We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unprofessional”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Orange County Resorts Kabini
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unprofessional”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

I haven't still stayed at the resort yet , but was in communication with the reservation department for a stay next month. I though this review will be very useful for prospective customers.
The attitude of the reservation department is pathetic. The rooms were very much available online and I immediately mailed them regarding my requirements , and I was given the package rates and when I went ahead with the confirmation which was immediate , they revert back telling me that they are already sold out and during the conversation I had later with Ayesha , she tells me that were sold out right from the beginning ... then what was the need for the communications after that.
And the manager returns back with the apology. And a lot of lies were involved in the process. Quite pathetic ... Seems from the other reviews that the resort is good , but the back end sucks baldly !!!
Too unprofessional for a resort of its nature

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Praveen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrangeCountyResorts, General Manager at Orange County Resorts Kabini, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Sir,

We understand that you have not stayed at the resort. However, we have thoroughly investigated the process of your booking. Our resort is one that has very high occupancy levels. From the time you saw your required rooms online, to the time you finally chose to confirm, it seems to have taken more than 60 hours. Our quotes sent to you were always ‘tentative’, and with a clause that rooms are “Subject to availability” at the time of final purchase. This is only because our rooms are available for purchase through multiple channels worldwide, and sometimes availability can change in a minute’s time, and we have no control over this process.

This seems to be an incident where the 3 rooms for the 3 days you wanted were available when you checked our online booking engine, but by the time you decided to make payment, one of these rooms for one night became unavailable. This is because another customer had made the payment and bought that room night which was unfortunately no longer available in our reservation system. Like most other hotel and airline booking engines, our booking system confirms the room to the customer who makes the payment first.

We apologize for any wrong communication that could have happened from our end during the booking process, and sympathize with your feeling of being unable to get a reservation. But this is surely not a flaw on the part of our reservation system or the resort.

Warm Regards,

General Manager - Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,143
    126
    22
    3
    3
See reviews for
590
484
11
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

The resort offers very personalized service to all the guest 1) First thing, they called me on my way to the resort to confirm if I we were on schedule 2) as soon as we reached the resort, they assigned one person to take care of us during our entire stay 3) they even made good arrangements for driver's stay including lodging and food

Overall, the staff is always ready to help you with the best of their abilities. Sometimes, they go out of their way to make your stay better. My husband got ill for a day and we couldn't go for dinner to the restaurant. However, they checked with us why didn't come and sent dinner to our cottage without any extra cost to us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

We spent 3nts here ,resort is wonderful with cottage having large living room and bedroom,
bathroom is modern with all enmities. Food is grate with almost any time dining concept,
and what to tell about the hospitality, its just awesome. i had stayed in lot of higher end resorts but this would be the finest in Hospitality. Jacuzzi in cottage was gr 8.real beauty is that they understand your need very quickly and tries more then 100 % to fulfill the expectation.
only negative point (though not in resort) is last 20 km road which takes the quit bit of toll out of you.
if you compare to this resort with coorg resort this resort in small but with all the enmities equal.
But all in all gr8 resorst gr8 people
keep up the good work!!!!

Room Tip: any room is gr8
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pujarahospital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
351 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

This is a wonderful resort, with lovely small cabins, each with a private jacuzzi, on the Kabini river next to the Nagerhole National Park. The best rooms overlook the pool and water, as the ones overlooking the river are too far away to see many animals or birds. The food is wonderful and the staff welcoming and pleasant. Everything is neat and clean. The other residents were Indian, not foreigners, as this is a poplar destination among nature lovers, who want to get away for a break. We took nature boats rides, jeep rides and walks to see birds, deer, elephant, boar, mongoose and monkeys. Its a long harrowing ride from Calicut, so we recommend the long (5-6 hour) ride from Bangalore on better roads.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gitta45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

We just spent a magical 2 nights/3 days at Orange County, Kabini. The experience was just fantastic. We were travelling with 2 little children (aged 3 & 5.5), and, the staff went out of their way to make the kids comfortable....my older daughter was crying to come back!!!
The Jacuzzi suite we stayed in was large & very clean. The housekeeping staff were prompt & quick to respond to our needs.
The buffet restaurant was excellent; we had a great spread for the adults & the staff made special meals for the kids. The restaurant staff was very attentive to us, and, were quick to refill food/clean plates etc.
The front desk staff were also awesome; they used to whisk the kids around the resort (Thanks Shruthi!), so, my wife & I could enjoy some quiet time.
There are many activities at the resort that are very well organized & fun. The resort staff did a great job with helping us with the safaris.
Overall: a great experience; I will recommend this to all families. I want to specially mention the following staff: Shruthi (reception), Naveen & Vinaya (Restaurant), Gholak (Housekeeping), Shanmugam (Naturalist).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srinven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

My husband and I went there last weekend (7-9 of December, 2013 - pool hut) to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. And, we had really high expectations, especially after reading all the good reviews about this place. Not only were they met but we were delighted at every step.
Be it our interaction with resident elephant named Meenakshi or late night dinner arranged by our hostess Ms. Ankita alongside the infinity pool (with personal chef and attendant) or the team's surprise gift in the form of chocolate fudge cake and platter of assorted handmade chocolates/marshmallows. Everything was simply superb. Many thanks to Ms. Ankita for making out stay comfortable and enjoyable. Hospitality team is really good, they arranged our bed with rose petals and origami swans made out of towels. Very pretty! As for food, we really liked the local cuisine and fresh sugarcane juice provided. We took tour of the village and boat safari; with our Guides Mr. Puran and Mr. Venkat; both were quite knowledgeable about their work and kept the audience engaged. Sunset on the way back while on boat safari was very beautiful experience indeed. Another thing we liked about this resort was they were practicing good habits in order to preserve the delicate balance of the eco-system.
As for the location itself; it was like being in a Bambi Land. Kabini is magical to say the least. We are already planning our next visit during summer, when we are told hundreds of elephants come there in search of water.
Thanks again to the entire Orange County Team and All the Best!

Room Tip: Pool hut no. 211; nice view of river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RajmaChawal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajkot, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

Entire experience had been world class. Peaceful location along with superb rooms, mouth watering food (especially deserts) followed by best in class hospitality is combination of place called Orange County.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank RMKPatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nagarhole National Park
18.1 mi away
The Serai Kabini
The Serai Kabini
#2 of 2 in Nagarhole National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
15.7 mi away
Wayanad Blooms
Wayanad Blooms
#1 of 2 in Kenichira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
15.7 mi away
Hiliya Resort
Hiliya Resort
#2 of 2 in Kenichira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Waterwoods Kabini
Waterwoods Kabini
#1 of 6 in Nagarhole National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
4.5 mi away
Red Earth, Kabini
Red Earth, Kabini
#3 of 6 in Nagarhole National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kaav Safari Lodge - Kabini
Kaav Safari Lodge - Kabini
#2 of 6 in Nagarhole National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orange County Resorts Kabini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange County Resorts Kabini

Property: Orange County Resorts Kabini
Address: Bheeramballi Village and Post | HD Kote Taluk, Mysore District, Nagarhole National Park 571116, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Karnataka > Nagarhole National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nagarhole National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Orange County Resorts Kabini 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orange County’s 'Spirit of the Land' philosophy finds its most intimate expression at Kabini. While you are cradled in the lap of luxury, the resort gives you a wildlife experience like no other, and enjoins you to be part of the vibrant social tapestry of the local Kadu Kuruba tribe. Steeped in local culture, and inspired in design by the Hadis (tribal villages), this picturesque resort is bordered on two sides by Kabini River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Orange County Resorts Kabini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orange County, Kabini Hotel Nagarhole
Orange County Kabini Mysore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing