We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tried hard”
Review of Nimaj Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nimaj Palace
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pali
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tried hard”
Reviewed April 24, 2012 via mobile

Food was fine, room clean, staff attentive yet I was not comfortable here. I was double charged for 2 beers and felt the whole place had an aura of sadness. Needs a large amount of capital invested to encourage more visitors

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank A T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    36
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
8
36
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

The hotel is a family home and was converted circa 8 years ago - some of the family still live there. It was more like staying in a friend's home. They provided us with an excellent New Year's eve celebration.

Room Tip: We stayed in end of December and the room was cold even though they supplied a very small electric f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valena18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

This was certainly different from the large anonymous hotels we stayed in. Bedroom and bathroom were huge. The pool looked nice but was constantly full of pigeons which was rather off putting. Staff were helpful and attentive but the place was very quiet and there seemed to be too many staff constantly hovering over us. Food was good, except for the toast, and prices very reasonable. A lot more investment will be needed to bring the whole place up to 21st century standards, but nonetheless it was fun.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pandaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

I loved Nimaj Palace. I visited India with Voyages Jules Verne as part of the 'Golden Triangle' tour, and was very pleased to stay in a hotel with such character out in the country after spending time in large cities. To get to this heritage hotel, we walked through the narrow streets of a Rajasthani village amidst the hustle and bustle of life in rural India, and were warmly welcomed by the locals. The hotel itself was attractive, with spacious and comfortable rooms. On the first evening, we ate supper indoors in the dining room, and on the second evening on a rooftop terrace where we were entertained with traditional music and dancing. The food on both occasions was a tasty buffet, and we found that many of the dishes weren't as spicy as those we encountered in other venues. We were informed by our guide that this fare was far more similar to the home cooked meals enjoyed by local families. In the mornings, we were serenaded by a flute player, and enjoyed a satisfying breakfast. The pool looked very inviting but I slept so well that I couldn't rouse myself in time to take an early morning dip! From Nimaj, we visited Pushkar and Jodhpur, and have memories to treasure of this very vibrant region. The photos I took during my stay at Nimaj Palace are my favourite ones of the whole trip (not least the departure by bullock cart!) and VJV are to be congratulated on their choice of accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gwynfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

My wife and I recently stayed at the Nimaj Palace and it was a great experience. The room was very large, the small village was great to walk through (the children were very excited to have their picture taken and see their images on the camera..btw they didn't ask for money either!) When we arrived we were the only guests and they served us dinner (a fixed menu) and brought out dish after wonderful dish) We didn't know how much it was going to cost and we didn't ask. There were 14 dishes in all, the cost was about 1200 rupees (about $25.high by India standards but the food was great and well worth the price. We would definitely recommend staying here rather than Pushkar if you are on your way from Jaipur to Jodhpur. Also, not many places where you can talk to a real live Rani who lives there!

Room Tip: You have to turn on heater for hot water in shower something we were not told.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edtrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2011

This hotel would probably struggle to get even a 3 star rating by Western standards given the rooms do not have phones or TV’s, ours had only one power socket and there were a small number of cockroaches although not enough to cause any concern. What it lacks in facilities it more than makes up for in the beauty of the building and the location however, assuming that is that you would like to stay in the middle of nowhere in Rajasthan in order to fully explore rural life. The building is very attractive with plenty of hidden corners, arches to let the light in, and places to explore. A lovely rooftop where we had dinner for 2 nights and a generous pool with seating around it offered plenty scope for resting. Each morning around 7am a white robed elderly man played the flute as a gentle wake up call, worlds away from listening to the BBC news whilst commuting into work! The local village people are curious and friendly. Be aware though there is nowhere else to eat apart from the hotel but that doesn’t offer any problems as the food and general hygiene was quite acceptable.

In short a magical property and by far the best of the four we stayed in on our 10 day tour.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grapefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2011

Never go to this hotel!!!! First the standing at the entrance was written "Luxury resort", ehehe
If you think really deeply you can understand at the beginning that this Hotel isn't a luxury resort -. At the hotel we checked-in and went to the room 2 single beds and we went there for our honymoon.. chek the mistake..the bathroom was dirty and the room was a smoking room the bed was dirty because it's the first think that we check on the hotels if the bed is clean or not, any way we asked to have a new room but the new room was like the fisrt but with a king size bed. There was apparently some problem with the smells and the showers were dirty too. We ask to our local travel agent to change the hotel, at this was a good Idea because we get a much better hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juan_drz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nimaj Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nimaj Palace

Property: Nimaj Palace
Address: Village Nimaj, Tehsil Jaitaran, Pali 303006, India
Location: India > Madhya Pradesh > Umaria District > Pali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Nimaj Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nimaj Palace Hotel Pali
Nimaj Palace Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing