We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exclusive resort in the Nagerhole National Park”
Review of Kabini River Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nagarhole National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kabini River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2011

The Kabine River Lodge is located in the middle of nowhere and the unpaived road to it is not very inviting. But once behind the gate, you will find a very large and beautiful resort in a enormous well maintained private garden. Entering the Maharadja Room, it almost feels like stepping back in time to the grandeur of kolonial India. Old, beautiful antique furniture combines with western style amenities makes it tastefull and comfortable. Of course: this comes with a price! We payed 240 Euros at night for 2 persons (foreigners paying much more then Indian people), but for this we got 3 very good meals 2 safari's daily. Our butler made sure that we had our coffee and tea in the morning before the jeep picked us up and our rooms were spotless clean after we arrived from our safari. During the safari's we saw lots of wildlife and birds, our naturalist was very knowledgeable and spoke very good english. Ofcourse wildlife doesn't performe on command but we were extremely lucky and saw lots of it. Although we did not see any Tigers we were fortunate enough to see Leopards almost every safari. Downside: Lots of jeeps from different resorts were driving around in the park and once one had spotted a Leopard, all the other jeeps and safaribusses arrived on the scene within a few minutes, making it a complete circus. But let's be honest: we also profited from this system! We have read a review from somebody who visited K Gudi Wilderness Camp and complaint that he hardly saw any wildlife. We visited this same place some weeks before him and saw lots of animals including wild dogs and leopard. Again: nature cannot be directed but you could try to leave your cellphone at home and be quiet during the safari! We noticed that some people simply do not know how to shut up! Kabini River Resort is very big with a large number of guests, therefore it lacks the serenity and tranquility compared to, for example, K Gudi Wilderness Camp. Having said this, Kabini has all the luxury and facilities you need for a perfect holiday and you have the oppurtunity to meet a lot of people from all over the world. The manager, Kunal, was very helpfull, friendly and pleasant and made sure our stay was excellent. Tip: Kunal Sharma also wrote a beautiful book about the Jungle Lodges & Resorts and the surrounding National Parks, called: Wild Vistas. You can buy the book at the resorts you visit of Jungle Lodges & Resorts. At Kabini you can get him to sign it (sorry for the extra work Kunal!) ;-)

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dutchkenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,032)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

961 - 967 of 1,032 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2011

We stayed at the river lodge based on the reviews at trip advisor and were very dissappointed. We faced very many problems while we were here. To start with, the rooms were drafty and had some wierd black stuff falling from the ceiling. On our second day we were told to abruptly change our room as this was pre booked to some large group. On the assurance that we will be upgraded to a cottage, we shifted our stuff. But the cottage wasnt ready. And the staff made us wait for nearly an hour in the sun before giving us our cottage. It was not that there were not enough staff to clean, it was just that they were proceeding to clean the rooms in a particular order and refused to clean our cottage first. Pls note that there is no tv in the room,no pool or any other sort of entertainment like tt etc. During our safari, we had a misfortune of travelling with some kids of senior officials in the forest service. Hence, the staff travelling with us on the safari were only interested in pandering to these kids. We supposedly spotted a leopard, but the staff inspite of me repeatedly requesting for the binoculars, never gave it me as they were too busy ensuring that the kids spotted the leopard.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Cauvery1383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2011

After the craziness of the cities, a few days spent by the peaceful Kabini Lake, venturing out to look at the wildlife, was blissful. Saw lots on the morning and evening safaris, including a leopard, and then spent the middle of the day sitting on my balcony enjoying the lake.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pwcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

JLR Kabini was on my travel cards for a long time, but could never go due to availability issues. Finally I could make it this time for 1 night though it was without my family. We were a group of 3 guys all wildlife enthusiasts (other 2 are regulars there).
After the visit I am looking for the next opportunity to visit the place with my family and will say it’s a must visit for anyone who loves forest and wildlife. Enough is being shared in other reviews about the accommodation and other facilities at JLR, my additions are

Highlights of the place are
- Forest around Kabani in summer is teeming with wildlife. We could spot the elusive Leopard, Dhole (Indian Wild dog), numerous elephants, gaurs, Spotted Deer, Sambar, Mongoose, Languor, Wild boar, many varieties of birds etc etc
- Very knowledgeable naturalists and drivers for the Safari and they are keen to make the best spotting available for the guests. Everything is coordinated and managed very professionally
- Location on the banks on Kabani reservoir with a big campus
- Neat and spacious rooms
- Simple but very tasty food, well stocked bar in a colonial bungalow

Lowlights – Can’t really call them as lowlights
- Approach road is in a bad shape, but can’t blame the resort for that.
- No activities for kids and the smaller ones may find it boring. Keep in mind that it’s for wildlife you are here and not for general entertainment you get in a resort.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BobbyBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

A very nice and warm place, its a best place just to rejunvate, no TV no other activity only jungle safaries from 6:00 am in the morning to 9:00 and again after 4:00 to 7:00. nice view, nice cottages and very nice food, we almost liked everything . The best were the safaries and the jungle rides also the boat rides and coracle rides, also the best place is the hugeeeee hamock in the resort.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jinushah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2011

We got to Kabini Jungle Lodges on Friday and were pleasantly surprised with the resort layout. The rooms, tents and cottages are all spread across the property so that guests feel that they have space and are not walking over each others toes. There are giant hammocks, single hammocks, swings around the resort which can be enjoyed by both adults and kids. The resort is a 15-20 min drive from the forest entrance.

The check-in process was quick which included a briefing on the stay schedule. Since we did last minute booking we could only manage a standard room which was spacious (for 3 of us). The room was furnished tastefully with basic double bed, one single bed, luggage racks, chairs and a fire place. The bathroom was clean and big too. Hot water was available as and when required by using the electric heating unit.

The package includes food. The food was very average with a variety of North and South Indian dishes. At times I found few dishes to be very salty. I really enjoyed the way they heat the food - using coal. It was the first time I came across such a set-up. The property has a bar which is reasonable priced.

The service provided by all staff is fantastic. They ensure you have a very comfortable stay. They try their best to accommodate everyone's request.

The safari vehicles are in good condition. Having been to many forest reserves in India, I find the quality of naturalist here not up to the standard. Our naturalist (we took 4 game drives) didn't really do his job of educating the visitors about the do's and don'ts. He did not really "spot" any animals/birds nor did he tell us more about the animals we saw. He would only answer questions when asked! We had people using flash while photographing wildlife, kid getting off the vehicle while watching wild dogs etc. The attitude of our naturalist was a major disappointment. We only hope the other naturalists at the resort are more professional.

Overall a great place to stay in provided you get the right naturalist.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Good_Tiding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2011

We spent the weekend in Kabini for New Year with my kids and my parents. We have done a number of safaris in India and Kabini is definitely the best. I confess to being hugely jealous of my parents who went on a separate safari to us one evening and saw both a leopard and a tiger, but our own jeep and boat safari's were great, the accommodation was very good for a jungle resort, the food was also fine. The location is just wonderful and a really good way to recharge from the city life in Bangalore.

We will go back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SeagullSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nagarhole National Park
0.9 mi away
Evolve Back, Kabini
Evolve Back, Kabini
#1 of 1 in Beeramballi
1,345 reviews
17.3 mi away
The Serai Kabini
The Serai Kabini
#1 of 1 in Nagarhole National Park
396 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waterwoods Kabini
Waterwoods Kabini
#1 of 6 in Nagarhole National Park
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Red Earth, Kabini
Red Earth, Kabini
#3 of 6 in Nagarhole National Park
744 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Peepal Tree Kabini
The Peepal Tree Kabini
#6 of 6 in Nagarhole National Park
124 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kaav Safari Lodge - Kabini
Kaav Safari Lodge - Kabini
#2 of 6 in Nagarhole National Park
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kabini River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kabini River Lodge

Address: Nissana Beltur Post, HD Kote Taluk, | Karapura, Nagarhole National Park 571114, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Kodagu (Coorg) > Nagarhole National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Nagarhole National Park
Price Range: $63 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
Kabini River Hotel Nagarhole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing