We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Eco Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jim Corbett National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camp Forktail Creek
Southern California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding Eco Experience”
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Adore this Eco-minded and award winning camp with lovely owners, Minakshi and Ritish, and their excellent staff. Trip of a lifetime #3. They were able to make all the arrangements for an adventure into Jim Corbett National Park with jungle, grasslands, and rivers: a multi day elephant safari (where we had that portion of the national park to ourselves) and a 1-day game drive into Bijrani, and a 3-day game safari into Dhikala--viewing: tigers, many herds of elephants with babies, deer, other animals, and many kinds of birds (kingfishers, bee eaters, storks, cranes, buzzards, egles, owls, etc). Spent several days in camp relaxing and taking guided jungle walks. They no longer have tents, as listed on their website. They have built "mud huts" that are wonderful, with an artist touch, that resumble the Southwestern adobes in New Mexico. When in camp, sat at the campfire under the stars with everyone relating their exciting stories of their adventures that day. It doesn't get any better that this!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RosieD44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
7
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2011

What a place!
We arranged everything with Minakshi and she was excellent. Her responses were almost immediate (within 24hr) and I have to apologise to her because she responded to all my emails and changes in our plans.
The pick up, at Haridwar, was perfect and the driver they had arranged was polite and extremely careful - making for a relaxing 5 hour journey.
The camp is wonderful and the hut we stayed in was superb. Far plusher than what we were expecting and our boys loved the fact they could lay on the bed and watch deer, boar, rabbits and all the birds through the window.
Ritish and Minakshi have created a truly wonderful place; both are extremely gracious hosts, who made everything clear and they are a font of knowledge on the wild life and area.
The four days we were there we were assigned a camp guide, who was a local man - 'Harry' - If you read this - 'thanks so much, you were a big part of our family enjoying forktail creek - cheers'. Harry entertained our children, made sure we were comfortable, set up breakfast and lunch when on Safari and was the wikipedia of knowledge when out on safari.
The Safari's are fantastic, so much to see and the camp driver and guide are assisted by a park guide who were all working to find you sightings of different creatures.
Alas - we saw tiger prints but no tiger - although other guests at the camp had seen them that day and on others - However while out with two of the camp guides they pin pointed a leopard (by the warning calls of other animals), which was an amazing site - we wouldn't have seen it without there eyes and guidance.
Sorry, back to the camp -
Food fantastic, especially the paneer masala - best curry I've ever tried. Always plenty for breakfast and lunch when on safari - chef worked hard!
Accommodation - splendid and the lack of electricity added to the charm and character of forktail - It wasn't a hindrance as camp provided plenty of lights and they did have a generator on the periphery that ran a few hours a day - to charge lanterns and guest equipment if required.
Camp - Lots of wildlife, very relaxing, plenty to do.
Staff - very pleasant and polite, they join you at the evening campfire and we had some enjoyable conversations. ALL look after you and you come away feeling like you have made new friends.
Liked it lots - planning our return in 2012, for a longer stay and a few more different things we found out about, from other guests.
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loundfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2011

THE PLACE
Wonderful property and excellent service. However there is no power except a generator to charge laptops and phones ( not that there is much of a good reception on most cell phone connections). While this was a welcome change for us with no TVs or phones or laptops to keep is "busy", if you are not so kicked about being "powerless", you may not enjoy it ! Rooms were spacious and well-furnished.

THE SERVICE
The team was very friendy and always willing to help us.

THE LOCATION
It is located close to the Dhikala and Lohachaur ranges and about 40 minutes away from the Bijrani range

THE GUIDES
The guides are very enthusiastic and passionate about wild life and try their best to make your trip memorable

THE FOOD
While the taste was quite good, the spread could be better.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laxrajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2011

An excellent place to base yourself for the Corbett / Nainital region. The owners maintain the place lovingly and are always there for the guests. The personal touch does the trick. The staff also treats you like family. No electricity adds to the charm of the place. I wish the food quality was better - would have given it a 5* star rating.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BornTraveller72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2011

Stayed in Jan 2011, for 6 fabulous days.
Much of my experience is very specific to a "winter" visit.
Service was superb, the guiding was informative and produced the goods.
Had a fantastic view of a male tiger crossing a river bed and then 5mins later he passed right in front of my jeep. Such a different experience compared to the other "Tiger destinations" in India, certainly for the better. The birds were also magnificent, will not bore you with details.
As far as accommodation goes, great beds and comfy rooms, but no heating or air con or electricity for that matter. If completely honest I was bitterly cold the entire time, apart from when I got dressed to go to bed. But this is probably due to the fact I arrived from the Australian summer and it was the coldest year in India for years and years. Must say the wildlife was worth it. If your from Western Europe it should feel like home.
Food was very very good, a special mention, to the "dumplings in syrup!!!"
Staff were very supportive and took care of everything, proper service, hot water bottles in beds, camera batteries charged and ATM's found.
Overall a great place to stay for at least a week, provided you know what the weather will be like, particularly in Winter and you have the gear to cope.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Constable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2011

Wonderful accommodation in a wildlife rich forest setting. You can skip the rest of this review, and just book it!!

My wife and I travelled with a friend to Camp Forktail Creek for 5 nights in mid February 2011 and it was a fantastic experience all round. We had travelled from Agra, via Fort Unchagon, arriving to a warm welcome from owners Rittish and Min, Vrusel and all the team. The first impression was the wide variety of birds just around the feeders in camp, including Black Francolin, Spotted Dove, White-crested Laughing Thrush, Slaty Headed parakeet, and Crimson Sunbird. The chalets, made with mud are delightful, and Min is a perfect hostess, with a lovely sense of humour. The whole team have the ambition to ensure you have the best possible wildlife experience; and always polite, helpful, knowledgeable and happy. The camp is wildlife and environmentally friendly, no electric, but comfortable delightful lodges, and a wide range of birds can be easily seen just while you eat. We spent 2 nights within the Corbett reserve - Corbett is just breathtakingly beautiful - with the majestic River Ramganga snaking its way through gorges and woodland with spectacularly steep ravines, some flat open grassland beside the river and it supports an huge variety of vegetation and wildlife. The forest is diverse with beautiful sal and sheesham trees dominating the lower areas, giving way acacia and then to bauhinia, pine and bamboo at the highest altitudes. The park was pretty clean and largely unaltered by man.

Vrusel was our guide for most of our visit, and he is a very able naturalist with a wide range of knowledge and importantly is excellent at spotting wildlife. We saw a lot of birds, sambar, spotted deer, muntjac, hog deer, wild goat, jungle cat, striped squirrel, jackal, langar and macaque monkey, hare, otter, elephant, and other animals. Sadly tiger escaped us, but there was plenty of evidence, and we were so excited with all there was to see that it didn't seem to matter. We particularly enjoyed watching abundant wild elephant. We were incredibly impressed with the safaris and it is a truly beautiful park with varied habitats, smooth tracks, great views,

Overall an unforgettable holiday that we hope to repeat, and we are very happy to recommend a trip to Camp Forktail Creek and Corbett Reserve.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0ssH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2011

I stayed at Camp Forktail Creek as part of a group of 15 people, all of different ages and from three different countries.

The camp is exceptional, the people fantastic and the location superb. Each of the huts has comfortable beds with warm duvets and hot water bottles (we needed them as it cold at night in January!).The bathroom has a fully functioning toilet and cold running water. Solar panels provide hot water and on days when this was not enough, camp staff promptly brought hot water on request.

The camp staff are wonderful! Led by Min and Ritish (the owners) they pride themselves on their "family" atmosphere and each and every guest is made to feel a part of that family. Nothing was too much bother for them. Excellent meals were cooked fresh each day by the camp chef, who catered well for my egg-free diet. Substantial packed lunches were provided for days out in the parks. Early morning calls ensured that everyone of us was up in time for early morning game drives.

The camp is a fabulous place. It is clean and well-cared for and the location is wonderful. With so many different places in the world to visit, we rarely go back to same place twice. This might well be the exception!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Strolling_Goldfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jim Corbett National Park hotels
4.6 mi away
Aahana the Corbett Wilderness
Aahana the Corbett Wilderness
#2 of 59 in Jim Corbett National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Riverview Retreat
The Riverview Retreat
#5 of 59 in Jim Corbett National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
5.1 mi away
Namah
Namah
#1 of 8 in Dhikuli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Corbett Tiger Huts
Corbett Tiger Huts
#5 of 10 in Dhikuli
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Monal's Nest Resort
The Monal's Nest Resort
#1 of 10 in Dhikuli
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
6.1 mi away
Corbett Riverside Resort
Corbett Riverside Resort
#8 of 59 in Jim Corbett National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp Forktail Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Forktail Creek

Property: Camp Forktail Creek
Address: Village Bhakrakot, P.O. Mohan | Dist. Almora - 244715, Uttaranchal, Jim Corbett National Park 244715, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Jim Corbett National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 90 Specialty Lodging in Jim Corbett National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing