagoon and Grand Mecure on the other). The Grand Mecure also has it's own pools which are far less crowded.. I think at most there were two other families at the pool over our side while were we in the pool area whereas the Novatel pool is hectic!

All in all love this place and will be making it a regular get away.

Room Tip: As for a room overlooking the lagoon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercTwinWaters, General Manager at The Sebel Twin Waters, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thankyou so much for your very kind feed back on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to read and share with our team who do take great satisfaction in providing a superior product to you our valued guest. We do try very hard to ensure that the work we do provides pleasure to our patrons so again many thanks for the encouragement it make it all worthwhile.

regards
Rino Canto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mudjimba
1.8 mi away
The Sebel Maroochydore
The Sebel Maroochydore
#1 of 13 in Maroochydore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
2.0 mi away
Oaks Seaforth Resort
Oaks Seaforth Resort
#2 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Twin Waters Resort
Novotel Twin Waters Resort
#1 of 1 in Twin Waters
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,084 reviews
16.1 mi away
RACV Noosa Resort
RACV Noosa Resort
#2 of 10 in Noosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
16.9 mi away
Peppers Noosa Resort and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Twin Waters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Twin Waters

Property: The Sebel Twin Waters
Address: 80 North Shore Rd | Sunshine Coast, Mudjimba, Queensland 4564, Australia (Formerly Grand Mercure North Shore Twin Waters Apartments)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Mudjimba
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Mudjimba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Twin Waters 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebel Twin Waters is a collection of 1, 2, 3 and 4 bedroom self-contained Apartments and Beach Houses, situated in an exclusive gated precinct, bordered by the Mudjimba patrolled surf beach, the Maroochy River and a private man-made lagoon full of activities like paddle skis, catamarans water trampoline & a inflatable water park charges apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sebel Twin Waters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure North Shore Twin Waters Apartments Hotel Mudjimba
The Sebel Twin Waters Sunshine Coast, South Pacific - Mudjimba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing