We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice reort in the jungle” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jim's Jungle Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jim's Jungle Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice reort in the jungle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Visited JJR last week and stayed there for 2 nights.Were the only folks staying there, however the hotel staff made sure to make us comfotable ans safe in the wilderness. The resort has great location , we were able to spot couple of animals during our stay. Indian food served is quite amazing, cant say the same about the continental though. Took a safari where Mr. Bhatt was our guide, he is truely amazing guy with passsion for wildlife. Service of the resort was great , they have this great concept of serving dinner at various spots in resort which i really liked. Only concern was related to lack of options of activities, some improvisation here would further enhance the experience specially keeping in perspctive the price they charge. Other thing is about the safety at the resort, in evening you actually have to think multiple times before stepping out of your room as there are no guards around.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paresh_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    58
    17
    8
    3
See reviews for
175
92
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Though It a little late wring this review, I thought of writing a rewiew as my friends are planning a visit to corbett and Jims Jungle retreat flashed thru my mind. Firlt the best part of this propert is its location. Aptly placed in the buffer zone of the jungle. I would say this place is almost perfect . The best gesture being , we had arrives very late at hotel like 1600 hrs and the hotel had still kept nice proper lunch for us.Secondly the rooms are extremely clean and comforting.

The only thing was that there were no ladies bicycle at the property. Barring this minor thing this place is perfect in wild.

Also thanks to Mr. Majid for arranging all the safaris to perfection and on time. Kudos to this property.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shreyas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghaziabad, India
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Have been a regular visitor of JJR for the past 8-9yrs which in itself speaks volumes about this property. Sitting plum in tiger territory, surrounded by dense forest & with wildlife in abundance - it doesnt get better than this. Experienced naturalists / guides (some of who are born & brought in that area & know the jungle like the back of their hand) are always at hand to escort you on nature walks & their expert eyes never miss a thing - from pug marks in the sand to a serpent eagle perched high in the trees. And the icing on the cake is that there is just as much wilderness within the resort too. The place is teeming with a variety of migratory birds, & one can spend hours sitting on the machan watching them dive in to the pond to catch fish. Occasionally may find a family of jackals at the same pond, there for a quick drink.
The cottages are very comfortable & tastefully done up. The staff is very hospitable, courteous & helpful & food is great.....all manged well by the GM who ensures that every one gets personalised service.
But the biggest selling point (apart from the fact that have run into tiger, on foot numerous times) is that JJR blends beautifully with its wild surroundings, & there is a decorum in place within it to ensure that the resort & its guests are always in sync with nature....wish others in the neighbourhood too would take cue from that.

Room Tip: Lodges - very tastefully done up & get a bird's eye view of the forest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ranvir_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Late Jan 2013 we drove down from Gurgaon, for our second trip to the Jims Jungle Retreat in the last 03 years. A classily built resort with cosy cottages tucked into the lush flora, the resort blends beautifully into the surrounding. A quiet couple of hours on the machaan with a camera in hand , the site of birds diving into the pond, a pair of jackals popping in for a “drinks break”, the partial site of a tiger chasing down a deer during the nature walk, a stroll down a foggy jungle with our guide Baloo and my brother, a nice family dinner on the machaan and my 2.5yr old son enjoying his new “home” – some of the many memories my family and I take back. The resort and the staff truly help you redefine the words “relaxation” and “excitement”. A must visit for nature lovers. cheers. Tanveer

Room Tip: If you are driving down from Delhi, try be at the resort by 1pm. Gives you time for a quick lunch an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TanveerSUberoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Jim's Jungle retreat is nicely done viz a viz the wilderness experience and decor etc. But it is not value for money for the charges...There is no In Room Dining to begin with, the food is average and the GM, Ms, Rati is most unlike a professional or a wildlife person. She made no effort to take any feedback, and when mentioned or requested for a particular thing she was biased towards other guests and did no even bother communicating. She just wanted us to eat at a particular time and wanted to get it over with. However the other lower level staff is very helpful. We went cycling. and the jeep safari is really worth a try in the jungle. considering you are paying 300$ a night you expect to be looked after a little more meaningfully. The marketing manager who sold us the package happened to be there and there wasnt even a courtesy hello!!!! so a property well made by the owners but managed unprofessionally. And yes the bathrooms have a lot of room for improvement. All of this feedback is considering the price segment.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NaginaSanjeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamJJR, Manager at Jim's Jungle Retreat, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Nagina,

Many thanks for your review based on your experience at the Retreat, we appreciate the criticism, both positive and negative. Your appreciation for the Retreat is received with thanks. Its sad to note that the services at the Retreat did not meet up to your standards and expectations during your stay.

The endeavour of the Retreat is to provide an exclusive experience for all our guests, keeping in mind the privacy and safety of all individuals as paramount. Being in a wildlife environment, adhering to the meal timings is important as we serve freshly cooked meals from locally procured produce. Separate dining is arranged for all our guests post the evening snacks and beverage sessions, and all the dishes are prepared right before serving to ensure optimum dining experience.

During your stay with us at the Retreat, the dining was arranged in a secluded area near our pool, which you requested to be changed twice before sharing the table with another of our guests. Further, the dinner was delayed at your request as, along with the other guests, your small group was enjoying the drinks on offer at the Retreat. As a rule, we do not intrude into the privacy of our guests, but we also need to be aware of the meal timings in the wildlife environment.

Based on the most recent reviews regarding the services at the Retreat during this season (last 04 months), almost all our guests have highly complemented the extremely professional management of the services at the Retreat. Coming from a hospitality background, we do understand that pleasing all our guests with exceptional service is a very delicate proposition.

We again thank you for your criticism and look forward to hosting you and your friends at the Retreat.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

This was a wonderful experience, something we will always remember. The cottages were lovely and the Lodge's are out of this world. If you love good food, nature and tranquility this must be the best place around Corbett to stay. It is not touristy and is seriously eco-friendly and the staff really care for your needs and well-being. The vegetables are home-grown, the pool is wonderful, the menu is inventive and quality of cooking fabulous. The naturalists are very knowledgeable and the manager Rati is highly professional, charming and a fund of stories! Can't believe how lucky we were on finding Jim's Jungle. We even saw a Tiger! We cannot recommend this place highly enough.

Room Tip: Each Lodge is distinctive and each one profiles a famous naturalist. Sheer luxury.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We (I along with my wife) stayed here for 2 Nights, the overall experience was very good. They just take care of everything once you reach their, everything was good from stay to food to our Safari arrangements. We also enjoyed the bonfire in the evening where they played our Safari experience (we were almost attacked by a group of elephants, and we captured that in a video and GM of the hotel requested us to play that in the evening). We also went for bike ride in jungle, which was amazing but scary too :) Recommend this place to everyone!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank booijaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jim Corbett National Park hotels
7.1 mi away
Aahana the Corbett Wilderness
Aahana the Corbett Wilderness
#1 of 56 in Jim Corbett National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
9.3 mi away
Namah
Namah
#1 of 8 in Dhikuli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Riverview Retreat
The Riverview Retreat
#5 of 56 in Jim Corbett National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
The Solluna Resort
The Solluna Resort
#3 of 56 in Jim Corbett National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Golden Tusk
The Golden Tusk
#4 of 56 in Jim Corbett National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Gateway Resort Corbett
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jim's Jungle Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jim's Jungle Retreat

Property: Jim's Jungle Retreat
Address: Village & PO - Dhela, Ramnagar | Corbett Tiger Reserve, Jim Corbett National Park 244715, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Jim Corbett National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jim Corbett National Park
#1 Family Hotel in Jim Corbett National Park
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Jim Corbett National Park
#6 Luxury Hotel in Jim Corbett National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jim's Jungle Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jim’s Jungle Retreat - an eco-sensitive wildlife lodge that invites you to the Seek the Tiger, Find the Jungle. Rated exceptional by our patrons, we look forward to hosting you with personalized service and attention to detail. Set astride in Raj-camp style, among wild trees and water bodies, your suite’s unique eco-systems provide personal sanctuary on 15 acres of terrain.Instinct-sharpening moments are guaranteed in this ‘land of roar and trumpet song', with unique jeep and elephant safaris and nature walks. Or relax by the pool and relish our scrumptious local cuisine.A forest environment awaits you at the retreat, located along the buffer forest of Corbett National Park’s southern edge. Aloof from civilization, the seasonal river nearby hosts grazing deer, root-digging wild hog and migrating elephant herds that can be enjoyed from the safety of our solar fenced property. Our water bodies and forest cover, planted over a decade, are now home to several bird and smaller mammalian species.As an eco-sensitive lodge with 18 residences spread over 15 acres, our conservation practices include waste management, the use of solar energy, organic vegetables grown for the table and the recycling of bath water through a root-zone treatment plant for irrigation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Jim's Jungle Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jim`s Jungle Retreat Hotel Corbett
Jims Jungle Retreat Ramnagar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing