We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Faweather Grange

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Faweather Grange
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Wow!! We spent our honeymoon here in serenity 5, so private with breathtaking views across the moors. Lodge included hot tub, sauna, jacuzzi bath, 4 poster bed- everything & more we could have wished for.
Massage by Louise in our lodge was extremely relaxing. Cow & calf in ilkley has the most amazing views across the moors and yummy food! Will definitely be returning soon! :-)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie_nic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    43
    15
    5
    5
See reviews for
73
255
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Calder, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We have just come back from a fantastic long weekend at the Grange. We arrived on the Friday afternoon to a warm and friendly welcome. We were shown to our lodge, Serenity 1 which was perfect for us. We jumped straight into the hot-tub, perfect after a 4 hour drive and the sun was beating down on it. The lodge itself was so cosy, the bed was without doubt the comfiest we have slept in and it had all the amenities necessary. It is incredibly peaceful and the views are just amazing. We did get very lucky with the weather and were able to sit and have breakfast outside. We went out for the Saturday in nearby Baildon and had a really good meal at the Rupari Indian -definitely recommend that, and also on Sunday we went to Ilkley to Le Bistrot Pierre and again had a very good meal. It really is a superb area and we can't wait to go back, and when we do we will definitely stay at the Grange, a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrew090960, Manager at Faweather Grange, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Serenity 1 - perfect for a relaxing break in our beautiful countryside. Hope you want to join us again for another stay in wonderful Wharfedale. Jan XX
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We have just spent the best week ever at faweather grange,we stayed in foxhollow lodge,the beds and pillows were out of this world,this is the first time we have ever stayed in a lodge,and we were extremely impressed,had a very warm welcome from Jan,who took us to our lodge,all beds were made,hot tub ready to use,and a lovely gift of chocs and bucks fizz. There isn't anything I can complain about,the lodge was clean on arrival,the only thing I found was that the toilet in the ensuite didn't flush too well,and it did start to pong and the water was a slight brown in colour after a couple of days,maybe some bleach could be provided. If u do visit this grange,then idlington waterfalls and walks are a must,although slightly strenuous,well worth the walk. Had A visit one evening from lynx the cat,who managed to climb in an open window,he stayed by the log burner for an hour,before we had to let him out for bedtime,the hot tub was amazing too,so nice laying back in the evening listening to the animals and birds on the Moore,plenty to do,will definately be back. Thankyou for a very lovely holiday Jon,Amanda,and Jamie Day x

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amandaday1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrew090960, Manager at Faweather Grange, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your glowing review of Foxhollow - a lovely lodge for a family break. Sorry about the loo problems - hopefully didn't spoil your holiday and something easily sorted. Hope you will be back soon for another break with us. Jan XX
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london,uk
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is my third time at Faweather Grange and even though the weather was awful, we will go back. The location of the park is absolutely beautiful and the bird watching is great. This is the first time that I have seen the rabbits playing in the park, which was a bonus.

We stayed in Serenity 4 which is extremely private but doesn't have the best views. For a couple, Serenity 3 is better but I think this is the lodge which has a lot of steps.

I'm hoping to go to the Alpine "super lodge" at some point but will probably have to win the Lottery first!

Negatives: the bathroom could do with an update. It is comfortable but not luxurious. The bridle path - Sconce Lane - is a nightmare!

Positives: warm and cosy, 4 poster bed, hot tub, sauna, well equipped kitchen (somebody even left washing liquid) and you are provided with dishwasher tablets. DVDs, CDs are provided, THE VIEWS, rabbits, birdsong, a very warm welcome, privacy, local amenities, the friendliness of the northerners particularly in Ilkley. You MUST drive along Hangingstone Road - it is an experience.

We gave Bradford and Leeds a miss this time - but I would highly recommend Leeds for shopping. We went to Huddersfield, Wakefield and Barnsley because we'd never been to those places before. The A roads are easy to drive and have some picturesque pubs and restaurants.

If you want a fabulous short break, either as a couple or a family, I would strongly recommend Faweather Grange (but check the weather forecast first!)

Jennifer

Room Tip: Serenity 4 for privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank London_ukGroovychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrew090960, Manager at Faweather Grange, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review. Serenity 2 is the lodge up 26 steps with undoubtedly fantastic views as has Serenity 3 and also Serenity 5 which is located at the top of the park in its own little garden. We are currently on a programme of updating bathrooms - Montana 1 and Tamarisk already completed. Hope to welcome you back soon. Jan XX
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Well, what can I say, we booked through Hoaseasons, for a mid week break. We were treated on arrival by friendly staff, who even helped us to transfer our luggage to the lodge with a golf buggy. We stayed in serenity 3, a fantastic romantic lodge with all the mod cons. Fantastic views across the valley. The private hot tube was fantastic, the sauna was brilliant, there is a log fire and a four poster bed. Well worth the money, and will be looking at going back, close to Ilkley, Otley, Bradford and Saltaire, all visited and enjoyed. The only down side is the road leading to the site, don't drive there in a car that has low clearance, as the road up is pot holed. But don't let that be a factor in your decision. Once there it more than makes up for it.

Room Tip: Book serenity 3 a fantastic location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrew090960, Manager at Faweather Grange, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Serenity 3 is indeed blessed with a long distance view and one of our favourites! Hope to see you again soon and that you can enjoy even more of our wonderful local attractions - so much to see within 10 miles of us that you might want to stay longer! Jan XX
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

We have just finished staying here for our eighth wedding anniversary and thought it was lovely. We stayed in Tamarisk, which was quite compact but really cosy. If you are after a modern bathroom or big kitchen this maybe isn't for you. But we thought it was charming. The log burner is cosy on an evening and the hot tub lights up into beautiful pools of colour on an evening, as you watch the night draw in. The view from the hot tub once in it is wonderful, you look onto the fields and moors. Don't be put off by the little road down the side, we didn't see a single person!! Locally, I would recommend The Malt Shovel for cheap but nice food - only a mile away in Baildon. For something a bit posher Le Bistro Pierre (The Crescent Hotel) in Ilkley is gorgeous. We chose to drive there and go early so we could make it back to use the hot tub and have a few drinks of champagne once we were home. My advice would be - take plenty of bubbly for the hot tub, a dressing gown and some extra towels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 944kerrym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrew090960, Manager at Faweather Grange, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Glad you enjoyed Tamarisk - and fantastic news for future guests is that we have just completed a major refit of the bathroom in this lodge - we can't make it bigger but we definitely made it better!! Hope to see you again soon. Jan XX
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed here again in March. We love the site and the surounding area. We have stayed in Serenity 4 on each of 3 stays and must say the position of the lodge is great. Completely private and relaxing. Nothing nicer than a day out and coming back and lighting the fire and getting all cosy. The only problem we had was the pillows they are the most uncomfy pillows we've ever slept on (we were bringing our own this time but forgot). That wouldn't put us off visiting again though. Looked beautiful in the snow the day we left.

Room Tip: Senerity 4 lovely and secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jak467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrew090960, Manager at Faweather Grange, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
So sorry you had a pillow problem!! Guests - Please, please, please tell us and we will make sure we find the perfect one for you so you can enjoy your relaxing holiday with us. Many thanks for your kind review and hope to see you again soon. Jan XX
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eldwick
4.4 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
13.7 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,398 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
18.6 mi away
Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faweather Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faweather Grange

Property: Faweather Grange
Address: Faweather Grange Sconce Lane, Eldwick BD16 3BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Eldwick
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Eldwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Faweather Grange 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning 5 star lodges with a unique range of memorable experiences on offer. All lodges feature hot tubs and are genuine log houses from Finland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Faweather Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Faweather Grange Hotel Eldwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing