We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Orange County @ Kabini - truly memorable experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Orange County Resorts Kabini
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Orange County @ Kabini - truly memorable experience”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This was the best resort I had ever been to. We had a fantastic family outing on the weekend of Sankranthi festival; stayed here for 2 nights. Everything was smooth right from booking till we checked out. We started on an early Saturday morning from Bangalore and zoomed on my Hyundai Verna, took about 4 1/2 hours to reach Orange County. The roads are pathetic for the last 7 - 8 KM or so, however, all that becomes history the moment you step into Orange County which is a different world altogether. There was a warm welcome with a traditional music and "thilak" (vermilion) followed by a welcome drink. The staff were very pleasant indeed. We checked into a Jacuzzi Hut, excellent interiors with the local tribal touch. My kids had a time of their life and the younger one (just 1 1/2 years old) just refused to come out of the Jacuzzi. We didn't go for the Safari since I had taken my wife to the Safari (thru Jungle Lodges @ Kabini) earlier. However, I highly recommend both boat Safari and vehicle Safari to all the visitors. The kids enjoyed giving bath to the elephant; my elder kid sat on the back of the elephant and the elephant gave her a nice bath! There are lot of recreations one could indulge with, or just sit and relax and enjoy the calm and beautiful surroundings. The food deserves a special accolade, an enormous variety of buffet spread over breakfast/lunch/dinner. The infinity pool gives you a feeling as if you are swimming in a river! Enjoy the tribal dance arranged by the resort on alternate nights.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ecjog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,143
    126
    22
    3
    3
See reviews for
590
484
11
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Nowhere is better than this resort!! WE highly recommend this place!!
Booking: absolutely perfect! I had a delicious woman and a manger on the phone so often because I wanted to be sure of everything...each of them very patiently answered my questions, even on Sundays, they are really very helpful and professional people!
Arrival: we were greeted by music , the lobby floor in decorated with flowers, and you are welcome with a surprising and delicious drink when being presented the actvities: safari, boat safari, elephant ride (topnotch! I recommend! this huge animal is so kind and peaceful!!)...Don't hesitate to book in advance anyway to be sure to have the chosen activity on the chosen hour.
The view from there is so relaxing and so beautiful...you could stay here your whole life!!
Room: we were in a pool hut: don't hesitate, they are wonderful! private pool with jacuzzi, surrounded with plants and in a typical architecture, like a hut within a village...but inside the comfort and decoration is very good, a huge bathroom (shoxer + bath), lots of toiletries (mmmmh, the delicious mango shampoo, made of natural products only); the room is big with a river view (ask for it!), the living room is finely decorated; you are offered a coffee from Coorg, absolutely dlicious, some chocolates, home made cakes, tropical fruit in a fine disposal, and a special place offering light from the roof: everything is perfect!! from the little terrace you can relax admiring the river, natives going with their cattle (far enough just to be admired).
Food: every night you may attend a kind of show, with dances from India, and a meal: each night has a different theme, with decorations, dances,special welcome and the "red point" on your face, typical from India... the food is absolutely delicious, and above all, you are advised by the chefs themselves, who ask you what you like/dislike (personnally I don't like too spicy food and I was advised very carefully so that everything was delicious!); moreover the buffet system allow you -and children- to move and choose and try what you want of course! pitifully you can't taste everything: there are too many courses! of course everything is beautifully decorated, so nice to see!
Activities: safaris are not managed by the resort, and therefore, though the guide from the resort is wonderful (he knows every leaf, every animal, he is passionated, I think his name was "Vicky", sorry I don't remember..), the whole tour may be disappointing if you can't see the Indian tiger or elephants you've dreamt of...+ elephant interaction is great, I had a bath with her and a splash - I let you discover it!!a memorable souvenir, one of my best!!- + boat safaris are good, according to the other guests + guided walks +...you can do all the activities you want according to the schedule!
Library: there is a wonderful place in this resort,: a sort of bar/library, from which you can admire sunsets, quietly having a drink and doing nothing else than enjoying...
And above all, EVERYBODY IS ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL: helpful, discrete,proficient...Indian people are very kind, but here in Orange County there is a special spirit, inherited from the former creator of the resort and transmitted from generation to generation (it is a family business): in the same time they try to do the best for you, and they do their best to heal the earth, help tribes and villages around (the offered pens are made by disabled people), recycle water with special plants...
If you go to India, try it, you will come back in a cool mood! You can ask anything: if they have it, they will very kindly and respectfully give; if they don't, they will do it for you; if you just dream it, they will create it!!
Don't hesitate, we've traveled a lot, in a lot of countries, this is a real treat!!

Room Tip: Pool hut are great, ask for a river view, the best are the one with a river view AND the sunset view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mipougne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

After a long journey by road from Bangalore airport (takes 5-6 hours to reach the resort), we finally came to our destination. The journey looked all its worth the moment we stepped inside the resort. The staff were so pleasant and friendly. They immediately started playing with my 2 year old child. We reached evening time and had tea and snacks. We had taken a Jacuzzi hut for 3 days which was very nice. The coffee counter had all the necessary items and the fridge had cold drinks which one can consume at no extra charge. My child had a lot of fun with the resort elephant Minakshi. I remembered my childhood days when I personally fed her the bananas. We took a bullock cart ride and experienced the village like transportation; took a coracle ride on the lake (round shaped boat). My wife and I booked a massage in the spa. This was nothing exceptionally good but we got a taste of the ayurvedic spa of the south. The food is brilliant with all kind of varieties from indian and continental choices. They even prepared khichdi (porridge) for my child. All food was inclusive with no extra charges. Being in the swimming pool overlooking the lake, was very nice. Just did the boat safari since child was not allowed. It was a very nice experience overall.

Room Tip: We stayed in jacuzzi hut and the water was really cold. They also have pool huts which is bigger and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sagar25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Visited Kabini in Southern India - the all inclusive resort is an amazing place to b e- great service-awesome food - all UNITS (HUTS) as rhey are called- all come with all the modern amenities & your own outdoor Jacuzzi& some units include personal swimmig pool - there is an outdoor Infinity pool - swimming in there is a swimmers paradise - they have vey knowlwdgeable staff taking you on Nature walks - River safari & other nature activiities - resort is very eco friendly and takes extreme measures to be GREEN -SUnset at the reading lounge is he highlight if this plae where the sunset keeps you mesmerized & UNdoubtedly the entire atmosphere turns orange with setting rays of sun- must visit -highlynhighly recommended...

Room Tip: all huts facing the river with swimming pool & jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smita p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

One of the many things I have learned about India is that the time to travel any particular distance takes three or four times longer than at home (Canada). The long and bumpy road into Orange County is fraught with speed bumps, large potholes, narrow roadways and the usual array of cows and goats. But it's well worth it. Upon arrival we were provided with a wonderful welcome of fresh squeezed juice, face towels, flowered wreaths and a dub on the forehead. We had a small villa with a plunge pool overlooking the river. The air conditioning was nice and quiet and the plunge pool was "refreshing" and private.

As we were there over Christmas, there were nightly performances by local dancers and there was a nice party atmosphere. We did both a bus and boat safari and Arjun was our enthusiastic naturalist. Although we did not see a Tiger, we saw elephants, crocodiles, birds of prey and other interesting animals.

The kitchen offered a wide assortment of well prepared food and the breakfast dosas were delicious. The staff were attentive but somewhat overly so. My only criticism is that sometimes they need to leave some space. How do you like that? I am being critical that the service is too good. Love this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DansLeZone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Had the most magical trip! This truly is heaven on earth for nature lovers. Orange county is nestled between two national parks and away from the hustle n bustle of city life. Its sootheing effect...be it the breezy solitude of the reading lounge or the enchanting safari into the forest...or just relaxing in the day in your very own jacuzzi(in a jacuzzi hut)....this trip took all the stress out of my hectic city life. The food, the service of the staff are all highly commendable and one has to come here n really experience it. The knowledgeable naturalists, who accompanied us on the safaris and helped us take a glimpse of the majestic wildlife, were an icing on the cake. Truly, if there is a heaven, then it surely is here in Orange county, kabini.

Room Tip: we stayed in JH 203 and was a wonderful jacuzzi hut!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RishiB635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Very nice and well kept resort with freindly and helpfull staff. Jacuzi huts aver very spacious und highly recommended! The reading lounge is a perfect place for peaceful hours with a view!
Safari by car was not worth the effort, not a lot to see but deer an monkeys. The boat safari was very good though, saw a lot of wildlife there.

Room Tip: Jacuzi huts are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RB_LB71638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nagarhole National Park
18.1 mi away
The Serai Kabini
The Serai Kabini
#2 of 2 in Nagarhole National Park
364 reviews
15.7 mi away
Wayanad Blooms
Wayanad Blooms
#1 of 2 in Kenichira
404 reviews
15.7 mi away
Hiliya Resort
Hiliya Resort
#2 of 2 in Kenichira
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Waterwoods Kabini
Waterwoods Kabini
#1 of 6 in Nagarhole National Park
445 reviews
4.5 mi away
Red Earth, Kabini
Red Earth, Kabini
#3 of 6 in Nagarhole National Park
665 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kaav Safari Lodge - Kabini
Kaav Safari Lodge - Kabini
#2 of 6 in Nagarhole National Park
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orange County Resorts Kabini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange County Resorts Kabini

Property: Orange County Resorts Kabini
Address: Bheeramballi Village and Post | HD Kote Taluk, Mysore District, Nagarhole National Park 571116, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Karnataka > Nagarhole National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nagarhole National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Orange County Resorts Kabini 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orange County’s 'Spirit of the Land' philosophy finds its most intimate expression at Kabini. While you are cradled in the lap of luxury, the resort gives you a wildlife experience like no other, and enjoins you to be part of the vibrant social tapestry of the local Kadu Kuruba tribe. Steeped in local culture, and inspired in design by the Hadis (tribal villages), this picturesque resort is bordered on two sides by Kabini River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Jetsetter so you can book your Orange County Resorts Kabini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orange County, Kabini Hotel Nagarhole
Orange County Kabini Mysore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing