We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Base”
Review of Corbett Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jim Corbett National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Corbett Motel
Waihi Beach, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Base”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This place was great for us as a base. The whole place is under a mango orchard which is great for cool shade in the hot summer. Our rooms were clean, bathroom a little dirty, but no big deal under India standards and we were happy.

The food was excellent and we had great time. Ranjeet organised all of our accommodation and safaris in Dhikala, we had a good driver and good guides. There was a bit of a hiccup with our accom in Dhikala, they only had a low budget room the first night yet we were still charged the same, but not sure what end of the organising that came from.

Ranjeet was happy to organise any travel around the area we wanted and was quick to arrange extra safaris if we needed them (given that it is quite difficult to get a gate pass).

All in all good place to have as "base camp". Would stay here again.

Thanks

Room Tip: They have Tents as well, which we didnt stay in but I understand aer quite good for the experience a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel Adam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    37
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
27
28
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This peaceful hotel in Ramnagar is ideally situated for exploring the Bijrani zone of Corbett. The rooms are good and clean, nothing too fancy. But also were cheap too. Best of all were the staff who made our stay a very happy one. Karan Singh the owner is a really knowledgeable naturalist and on the day he acted as our guide for a morning Jeep safari we saw a tiger, and from just a few feet away too. It was a few hours we shall always remember. The food in the restaurant is excellent, and without doubt their Aloo gobi dish is the best we've ever tasted in India. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baz1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Offered the tent accommodation first. That didn't appeal so opted for a unit. Basic but adequate and quite clean. No mosquitoes or other nasties around. Unfortunately our room was between an Indian family party and boy could they party - all night. We didn't get up and say anything because they had been drinking so we thought best to just leave it be. Lonely Planet says the rate should be around 600 rupees per night, make sure that's what you paid as our driver said it was 2000 per night and that is what was paid. I didn't check LP till the next day. Pretty sure it was get the money out of the foreign tourists day - oops no that's everyday.
However the food was great and they had a pretty wide selection of food.

Room Tip: Try and get an end room so you are not between others who might be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed here as part of an overland trip to Corbett National Park. The Motel was supposed to coordinate the permits for our group to go on a safari into the park, but the permits all fell through (a main reason many in our group did our tour). This means that we could only go in the "buffer zones" of the park. Think many loud tourists, tons of other jeeps, lots of honking (animals clearly stay away when this happens). Our group camped on the grounds with the option to upgrade. Many of the rooms (we stayed in two) were disgusting. There were many mosquitos, there were stains on the sheets, and we definitely had evidence of a mouse in the room - droppings everywhere. The bathrooms that many in our group were using (shared) were very disgusting.

On a positive note, the food in the restaurant was pretty good and many of the safari guys were quite good and friendly. There were also many Indian tourists there who looked like they were having a great time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The owner is a really nice guy and the room was ok... Would be a very nice place if it was not in the middle of nowhere, had at least one foreign traveller and wifi... It seems to be an indian family travelers favourite (and the lonely planet writer top choice). Maybe if you go on a group would be ok but Believe me if you are travelling solo DONT go there... You wont meet people!
Tried to do the safari with them but they only offered a private safari for me that was unaffordable...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arizazealuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed there for 1 night.
Excellent location.
Good Service.

Visited the Karan village which is just behind the motel .
It was really a great experience.

One can take jungle safari from the motel for 3500.

Room Tip: Stay at ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank G K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I visited Jim Corbett National Park in November with my cousins and friends. It was an amazing trip though we did not see tigers. The fact that we stayed at Corbett Motel added to our good experience of the place. I did not meet Mr Karan about whom everyone is speaking here but Ranjit and Khursheed did take good care of everything. From rooms to food and safari booking, everything was arranged by them.

Dont expect a luxury stay but considering the amount that they charge its a place worth staying. Also try their Dal Makhni and butter chicken, yummy!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the ground floor in summers. Tents are also good and cheap!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mirzabab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jim Corbett National Park hotels
5.8 mi away
Namah
Namah
#1 of 8 in Dhikuli
446 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Golden Tusk
The Golden Tusk
#1 of 4 in Dhela
564 reviews
4.4 mi away
Alaya Resorts & Spa
Alaya Resorts & Spa
#4 of 10 in Ramnagar
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Corbett - Treetop Riverview, A Sterling Holidays Resort
5.3 mi away
Le Roi Corbett
Le Roi Corbett
#25 of 61 in Jim Corbett National Park
180 reviews
6.8 mi away
Corbett Riverside Resort
Corbett Riverside Resort
#9 of 61 in Jim Corbett National Park
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corbett Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corbett Motel

Property: Corbett Motel
Address: Telipura Road, Jim Corbett National Park 244715, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Jim Corbett National Park
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Jim Corbett National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corbett Motel Resort is situated in the prime location of Corbett National Park. It’s a beautiful property away from traffic and chaotic city life, with a lovely location in heart of mango orchid. This resort has 16 well furnished rooms along with tent facilities too. The resort has everything to offer anyone who is looking for a beautiful and lovely vacation ahead. The resort has its own multi cuisine restaurant which serves all culinary delights, friendly and helpful staff and cost effective accommodation suits your budget. The Resort also has a central lawn which blows the mind with its grace and blossoms. Corbett Motel is ideal place to spend quality time with your family and friends. We organize birding tour, wildlife photography, fishing, jungle safaris and much more to delight any nature lover. The Corbett Motel is highly recommended by Lonely Planet. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing