We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jim Corbett- Haven for Tigers”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jim Corbett National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dhikala Forest Rest House
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Jim Corbett- Haven for Tigers”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We are regular visitors of Jim Corbett and most of the time staying at Dhikala. This is inside 32 KM from Main Gate. The best season is between Early March to April End. This is centrally located area having both forest and grass land. Grass land is full of different types of deers, wild boars, langurs, elephants and above all the great Indian Tigers. We have spotted 4 tigers in a day at different locations and did the photo shoot or video. Almost in every visit we spotted tiger(s) and did not get disappointed except 1-2 occasion. Thandi Sarak is the most suitable location to see a tiger. What a beautiful beast it is. The river flowing along with the resort is awesome and you may watch heard of elephants doing bath.
The facilities are not of high class. Rooms are average, having dim light. Food quality is average but little bit expensive. However, you can't expect much of the facilities inside the jungle. At night tiger roaring fill the adventure in the mind. If you are wild life lover and that too for Tiger must visit and stay at Dhikala atleast for 2 nights. Good spotting of tiger is guaranteed.

Room Tip: Book the tour from Delhi, they are having package and relatively have better rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank JatinChaudhary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    60
    26
    11
    6
See reviews for
91
36
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This is the must visit part of the Jim Corbett national park.Although,travelling here is a bit tiresome, it's worth.Go for morning as well as evening safari here.Its situated right in the Middle of the forest, but the food and the services are very nice.Spotted tigers,sambhar,wild elephants,spotted deer,peacock,wild boar,and exactly 57 types of birds that I could list.According to me the elephant safari is not worth,but the jeep safari is definitely.

Room Tip: Choose a knowledgeable guide, as spotting animals is difficult without a good guide and driver. Do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AniBid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, India
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We booked forest guest house through private agent(Garhawel Himalayan Expedition,NewDelhi).
The rooms were Big,Neat with a new air cooler. The travel from the entrance to the guest house itself was very thrilling!!. We went by a Gypsy Car for sight seeing inside the forest. The Gypsydriver named Shakeel knew the forest well.
We were able to see plenty of rare Birds, Monkeys, Deers, Elephants(We were chased by a wild Tusker while taking the photo). We drove away from the place. Morning & Evening Gypsy safari was worth. We went for morning elephant ride, good experience sitting on a huge beast.
Delicious food, Good service, very curtious staff.

Room Tip: Choose Dhikala Forest Guest House Annexure Rooms Only
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank georgepd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

You can not expect better service and facilities in the middle of the forest. This place has every basic facility that we need during our excursion trips to such wildlife forests. Its has amazing view of the forest and provides the best chances to trace the most wanted cats !!
Food in the canteen is good and very reasonalble in terms of cost.
Best place to stay if you are visiting Jim Corbett.

Room Tip: The ones which were used by Mr. Corbett himself are better and spacious ones with nice view of the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Axaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

This place is situated in the heart of Corbett national park and offers the best chance to see much of the wildlife including the elusive and spectacular tigers. The lodge itself is very basic due to its location and it could benefit greatly from even a little development but well worth it for a chance to see the tigers which will even hunt right outside the lodge fence as we witnessed.

Take your own beer and ask your guide to stick it in the fridge when you arrive as there's no chance of getting any on site!

Room Tip: Ensure it's got working air-con
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank offshore-tiger81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

The rest house is located in the middle of the Dhikala zone. That's a one hour plus drive from the Dhikala gate. The Dhikala zone is the central zone in Corbett. The whole of corbett being divided into a few zone- Jhirna, Bijrani ,etc. The guest house is surrounded by electric fencing that's turned on during the night to keep wild animals away. Even during the day their is restriction to walk anywhere. Stepping out to sit in one of the observation towers must be done with a guide. The rooms itself were large. Basic bedding. Coolers in the room. No rooms have air conditioning. The bathrooms are clean and basic too. Very old furniture and woodwork. This is where we picked up bed bugs that went home to Delhi with us. Causing us several nights of horror until I called pest control and dealt with them.
The food was basic in the two restaurants located in side the property. One served buffet and another ala carte. Oily, spicy but decent.
As for location , the guests who had been their a night before we came told us that the previous evening a leopard sat on a tree just outside the guest house and a tiger stood below waiting to attack the leopard. The whole thing was seen by all the guests who had been their an evening before. We were so close to the wild animals ( explains the electric fencing). gave me goose bumps. We spotted deer kill right outside the guest house which was the leopards food. The leopard inhabits the tree outside the guest house. One of his spots.
Like I said the guest house isn't much. Just basic ! But the location makes everything worth it. Even bed bugs!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank iamharrypotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

This is the only lodge actually inside the tiger reserve core area, a 2-3 hour jeep ride from the gates. We booked ahead which included, travel to and from Delhi, transfers from the railway station, a morning's accommodation to refresh and have breakfast, basically a safari in and out from Dhikala lodge, all food and accommodation. We had to pay a premium but it was worth it. A couple arrived and left at the same time as us but had much more hanging around, difficulty getting permits and transfers, less luxury in the morning of arrival, no elephant safari, and no reassurance that everything was organised! We were glad we did.
The rooms weren't the nicest we stayed in but were adequate. The AC units left a little to be desired and not all windows could be opened due to the monkeys cohabiting.
The location is this place's prime selling point. In the morning you are straight out into the core area, and on our second safari we spotted a tiger no more than 20m from the site itself!
It has it's price but we'd both go again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jim Corbett National Park hotels
19.0 mi away
The Riverview Retreat
The Riverview Retreat
#5 of 60 in Jim Corbett National Park
739 reviews
16.7 mi away
Aahana the Corbett Wilderness
Aahana the Corbett Wilderness
#2 of 60 in Jim Corbett National Park
579 reviews
19.1 mi away
Le Roi Corbett
Le Roi Corbett
#24 of 60 in Jim Corbett National Park
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Namah
Namah
#1 of 8 in Dhikuli
450 reviews
14.5 mi away
The Golden Tusk
The Golden Tusk
#1 of 4 in Dhela
575 reviews
13.8 mi away
The Solluna Resort
The Solluna Resort
#3 of 60 in Jim Corbett National Park
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dhikala Forest Rest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dhikala Forest Rest House

Property: Dhikala Forest Rest House
Address: Jim Corbett Park, Jim Corbett National Park, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Jim Corbett National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Jim Corbett National Park
Number of rooms: 32

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing