We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Honeymoon”
Review of Faweather Grange

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Faweather Grange
Certificate of Excellence
MIlton Keynes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Perfect Honeymoon”
Reviewed May 23, 2007

Exactly as our title says, we had a fantastic 2 week honeymoon here and made the right choice.

Firstly we were greeted by wonderful happy, helpful people who actually couldnt do enough to help us, took our luggage (lots and lots of) via golf buggy to our lodge (B2) and even carried it all up the steps to it, amazing, I felt really lazy... but not for long haha.

Then we were just browsing through the Bently trips on offer and Vicki came knocking at the door to tell us Andrew & Debbie wanted to give us complimentary use one evening as a honeymoon present - amazing how nice can these people be, we were chuffed to bits. Champagne & chocolates, red roses waiting on our arrival.

B2 is up the top and is probably the best one I would say as no one can look up on you in the hot tub, so can be a little bit more risky if you choose too...sorry but true!

Lovely local walks and good places to visit, eat out etc, we used Zen rendevous (chinese restaurant) in Guisley twice, the Hermit pub on the way to Ilkley (sunday lunch perfect!). Websters fish & chips, Bettys Tea rooms and plenty more.

The lodge was fantastic and the dog loved it too, not sure that many people loved him though with his random barking - sorry peeps. We felt more than comfortable with the furniture etc, some of it a bit worn but wear and tear does happen lets face it and Id rather that than be panicking that we might do some damage.

Also they valeted our car free before we departed (due to ours being a 2 week stay), this again was a lovely surprise.

Thankyou very much, highly recommend it to others and we definatly plan to go back even if just for a long weekend.

  • Liked — The location and hot tub.
  • Disliked — The wind in April...can't be helped.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lizi_bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    43
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
80
260
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2007

We have just returned from Faweather Grange - it was arranged as a surprise trip to celebrate my 30th and it truly was a beautiful part of the country. Staff were very welcoming on our arrival and we were transported (along with luggage) to our accommodation via golf buggy which made me smile as it was all of a few metres away, but thoughtful nonetheless.
Inside, the cabin was very cosy with a lovely log burner, modern TV and DVD player and a bottle of bubbly and chocolates waiting for us. The bed was extremely comfortable and we had everything we needed for the stay.
Looking through the visitors book, we were not the first to notice the strange smell coming from the kitchen cupboards in Berberis 1! We're still not sure what it was but notes from the owners suggest they have tried everything from bleaching to scrubbing. It certainly wasn't something that would ruin a lovely holiday but brace yourselves when opening the cupboard doors!
Another couple of towels would have been useful - between the gorgeous hot tub, sauna and jacuzzi bath, two bath towels just weren't enough but we had bought towels from home so it wasn't a problem for us. Also a few of the fixtures and fittings were beginning to look a little shabby (bathroom cabinet for example) but now I'm nit picking!
The scenery was amazing and I just loved waking up overlooking Ilkely Moor. The resident cat is also very friendly and if we left the door open, would wander in to curl up on out laps - this was a bonus for us cat lovers!
With wonderful walks, great scenery, lovely local pubs and a warm welcome, I would recommend Faweather Grange to anyone looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of life and experience a more relaxed pace of life for a few days.

  • Liked — Scenery, Sanua & hot tub
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank emwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2007

What a refreshing place to stay, the location is everything. The cabins are situated up a country lane far away from the hustle and bustle of modern day living, how relaxing! It is a great place for time out, just to sit and stare at the amazing views and do absolutley nothing, which is more or less what I did.
When we arrived we were welcomed personally and shown to our cabin. The staff we found very helpful and gave us useful advice when asked.
The cabins are modern but welcoming and cosy with their log fires, I didn't want to venture very far. We spent many a night under the stars in the hot tub relaxing.
What really finished it off for me personally was our outing in the Bentley. This turned my mid week break into something far more special.
I can't wait to come back to recharge my batteries.
Thank you
Elizabeth

  • Liked — The location - rural but within mins of 3 cities
  • Disliked — The tranquility
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wah_boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2007

Faweather grange is a excellent place to stay for peace,quiet and a place to just relax.we stayed in Berbis 1 for a week from 05/03/07.When we arrived we were welcomed by the staff who took all our luggage to our log cabin nothing was to much trouble for them.They were excellent all week.The log cabin was Fantastic inside and out.Beautifuly kept spotless and cosy .the views from our veranda were breathe taking.The nights in the hot tub under the stars was a new experience to us it was brilliant. Every day having a sauna in your room without having to leave our log cabin it was fantastic.Then there was the four poster bed nice crisp white sheets and so so comfortable we never wanted to get out of it.Walks with our dog and not having to keep him on a lead made our time out walking most enjoyable as most places we have been to we have had to keep him on a lead.The only bad thing i can say is that the time went too quick and we didnt want to leave. Thanks to all the staff at Faweather grange .We will be back soon. Julie phil and Bobby socks.

  • Liked — every thing
  • Disliked — liked it all
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bobbysocksNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haydock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2007

Firstly let me give you some information so we can provide an honest review of Faweather grange from our perspective, Our holidays are always spent in 4/5 star accommodation around the world and in this country. It may be a l ittle long winded but I feel long windedness is necessary in this case.

We arrived in Faweather Grange in February 2007 for a 4 day mid week break. On arrival the road leading to the Grange (Sconce Lane) is only half tarmaced with only one passing place so meeting any oncoming traffic would mean one or the other reversing for quite a long distance. The road is also extremely bumpy .

We checked in and were told that no parking was permitted outside the following lodges Curlew 1 and Berberis 1-4. We entered out lodge which was Berberis 1 which was approximately 30 metres away from our parked vehicle up a small slope. We therefore had to transport 4 days worth of grocery shopping two large hold-alls and other personal paraphanalia. Two ladies from the Grange offered to carry some of our bags which was necessary to avoid us having to traipse back and forth. We gratefully accepted their offer and found them to be very nice caring people.

We entered the lodge which was very small and cramped and had a musty smell about it. On closer inspection we found the cooker in serious need of attention cosmetically, full of scratches and peeling paint and looked unhygenic I would not really liked to have cooked on it. We than proceeded to inspect the rest of the lodge, the bathroom walls were dirty and the top of the mirror over the sink needed a good clean. The bathroom suite was very outdated and it took over an hour to run a bath. The sauna adjacent to the bathroom - the seat you sat on was full of mould underneath and the instruments contained within were rusty and dirty looking. All the walls in the lodge were dusty. A rug in the centre of the living area had a big dirty mark on it and it was filthy and the bedroom rugs had the tassels snipped off to perhaps make them look a little better and save the expense of replacement. This didn't work. On the heating side there was two storage heaters one in the living room and one in the bedroom together with a wood burning stove in the lounge area. Insufficient heating within the bathroom consisted of a small heated towel rail leaving the bathroom really cold.

Going back to the wood burning stove the first nights burning is complementary each subsequent fire afterwards would cost £8 £4 for kindling and £4 for logs. The outside hot tub was full of grit and very cloudy,. We own a hot tub and know it takes a good knowledge on how to maintain one correctly.

The Grange's web site boasts everything state of the art equipment and luxurious furnishings in our lodge this was absolute tosh. Items which they consider luxurious were replaced in our home many moons ago as they were out of fashion unhygenic and obsolete. After staying overnight (through tiredness from travelling and checking in only allowed at 4.00 p.m. we vacated the lodge the following morning at 9.30. There is only a member of staff on site 3 days per week as we found out when going to reception and finding it closed. We then rang the owners mobile to say how unhappy we were and were leaving the site. She offered to come and clean the lodge but this would not have made any difference to the outdated furnishings so we decided to leave. We cannot comment on any other lodges within the park, only Berberis 1. when you have 6 hours to clean a lodge after the previous vacation you would expect a high level of cleanliness seeing this lodge was so small anyway.

On arrival we were told the second day of our 4 day break would have to be without electricity. Not the fault of the park I would add however when the whole of the lodge is electrically run it leaves one to wonder how we would have kept warm or used any facilities not even a cuppa could be had. The park owners were pre told 11 days prior to our arrival why not a courtesy telephone call to us as guests to let us make a decision as to arming ourselves with the necessary items e.g. candles, extra logs etc. which should have been offered to us by the management at no extra cost to ourselves.

As no solution was not forthcoming from either the site or the holiday company we salvaged our last 3 days by contacting one of the best lodge sites in York (please see my previous reviews) and managing to find accommodation there. Thanks to them for their welcoming attitude and excellent accommodation. The reason we had not booked there initially was because we had had a few days there earlier in the month and had looked at the web site of Faweather Grange, believed it to be of a high quality and thought the old adage 'a change is as good as a rest' could be applied. How wrong we were.. We were desperately disappointed.


  • Liked — LEAVING!!!!
  • Disliked — ENTERING!!!!!
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
34 Thank maguirepaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrew090960, Owner at Faweather Grange, responded to this review, March 13, 2007
Faweather Grange prides itself at the high standards maintained in all its properties, Faweather has just been awarded the 2006 Diamond award for exceptional quality and outstanding service, an award based entirely on real customer feedback. Faweather are also one of the few self catering establishments to be audited and maintain 4 & 5 star ratings consistantly on all the properties Faweather have won Self Catering Holiday of the year in 2005. All of the above are independantly inspected/judged or voted for and we standby our excellent quality standards.
Faweather Grange is 1 mile off the road up a bridle way, hence the claim Hideaway .The road is perfectly acceptable and is newly tarmaced for most of the way and we run our Bentley Arnage guest chauffeur service every day along it!
We have a variety of properties of different sizes and price levels,
Beberis lodge 1is smaller than the other Beberis lodges a fact that is reflected in the price.
We accept that the rug had been marked by the previous occupiers and that was replaced immediately We run a programme of constant maintenance and within 2 weeks of this visit this lodge received a new Cooker, Plasma TV and other upgrades in line with our annual property review.
We welcome feedback from any guest good or bad and remain committed to delivering nothing short of an excellent holiday experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2006

This was the second time we'd visited this location and I must apologise for taking so long to write a review of our time there. I must admit that I must be feeling some what nostalgic about the Grange as it's been approximately a year since we've been and throughly enjoyed the experience. You know how you're forever reading holiday magazines full of bluff about the destination you've chosen only to get there and be sorely disappointed. Well, forget that about the Faweather Grange. Whatever you read in any brochure is true - it is truly what it says it is - that is a place to retreat to and just relax - it's as clique'd as that. You could feasibly go here and do nothing, just indulge yourself and relax in the facilities you have available to yourself. We've stayed twice over long weekends and made full use of your own sauna, outdoor hot tub (we always went in November/December so running about in swimwear at that time of year was a novelty), top spec TV/DVD, roaring wood fire. Just ........well............nice. Each cottage has it's own kitchen, jacuzzi bath, four poster bed and appropriate decor. The site is made up of approximately half a dozen wooden cottages (you'll seldom see anybody though), with views of the moors and not much else on site - just alot of quiet!!! The town of Guiseley is nearby for supplies (Morrisons and M & S I seem to remember) and there are great motorway links with M1 and M62 not a million miles away. I've always liked to get what I consider to be value for money and, yes, this place is a little more expensive than your average place but I believe it was worth every penny and if you ever find yourself thinking you could do with getting away from everything, turning off the mobile and sitting down to talk with your nearest, this is possibly the sort of place you'd envisage yourself in! I'd go again tomorrow.

  • Liked — The opportunity to do nothing and not feel guilty and the quality facilities available to you.
  • Disliked — It's too easy to fall asleep in front of the log fire!
  • Tips/Secrets — Stock up at the local supermarket because eating out involves too much driving!
  • Stayed November 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank thegoat2002blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eldwick
4.4 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
13.7 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,497 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
18.6 mi away
Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faweather Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faweather Grange

Property: Faweather Grange
Address: Faweather Grange Sconce Lane, Eldwick BD16 3BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Eldwick
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Eldwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Faweather Grange 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning 5 star lodges with a unique range of memorable experiences on offer. All lodges feature hot tubs and are genuine log houses from Finland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Faweather Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Faweather Grange Hotel Eldwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing