We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a treat!”
Review of Casa Ludwig

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puyuhuapi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Ludwig
Ranked #2 of 4 Puyuhuapi B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 17, 2014

The house has so much charme and is a great place to rest for a day! Nice rooms, comfy beds, and a cosy room for discussions with other travellers at night - we had a really good time at Luisa's place and would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms 3 and 4, the ones overlooking the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelOlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 50 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

The owner of this house actually grew up in Puyuhuapi and her father was one of the founding 'fathers' of the town. The hosts is really helpful and she is a living history book of the town. The breakfast was minimal but good and everything was very clean. Highly recommended if you're in this area.

Room Tip: No matter what room you chose, you'll be in good hands. The house is a little noisy because its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HolaYuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Puyuhuapi is a nice little town, and this is a good place to stay, right at the end of the main street overlooking the fjord. The owner, Luisa, is very warm and welcoming and an expert on local history. Good food (and good coffee, which is a rarity around here). Comfortable rooms, though mine was quite small.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank canebrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

It was built of wood in 1957 and is now a protected historic building. Luisa (a keen supporter of the natural environment) and James (ex USA) speak perfect English, so there is no language issue – both are extremely welcoming and helpful. The building has character and the lounge / dinning room is always warm due to the log burner, however the bedrooms can be cold (heaters are available) and despite it being very warm during the day the temperature in Puyuhuapi falls at night – last night was a 4 blanket night, the night before a 5 blanket – it reminded me of the old days snug in bed reluctant to get up. The bathrooms are small with a shower. The mornings here are magnificent, overlooking the naturally forested fiord – fortunately fires haven’t affected this area of Patagonia. Breakfast of peach juice, scrambled eggs (I had a delicious 4 egg both days) and wholemeal bread. I’m not a fan of wholemeal bread, but wholemeal is what you often get in Patagonia. Luisa is seemingly the unofficial town mayor so if there is any problem she’ll most probably resolve it. She has produced a local map that compared to other guides in Chile is excellent and I had a brilliant day hiking three nearby trails and then a couple of hours at the nearby Termas del Ventisquero thermal springs – late afternoon the springs are quite busy with people chatting so not as relaxing as may be the case earlier in the day – surprisingly I and most other people there alternated with a swim in the fiord. Restaurants in town are a challenge, limited range, limited English but the nearest one El Muello does excellent fresh fish and adequate chips, plus a few desert options – sufficient but not award winning. There is virtually no litter in or around Puyuhuapi and that is a delight. I believe Casa Ludwig is a good choice to stop over for a day or several on your journey.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SeriousTraveller01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Fell in love with this place! A great place to stay for a few days while travelling up the Carreterra and visiting the national park. Friendly and helpful hosts, great breakfast, wood burning stove to warm yourself in from of, great living room to relax in, tea/coffee available all day. Great kitchen for guest use. I really could I spent a lot longer here!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thecuriouswolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We arrived after a very long and dusty trip on the motorbike and Casa Ludwig was a very welcome sight. The Casa is a large, wooden building with only 10 rooms in various configurations. We also stayed a week later on our way back north, this time cold and wet and it was wonderful to relax in the large common lounge area with wifi and heating. As an old wooden building, the creaking sounds of human movement are ever present but not all a problem once you're in bed. Very clean and comfortable and beautifully located on the edge of town overlooking the water. A 10 minute walk to the Cafe Rossbach where we ate twice. Excellent steaks and pastas. Casa Ludwig is great value and highly recommended in a small town with minimal options.

Room Tip: Room 8 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Casa Ludwig is a B&B on the shores of the Puyuhuapi Fjord. Built by one of the founders of the town, Ernest Ludwig, it is a typical German style house with 10 bedrooms, wonderful woodwork, great breakfast. The owner-manager, Luisa Ludwig, will arrange local excursions to the hot springs or the "Hanging Glacier". Must make reservations in advance during the Chilean summer.The best place to stay in town.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very cheery. Avoid the attic rooms in summer as they can be hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorraine2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puyuhuapi
0.0 mi away
Hotel Espacio y Tiempo
Hotel Espacio y Tiempo
#1 of 1 in La Junta
107 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Belisario Jara
Hotel Belisario Jara
#4 of 9 in Coyhaique
55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Puyuhuapi Lodge & Spa
Puyuhuapi Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Puyuhuapi
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hostel y Cabanas Augusto Grosse
0.0 mi away
El Pangue Lodge
El Pangue Lodge
#2 of 4 in Puyuhuapi
61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Turismo Queitao Patagonia
Turismo Queitao Patagonia
#9 of 14 in Puerto Aisen
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Ludwig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Ludwig

Address: Av. Otto Uebel 202, Puyuhuapi, Chile
Location: Chile > Aisen Region > Puyuhuapi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Puyuhuapi
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing