We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fun, affordable”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cable Ski Cairns

Cable Ski Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is a unique cable-driven water skiing park that my son tried twice during our recent vacation. It's mostly used by locals, but is open to anyone and they treated us fine, so I'd like to review it. It's a good spot for active teens and older kids who want to do things rather than sightsee.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great fun, affordable”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We had a blast doing this (family of four - two adults, two teenagers).
We're from the middle of the UK and have had NO experience of doing anything like this before. We found it exhillerating and challenging, great fun. Most appear to be locals who can prperly water-ski - doing their jumps and flips. Great to watch. But yeah - us complete novices had a real blast too, so obviously there's something here for every skill level.
As mentioned this is an artificial lake and you sit on a knee board (or stand on a board if you have the skill) and get pulled around by the cable. Expect to get pulled into the water at times - all part of the fun.
Staff were friendly and helpful.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank nessysnail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    15
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Next Time I am in Cairns I am Doing This”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stumbled across this as we were going up Skyrail. We saw what looked like a water ski park as we were going up and decided to check it out when we came back down. Unfortunately it was too late in the day and too late into our trip to give it a go, but we had a great time watching others do tricks and stunts and wipe out. We literally watched for over an hour.

Next time I am in Cairns (hopefully before I am too old to do it) I am going.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Very cool thing to do!”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Very well designed waterski park where anyone from beginner to expert can get towed around and practise their skills. You can take your own gear or hire it there, and can get lessons if you need them! Good value for money, and something very different to do on a hot day!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank KeriAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A really unique experience”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Cable ski is so fun! Just something really different to spend the day doing, try something new and escape the heat. Anyone can try it and it's very reasonable priced.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank jglennon1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“nice way to spend a warm afternoon”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

great place for beginners and advanced wakeboarders alike. friendly staff, good atmosphere.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank choco140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cable Ski Cairns also viewed

Smithfield, Cairns Region
 

Been to Cable Ski Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing