We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rainforest Experience”

Skyrail Rainforest Cableway
Book In Advance
More Info
$124.41*
and up
Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Rail Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Skyrail Rainforest Cableway, Cairns Australia, is a world first in environmental tourism taking you on an amazing experience over Australia’s World Heritage listed Tropical Rainforest canopy and deep into the forest. The Skyrail experience, spanning 7.5kms over pristine rainforest, allows you to explore the wonders of an ancient tropical rainforest and learn about one of the most botanically fascinating and diverse areas on earth.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
1 review
“Rainforest Experience”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We started early in the morning in Freshwater and took the Skyrail train up to Kuranda. At the Freshwater Station there is a little museum with the history of that "unusual train" and its role. While going up you see the nature is changing. It is a very impressing experince ! Kuranda itself is a nice, litte village with different shops, cafes and galleries. The way down we took the gondolas with a stop at Baron Falls. There we had a guided rainforest walk. You get some facts about the aboriginal culture and there living habitudes in the rainforest. You also get to know the differnt plants and animals in the forest their use of the native people. I'm german and just knew a bit of all these information and little stories of aboriginal spirits etc. In the cableway down you see the trees and their height and you feel very small a human being ! It was a great Rainforest Experience !

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,638
    661
    120
    29
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
243 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Tree top adventure”
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Took the train up and the Skyrail down. It's is quite challenging in places for anyone unhappy with heights! A fantastic one of a kind view of a rain forrest canopy.

Helpful?
Thank alfielanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
218 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Vertically challenged?”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

If you are challenged about going vertical then this might not be for you but what a great day out. We did a return trip and spent 1/2 day in Kurundah and had a great day. Neither my wife or I were particularly keen on doing the skyrail but it's one of those attractions that is worth trying and getting over your fears. The gondolas give you a nice sense of security whilst travelling well above the tree line and through the canopies. The stretch along the Barron River gorge and across the river itself is stunning. All the staff along the way were very polite and helpful. As a footwear company says - 'just do it'!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank OooRoo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas
Level Contributor
386 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Outstanding Gondola Ride in the Rain Forest”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We really enjoyed our one way ride down the Skyrail Gondola with two intermediate viewing stations. You are riding over the rain forest canopy. Fortunately for us Cyclone Oswald had just exited the area so the rivers and waterfalls were running wild. In fact they were awesome. There were also some great ocean views on the way down. Having been involved with many gondola operations during my career, I was most impressed with this operation.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank gapcmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dromana, Vic. Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awsome!”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We had the best day and it was like it was meant to be. It was raining when we left the accommodation then fined up for the rest of the day and rained again as soon as we got back to our apartment. We took like ten thousand photos of trees amazing sea views and the Kurundah Markets. We recommend Skyrail as a must do to anyone who has a holiday in Cairns. if you do go make sure you go to the markets and to the pub. suggest you go up on Skyrail and coach back or visa versa

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingTomToms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skyrail Rainforest Cableway also viewed

 

Been to Skyrail Rainforest Cableway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing