We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh My God!”

Sripuram Golden Temple
Ranked #1 of 24 things to do in Vellore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Oh My God!”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I planned this trip as my aging parents wanted to visit this place. We hired a cab from the local vendor, as I was advised not to drive my own car during the night. The cab ride was a horrible experience because of the driver. He took 5 hrs to drive us from Chennai. After getting dropped off at the entrance, we inquired with a volunteer about the time it will take for us to have a darshan if we go by the general entrance. He said it will take 2-3 hours and if we pay Rs 250/- it will take 1 hour. So, we ended up paying this amount per head , and renting the wheel chair as well ( Rs 50/- ). We have to the push the wheelchair all the way till the temple and it took only 5-10 minutes to reach the temple. Once inside the temple premises, we were made to stand in the queue to get a view of the idol as some other people who paid Rs 250/- or more, were sitting in front of the Sanctum. We were surprised to see that the general queue was moving while we are still stranded in the queue even though we had aging people. The sole purpose of paying so much, hiring wheel chair was in vain as we waited for nearly 30-40 minutes at the same spot without the Darshan of the Goddess. Finally , we were allowed to move slowly. People in the queue, mostly aged, requested the security to let us move out of the temple, as all of us had come from far away ,paid so much, and were left stranded and we did not actually enjoy the darshan because of this.
The temple as such is very beautiful and the view in the artificial light is really out of this world.
The way in which the temple administration managed the people left a lot to be desired, and I would recommend people visit this during weekdays hoping it will be left crowded and not mismanaged.
They sell water bottles, and eateries, as well as temple sou-verniers along the path to the temple.We are not allowed to carry mobile, cameras, and they have a counter where we can deposit these items before entering the temple.They charge 10/-.
They also provide a photo of a Saint, standing next to the Goddess idol as part of the Prasadam. I wish the picture had the Deity's image alone.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank ppai23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    165
    62
    23
    42
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Golden temple”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This temple is in a star shape where you need to walk around for approximately 5 minutes before you can reach the temple. Cameras are not allowed in the temple. There will be security guards for male & female separately to check on all the tourist before entering the temple.

There will be a few tickets at different prices available here. There are also some parking space in the temple where you need to pay for it. You will see the temple on the water surface & not on the ground like other temple. If you see the temple under the hot sun, then you will be able to see the shining of the gold.

Outside this temple, there will be some restaurant & hawkers. You may buy any souvenir or any praying materials here.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank muthu p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanchipuram, India
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Golden Glow”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Temple covers nearly 10km around.... We have to walk or round to worship the God located at center of the area made of Gold. The car parking at the time of festivals was too tough. We are not supposed to take our cameras(no snaps too) or any other belongings inside and they had a counter to keep that all, if we pay amount.To enter into the temple, there are so many queues which includes FREE,Rs.250,Rs.1000 tickets. Its enough to go in FREE dharshan as nothing is more special in others except our of walking distance will be reduced. God was situated at the center of the Golden temple... Its too good to see the temple at the evening time specially at the sunset time. It was surrounded by water and there is a belief that if coins are thrown in the water we get all the wealth but my advice is too kindly don't do that.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Sangeetha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Changzhou, China
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Pray the Gods and pass the hat”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

There is nothing about religion or worship here. It is totally about the money. The grounds and building are very nice. The temple itself is gaudy with very tacky chandaliers everywhere. It is totally appropriate that it is built to Lakshmi because this Phoney guru and his minions are all about collecting the money at every turn.

Guards everywhere with high handed intollerant rules. Rigid ques to maximize throughput and an IKEA style pathway through a pile of trite fortune cookie quotes from the cult like leader of this fictional temple.

I was disgusted by the blatant greed and fraud,The devout Hindus that I was with were really mad about the perversion of their faith.

There is a very nice REAL Shiva temple outside the Vellore fort. Stop there to get the feel of a real temple and clense your soul after the Golden ripoff.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
12 Thank CJinAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Looting in the name of GOD !!!!!!”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I read all the previous reviews about how pathetic the temple administration is but still decided to go as my aunt was very eager to see it. To start it we could not park our car any where near the temple even if the space was available as they had put barricades so that we have to pay Rs 50 and park in the temple premises only. Even when there were no people they still make you walk additional 1 kms if you are not paying Rs 250 for the entrance which is veru unethical and a rip off. Please Please dont not pay Rs 250 and take the short route as its not worth it. Unless if you can not walk for additional 1 Kms. Even if you pay Rs 250 you have to walk 2 kms anyways.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank Sharathk156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sripuram Golden Temple also viewed

Vellore, Vellore District
Vellore, Vellore District
 
Vellore, Vellore District
 

Been to Sripuram Golden Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing