We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fading and needs refreshing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ashoka

Hotel Ashoka
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cuttack
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Ashoka
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Cuttack
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Fading and needs refreshing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

I quite liked the general feel of this hotel, but there is little doubt that it is in pretty dire need of a makeover.

The rooms may have looked good 10 years ago, but they don't now - paint is cracked and there's a general feeling of tiredness to the look of the place.

That said, the food was solid and the staff were friendly, so I enjoyed my stay. However I think in terms of appeal, this place trades on past glories.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank DevineInsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
1
Couples
0
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

i was here for a conference. so i had to visit cuttack and stayed here for 3nights. the quality of food is poor (as compared to delhi, mumbai standards). they have all the north indian items in their menu but the preparation is no-where near the standard.
chinese preparation is pathetic. think again about eating here.
hotel is old style, not undergone any structural changes, (probably) since ages. rooms are small, bathrooms are old style.
insects are a menace.
almost every night my dinner was cold coffee...(which was safe and yummy)
unfortunately no other better hotel available at this pricing for students.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank teenage20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cuttack hotels

Kolkata
Level Contributor
90 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

I used the restaurant once in 1990 and returned in May 2012 expecting same standards. It is not even 10% of those lofty heights. The decor is not upto the mark. The food is too spicy and oily. For restrooms less said the better.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
6 Thank Navin2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhubaneswar, India
Level Contributor
148 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 424 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

I was booked this hotel for my guest for one day.Its a budget hotel and maintaining average standard. Rooms are ok as compare to other similar hotel.Service is very good.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sanat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for couple of day while visiting a client. The biggest advantage of this hotel is its location. It is near to bus stand, railway station, colleges. Room space is good. Bathroom was clean. but the room carpet was having some dirt stains. The AC was very noisy and very old and could not be adjustable. No tea or coffee maker was there in the room but staffs could make tea on order very quickly. Staffs are though very friendly and room service was good. Room rent is very cheap. It is a very old hotel and need some renovation to make it upto good standard.

For budget reason, it is reccomended otherwise can give it a miss.

Room Tip: Check the quality of the rooms before you confirm to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cool-Bubu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
95 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 400 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2011

I attended a function and stayed for a day here. The hotel looks unpolished and very old. The reception area is old fashioned. The deluxe room had a window AC that was noisy. The bed was hard and the sheets dirty white. There was no coffee or tea maker in the room. The toilet was smelly and the fixtures leaking. Hot water from the geyser was lukewarm. The room had a CRT TV with a local cable connection. The lights in the room were very old. During the problem of low voltage none of the lights functioned. Room service was very bad. The restaurant served very poor quality food. This property does not accept any credit cards only cash. The personnel had problems with English and Hindi. This is a place to avoid. There are better places around.

Room Tip: Avoid this place, but if forced to stay pick up one facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cancer_Moon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level Contributor
88 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2011

The only advantage of the hotel - Very near to the railway station. The disadvantages - every thing other than that. What a terrible experience I had. The rooms looks like ransacked. No repair no maintenance simply nothing. The bed- better not to sleep. The food - still ok may be just eatable. But service - The God can help only. I did not stay more 4 hours in this hotel and ran away to another hotel nearby.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank knightrider7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuttack hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel The Blue Lagoon
Hotel The Blue Lagoon
#5 of 10 in Cuttack
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Residency
Grand Residency
#2 of 10 in Cuttack
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
46.9 mi away
Pramod Convention & Club Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hotel Seetal
Hotel Seetal
#2 of 8 in Cuttack
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ambica Hotel
Ambica Hotel
#5 of 18 in Cuttack
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Triple 'C'
The Triple 'C'
#5 of 8 in Cuttack
3.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ashoka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ashoka

Property: Hotel Ashoka
Address: College Sqaure Jobra Road, Cuttack 753003, India
Location: India > Odisha > Cuttack
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Cuttack
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing