We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“heaven on the beach”
Review of Shantaa Koh Kood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shantaa Koh Kood
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Ko Kut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This hotel is small in number of rooms but large on space - the grounds swept down to the beach where we happily snorkelled and sunbathed. The beach restaurant was superb and the food extremely good. The main restaurant provided full meals and snacks which were to die for as well as the nicest coconut ice cream cocktail I have ever tasted. Our room was wonderful and the quirky outside bathroom a real treat - the planting there with orchids and other tropical flowers was truly magical and the huge bath provided some fun! We walked to the nearby village which was about all there is to do there and that was a great experience - everyone we met was so pleasant. If you want a truly magical hotel on the beach where you can chill out and forget there is a world then this is it - would I go back - in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: They are all so beautifully appointed and have the beach as a view I would be happy in any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janCrete_Greece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (405)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

140 - 146 of 405 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed at Shantaa for our honey moon a couple of years ago. We were just remembering the unforgettable time we had and realised we had not left a review!!
The staff at the hotel could not do enough for you. We wanted to hire a scooter to explore the island and one of the staff threw me her keys, two helmets and 2 towels and directed us to one of the many amazing waterfalls on the island. The rooms are out of this world, ours had an outside shower! Sat on the porch watching the sunset and the waves roll in was like nothing we had ever seen before. We love Thai food and have tried all sorts but the chef at this hotel must have been sent from food heaven as every dish we tried was first class. It gave us confidence in trying some of the more unusual dishes on the menu which didn't disappoint either. The beaches and the island are spectacular and well worth exploring. All in all a place not to be missed if you get the chance, you will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

this place seemed even better than a year ago but maybe we just noticed their amazing attention to detail more
weather was fantastic and tide meant that we could swim in the small rocky pool almost all day
big beach next door was almost deserted for the whole time (6 days)
food is fantastic and they even remembered that we drunk Thai brandy and had it waiting for us
please please please visit this unique resort ( just not when we are trying to book)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kennytaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Shantaa is great, don't hesitate to book in. Koh Kood is a sleepy island, there is nothing at all to do, so make sure this is what you are looking for and then Shantaa won't disappoint. The first few minutes are a bit unsettling. Everyone is very serene, we were thinking it was going to be more like a yoga entreat, but then we got settled into the slow pace of life, rented scooters and literally pottered around for a week. We checked out all the other resorts and were happy with our choice - well, soneva turned us away at the gate but that's probably because brangelina might have been in residence, or rod Stewart or someone equally famous.. Anyway, the Shantaa team are wonderful, the food is superb, yes the beach at the resort itself is tiny and facing the pier but Koh Kood is an island full of empty beaches. For those who absolutely want to tumble from hut to sea, then maybe find an alternative, but the stunning views and fantastic rooms and bathrooms of Shantaa more than make up for having to walk 100m to the huge long beach. Long live Shantaa, and hopefully Koh Kood won't go the same way as Koh Chang....

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank barneyDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

So very grateful to Tripadvisor and all of the reviewers for steering us towards our decision to stay at Shantaa. What a special place!
The resort manager, Fon, and her team were so very attentive, friendly and courteous. The Shantaa website states that the staff are not professionals, but they sure do a wonderful job making the guests feel at home. Keep up the "unprofessional" job!
The suite was absolutely spotless and comfortable, and the outdoor garden bathroom was amazing. I wasn't sure how I would take to an outdoor bathroom. Our suite bathroom was so private, spacious and beautifully designed. It was an exhilarating experience just to have a shower!
And then there was the food... oh my! Shantaa has an extensive menu at extremely affordable prices and the food was scrumptious! Mealtime was a highlight of our trip.
Another nice thing about Shantaa was that no one rushes you. It is such an intimate resort that if you want to linger over dinner, it's not a problem. There is no stress here.
It does take some doing to get to Shantaa, but it was worth every mile. We do hope to do it again, someday!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

After taking the night bus from Bangkok to Trat, being jipped by a song theow driver and being abandoned at the laem sok pier at 4am, and then being told that we may not be able to take the 9 am speedboat to Koh Kood, we actually began to question whether we'd made the right decision to go to such a far away island. Shantaa had better be worth it.

Post sunrise and with the satisfaction of knowing that we were going to be on the first boat out, things seemed to be looking up. The journey from Laem Sok to the Shantaa pier took exactly an hour and was stunning. Once you reach, the pier can be a bit of an eyesore but only just. The water was clear blue and Shantaa from the pier was beautiful. Once you're within the resort compound you're transported to a lush paradise and everything sort of feels irrelevant. We instantly fell in love with the place.

We stayed in Villa 1, the furthest away from the beach but also one of the most private. As it was the last villa on the path nobody ever walked past it. Perched almost at the edge of the hill, it had spectacular views of the rocks, ocean and the magnificent sunset. We actually enjoyed the walk to the beach through the entire property. The open plan bathroom was so charming, with an outdoor coconut shower and lush foliage. Decorated with strings of coral, it almost felt like being underwater. For the faint at heart, there is a covered shower as well, and a really good one at that. The room itself was very pretty and airy. My only gripe was that there wasn't enough space for suitcases Everything else was very well thought out. Supremely comfortable beds, a lovely balcony with lounge chairs to enjoy the view, a music system. Perfect for a beach holiday away from it all.

As stated in the other reviews, Shantaa's actual beach is small and looks right onto the pier but you only have to walk a few 100 yards and you find yourself on a long stretch of white sand and crystal blue waters. If you only have a couple of days on hand, this beach is adequate. For most of the day you'll feel like you're on your own private beach.

Food here was excellent. Fresh, flavorful with a focus on the local cuisine. The Som Tam and Thai Curries were outstanding. The beach bar was really cute and very well equipped.

Shantaa is all about the little details. A welcome drink and cold towel on arrival, informing you 5 minutes before your food arrives at the beach bar so you can ready yourself for the feast, always smiling and always helpful, the staff are amazing. Everything about it is quaint. This isn't a 5 star and isn't trying to be, but everything is so well thought out and personal, it might as well be. I'd go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. We actually preferred the Villas as they are further apart from each other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nomadazoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is my second time here in both Koh Kood and Shantaa. First time was exactly one year ago. My hubby and I often go to Phuket, koh Samui, Bali type of places when we want a relaxing vaca to chill by the pool, looking over the sea, stroll around the local area...etc. My husband decided to surprise me last year to bring me somewhere without telling me where it is, so from Bangkok we took a 7 hours transportation (combination of mini-van and speedboat) to this mystery island. I did not do well at the speedboat(it was about 1.5 hr ride), so when I arrived I was already pretty cranky. Then we got to our "sweet" and I really upset: small room, not a close sea view, no pool...(basically everything the previous reviewer has pointed out). I was so upset we immediately set out to check out other places to stay at instead. There were places like Peter Pan and tinker bell that has amazing beach but rooms not so pretty. We also saw Charm which was still developing, the rooms seems nice but at the end we decided to not to waste money and stick with Shantaa. I can't tell you when exactly this place has finally won my heart over and became a place I just want to come back to again and again. Was it the excellent quality linen and tasteful decor, the beautiful bath area, the amazingly authentic Thai cuisine (amazing breakfast also!), friendly staff (even though many are not good in English they try their best to serve), after all, maybe it's the peaceful atmosphere that I don't seem to be able to find anywhere else. It's really just a gem and I sincerely hope that both Shantaa and Koh kood can stay the way they are as long as possible.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Ssoo925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Kut hotels
0.9 mi away
Koh Kood Beach Resort
Koh Kood Beach Resort
#5 of 14 in Ko Kut
228 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cham's House
Cham's House
#8 of 14 in Ko Kut
309 reviews
2.5 mi away
Horizon Resort Koh Kood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Away Koh Kood Resort
Away Koh Kood Resort
#3 of 14 in Ko Kut
336 reviews
2.9 mi away
Soneva Kiri
Soneva Kiri
#2 of 14 in Ko Kut
503 reviews
1.8 mi away
High Season Pool Villa & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shantaa Koh Kood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shantaa Koh Kood

Address: 20/3, Moo 2, Ko Kut 23000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Kut
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Kut
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Kut
Price Range: $116 - $489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shantaa Koh Kood 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to an isolated island resort that you have dreamed of. Located on north Tapao beach of "Kohkood", the last preserved island of Trad Province. Here at "Shantaa", a small resort on Kohkood, you can truly get away from your busy life. You will wake to the gentle breezes rustling through the coconut trees, spend all day with your favorite book, hear the waves roll onto the shore, watch the beautiful sunset in the evening and then join us at the restaurant for a dinner prepared by our local chefs before having a good night sleep in our warm and beautiful accommodations. "Make your vacation memorable at Shantaa" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shantaa Koh Kood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shantaa Koh Kood Hotel Koh Kood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing