We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best resort in corbett”
Review of The Den Corbett

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jim Corbett National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Den Corbett
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I had read all the reviews and also visited the resort and can give you a summary
-very cooperative staff
-value for money
-away from the Gates but still at a very nice location
-safari driver and hotel staff were like a family
-buffet very costly
-no room service

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aakash K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 175 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2013

Beautiful ambiance, starting from the the reception every part of the hotel has been designed with taste!!!the beauty of the resort is unparalleled with what I have experienced till date...mango trees, big lawns, on the banks of kosi river where you can even take a dip, swimming pool, spa and a lots more...badminton, volleyball, table tennis, chess,cycling and a lot more at your disposal. To add to it all the owner has a pet ELEPHANT!!!! you can ride it (gotta pay but), mangoes on the tress are at your disposal...not to mention the upcoming tree house.
But there are some flaws...guests took a dip in the kosi river and in those dirty attires entered the swimming pool...this needs to be checked by the management..
the stairs leading to the kosi river is dilapidated and dangerous...
due to its proximity to the jungle you may encounter some non humans on the way...we had two rats in our room ...
BTW complementary tea and cookies are served in the morning and evening...they were good enough to pack us a sumptuous breakfast for 5 at 6 AM although their BF timings is at 7:30AM
the Staff were very cordial and friendly, food was good ...overall a wonderful experience...

Room Tip: Carry odomos and Good Night or some insect repellents...ask for rooms on the first floor so maybe yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jishnu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We went there on a family trip-two families. We stayed at Tiger's Den-two connected rooms in a single cottage.
The resort is nicely managed property. The prices are competitive, rooms are clean and big. Nice small but well maintained swimming pool. Could not experience the Spa as the it was closed for males that day. Food was very tasty.
Negative points- Room service was too slow. We had to wait for half an hour for even water. Our AC was not functional when we reached there. We asked it be replaced which they could not do even for two hours. It was only when we asked for resort manager it was changed.
It is very far from the main town. It will be difficult for children as even milk is not available there. we had to get milk from town which is about 25 Km from there. Similarly if any medicines are needed it need to be stoked beforehand.
For those who like isolated places this may not be a negative point though.
Overall experience was good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shiv5180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The Den Review
==============
Background: We went to this Hotel as a Business + family trip. We went as a group of 14 people, which included bachelors and couples and couples with kids. I have a 10 month old and this was our first trip anywhere with the baby. So as new parents, we were a little nervous about his reaction to strangers and new place and away from his routine. But it turned out to be a very good trip for all of us.

The Den: Since we visited in May, it was quiet hot here. The first impression of the place was peaceful and quiet and the decor was quaint. The staff was courteous; and after reaching we checked into a twin room. Since we reached our destination late by couple of hours; it was a relief to check-in and get some rest. Overall; great place to stay during winters. In summers; be prepared for some heavy sweating as the reception area had less fans and no AC. The greenry around provides a lot of relief from the heat.

The Room: The room was clean enough; but could have been better ventilated for our stay. It seemed like it had not been opened in some time. The AC took some time to cool but after that it was very comfortable. The floor was carpeted so plus point for the baby to crawl around. And the room faced the river and the view was very nice. The bathroom was spacious and clean but the tub had stain marks on it.

The Food: Our package included all meals, and it was a good thing since the food was great!! The vegetarian dishes as well as the non-veg dishes. Also, the resort is very much located in interior and away from city; so not much else is there. We did not have to order anything extra as such; and the kitchen staff and waiters were very cooperative whenever I had specific requests related to making things for the baby to eat. Only con was that fresh milk was not available; and they used powered milk for everything. It did not make too much difference to us; but the baby refused to touch the milk :P. So I had to manage 2 days without it.

Best Parts: The river was great when we went down there. The food was yummy. Staff very cooperative. Resort was very green and beautiful.
No so good parts: Reception area was nice place to sit but had no fans; so it was very hot. The games room also did not have a fan and could be cleaner.

In Summary: Great place to stay with family.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelFanGurgaon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Resort has all the amenities, for children to emjoy. It is peaceful and nice place to spend quality liesure time. Food was excellent, really appreciate the kitchen staff , who had taken care of us very well.
Negative point : It is too far way ( 25 kms ) from the nearby town and at a very lonely place in the jungle. It is the only hotel available at that place. We reached the hotel during night time and we were scared travelling 20 kms in the jungle to reach the hotel. There were very few sign boards showing the directions.

It is better if the quality of the beds is also improved. Window A/c in the room is not effective to cool the room. They should go for split AC with higher capacity

Room Tip: Select room close to reception and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank SRINIVASA KUMAR L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Well when I visited, I was never expecting to be such a great bounty.

First of location and how to drive to this place:
If you are driving from Delhi, Take the Moradabad by-pass and then sharply take a left turn. Then take the road towards Thakurdwara and then via Kashipur you will be reaching Ramnagar. Unlike as shown in Google Maps, The Den is about 35 kms from Ramnagar. So do not expect a 25 minutes drive from Ramnagar to reach The Den. Its even 6-7 kms ahead of Mohan State Bank of India branch.

But as soon as you enter the resort, you will definitely feel delighted. The resort is green and really defines what a resort means. The resort huts are very nicely designed as they are isolated from each other. Each huts is engrossed around with beautiful Mango trees. As you walk from one room to other or to the pool or to the restaurant, even that small walk of yours would be super excellent.
The resort has super place for badminton, volleyball and cricket. The resort has an excellent swimming pool and a spa too. The resort also has an open air theatre where you can sit and enjoy with the family.

Now coming to the room. I took 3 standard rooms but the were better than even the delux rooms of a lot of resorts I have visited in my life. The rooms comes fully equipped with free Coffee machine so that you can enjoy free tea and coffee in your rooms and they do not charge anything extra for it. The bathrooms in the standard were nice and very clean.

Coming to food : The kitchen support staff is nice and courteous. Though I found that if you do not go for buffets included in your package, they have very limited set of food options. They would suggest you to take things which are already available with the buffet as al-a-carte meals.

Around the den:
There are few things but they are so good that you will defnately have a remorse leaving the place on the last day.
The Kosi river where you can either trek from the suspension bridge or climb down steep stairs to reach. Recommend to have bath in the Kosi river. Its a super awesome experience.
Take a walk on the Ranikhet road towards Ranikhet or towards Mohan. The walks are so awesome.


Well overall, the resort is awesome place to stay for atleast 3 nights. 2 nights are too less as the place is awesome. Moreover I feel that you can stay in the resort rather going here and there as you can in perfect lap of nature and the resort has all the things to offer under one roof.

Highly recommended place.

Room Tip: In case you are two or three families together, you can choose to have Villas which have three sepra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harpreet_S_Ubhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I wasn't very hopeful for a resort in a jungle. However the Den was a pleasant surprise. Its a lovely resort in midst of Corbett at very beautiful location. You feel truly yourself in the lap of nature. Staves are welcoming, food is great.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank amarstays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jim Corbett National Park hotels
4 mi away
Country Inn Corbett
Country Inn Corbett
#29 of 63 in Jim Corbett National Park
224 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Riverview Retreat
The Riverview Retreat
#6 of 63 in Jim Corbett National Park
803 reviews
5.5 mi away
Le Roi Corbett
Le Roi Corbett
#32 of 63 in Jim Corbett National Park
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
WelcomHeritage Corbett Ramganga Resort
WelcomHeritage Corbett Ramganga ...
#19 of 63 in Jim Corbett National Park
149 reviews
6.2 mi away
Sterling Corbett
Sterling Corbett
#3 of 3 in Marchula
194 reviews
12.9 mi away
Acorn Hideaway Resort & Spa
Acorn Hideaway Resort & Spa
#23 of 63 in Jim Corbett National Park
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Den Corbett? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Den Corbett

Address: Kumeria Reserve Fores | P.O. Mohan, Jim Corbett National Park 244715, India (Formerly Q. Inn the Den Resort)
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Jim Corbett National Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 63 Hotels in Jim Corbett National Park
Price Range: $53 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Den Corbett 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Den is a jungle resort in Corbett. It is spread over 13 acres of reserve forest land in the foothills of Himalayas. Thick Sal forest and gentle murmuring Kosi River flows along the whole length of the resort. You can look forward to fantastic close-up experiences with wildlife. The contemporary design of our 50 cottages is relaxed with sunshine-filled spaces. Our restaurant, The Hunt boasts world-class cuisine while spa focuses on holistic wellness. It has been the hunting ground of British in India, prior to the independence. It is a paradise for Bird Watchers and Wildlife & nature Lovers. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing