We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveler rating
127
15
5
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
127
15
5
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea turtles nocturnal lemurs vegetable garden every morning nature walk great cocktails fruit bats other places small village french couple delicious food solar power local school beach boat end tent
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 149 reviews
Reviewed December 22, 2018

When we jumped on the big private catamaran we knew this would be greate. Eden Lodge picked us up at Jardin Vanille and took us the 1 hour boat ride to the hotel. It was a very large boat so even if the weather is bad you will feel safe. The first thing you see when you getting close to the resort is the large and empty beach. When we stayed there it was just us and a French couple staying at the resort so it was so private and calm. The best thing was that tey opened the kitchen at 7 in the morning and closed it around 9 in the evening and you could just choose when you wanted to eat. If you liked your breakfast at 1130 it was just fine! But you have a lot of sounds in the morning so often we hade breakfast around 7-8 after a morning walk with the camera and Go Pro. We loved to have the Lemurs running around in the back of our tent and to watch the sea turtles feed on the grass in the ocean. This is truly Eden and you have to visit this place once in your lifetime!And btw you will not be connected to anything.....our phone worked once..

Room tip: All tents are the same no 8 is the farest away from the restaurant.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank carpediemgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

This really is the place to unwind if you are in the middle of a spotting holiday.
Wonderful private beach only accessible by boat.
Super food and staff who are willing to take you off island hopping. Snorkelling is great, plenty of coral and plenty of fish
Turtles and whales are frequently close by.
Hard to say goodbye :-(

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank stuart55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2018

We spent five lovely nights at the Eden Lodge. It is rather isolated - and that was perfect for us. There is a small village just down the beach and every morning you will see the young children walking down the beach to the local school, which the hotel also supports. Other than that, if you want to do anything other than have chill time on the beach, you will need to take a boat.

The beach is really lovely. And clean. The rooms are spacious and the bathrooms colourful. The restaurant food is fantastic and lemurs come to play near the restaurant around sunset. Be aware that at night the mosquitos like to hang out with you in the restaurant! The staff spray your room while you are out for dinner, but you need to wear repellent at night when at dinner.

We did several day trips with Philippe - and all were excellent. We particularly recommend going to the Sunday market in the local town that is about a 30 minute boat-ride away.

A really idyllic place for us to spend part of our holiday. We were really refreshed when we left.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jcrane66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2018

If Eden Lodge were simply a hotel it would already be worth five stars for its beach, comfortable seafront cabins, lovely gardens backed by jungle, and excellent food. But it's much more than just a hotel. It's an anchor for a nature reserve, a village, and a school project.
Within hours of our arrival we were on a nature walk with a Philippe, a superb guide, where we saw dozens of lemurs and were shown all sorts of local plants. Another day we did a walk at night with Philippe and saw a completely different range of nocturnal lemurs, as well as fruit bats (don't worry - they stay well away).
The beach is long and beautiful. The wind does cause the water to be a touch choppy in the afternoon, so best to go snorkeling in the morning, but you can still swim at any time of day. The tides here are not as pronounced as in some other places in the area. I swam out about 100 meters one morning and found myself side by side with a massive sea turtle. There are also kayaks you can take and use to explore mangroves on either end of the beach.
There's a small village next door which you can wander through to see the villagers going about their daily activities, as well as visit the vegetable garden and poultry coop. Pirogues come and go throughout the day. And hotel staff can lead you to a school project attended by several hundred kids from villages in the area. It's a very impressive project, and consider bringing pens, notebooks, books, or checking with the hotel if there are any medical supplies the infirmary is short of.
It's an eco-lodge that runs on renewables, and the solar power is used to charge batteries that enable fans and lights to run at night. There''s also plenty of solar hot water, though not sure why you'd want it in this climate.
The staff is super friendly. Victor and Arianne are a lovely (English speaking) French couple who run the hotel and are always on hand for advice, help, or company to go snorkeling. The barman makes great cocktails with his flavored rums.
The food is a tasty mix of European and Malgache. We told them we weren't interested in meat options and only wanted fish. Soon after a fisherman showed up with a barracuda that we ate a few hours later.
There are a few things to keep in mind. This place is isolated with no roads, the internet is iffy, you will have geckos in your cabin, nights are warm, village kids play on the beach, the electricity is weak so lighting at night is dim. Those were positives for us, but some may disagree.
You'll need shoes for the nature walks. Otherwise, they are of no use. What more can you want?

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank marcopolo1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2017

Beautiful hotel in a stunning place. Each beach bungalow was very private with its own beach front. The rooms were spotlessly clean. Staff very friendly and helpful, especially the Manageress Audrey. Food was fresh from the sea in front or nearby fruit and vegetables. There is a reef in front of the hotel were turtles grazed. Rainforest behind the hotel had black lemurs, chameleons, and beautiful birds. A perfect place to relax for 4 days after a few weeks of touring Madagascar

Date of stay: October 2017
Thank quakershall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews