We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shantaa means peacefulness”
Review of Shantaa Koh Kood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shantaa Koh Kood
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Ko Kut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 23, 2011

We were in November for 6 days and it was an awesome experience. The Resort is perfect for relaxing, but also for people who look for more than that. The beach is small, but quiet and you have another one only 10 meters away. The staff is more than friendly and they can arrange all for you or any problem. The bungalows are beautiful and the outdoor-bathrooms with garden, lovely! The food is also very tasty and the sunsets, grandiose!
Shantaa Resort is really highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Javidelaguardia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (378)
There are newer reviews for Shantaa Koh Kood
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

187 - 193 of 378 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2011

We wanted to relax, and Shantaa proved to be perfect for it :) We had just spent a few days on Koh Chang, where it is busier.

We loved our 'Sweet' - very comfy & good-sized bed, great ceiling fan / aircon, plenty of space, lovely comfy squashy chairs on our deck and the fantastic partially outdoor bathroom. As the rooms are set slightly up the hill you get lovely views of the gardens and the sunsets.

The little private beach at Shantaa is great, but when you cross the pier (which takes a minute) you find yourself on a virtually deserted stretch of fabulous sand. We walked down the beach every day at about 3.30pm and went swimming further down. Completely glorious. You can snorkel right off the beach and see lots of fish and other sea creatures.

At the Shantaa beach bar you can get drinks and snacks, as much drinking water as you need is complimentary, there are fresh beach towels, beach games, folded woven beach mats and masks and snorkels.

We stayed for 6 nights and did not even venture into the village - we swam, we read the books we had been looking forward to, we played Scrabble (they have board games up at the restaurant) and ate some great food.

Would we return? Absolutely. Shantaa is perfect for re-charging & relaxing. We loved it.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank missjensa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

we simply loved the food, the chef is magnificent! the resort is small, beatiful and has great service. the island is quite remote and under developed - if this is what you are looking for then great! :)

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonChau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Shantaa at the end of a two and a half week holiday to Singapore, Bangkok and Koh Chang. This part of the holiday was meant to be the relaxing part of the trip, it didn't disappoint. The whole resort whispers relax at you the whole time your are there. The staff do every thing they can to help you enjoy your stay to the max. The food in the restaurant was fantastic and even offered a few western dishes to help those that needed a break from Thai cuisine, and all the food is priced at a reasonable rate considering there are no close restaurants to compete with( walking distance anyway) We stayed in one of their "sweets" which was just perfect in every way, from the fantastic views whilst lying on the bed to the open air shower which was so refreshing after a hot day in the sun.
I think the only downside to our stay at the resort was the kids of other guests. Whilst I can't blame the resort for this, we did book our stay here as its sold as a get away resort for relaxing peace and quiet and the rooms seem to cater for couples rather than families. Whilst we were there, there seemed to be a constant noise of screaming kids at meal times which just killed and romantic mood there was.
All in all though a fantastic resort, highly recommend to any one thinking of going there ( just hope there won't be as many kids there for you as there were for us )

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank n0rf0lk_lad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

this is the perfect hidaway, just a small hotel run by two sisters, all the accomodation is in bungalows overlooking the sea, there are no local bars or resorts, this is 'get away from it all heaven', you need to book well in advance as they only have about 20 rooms, there is no pool but a wonderful beach which stretches for miles with very few people on it.
Food is wonderful and they will cook you whatever you want.
the island has not been developed but it will be in the future.

Room Tip: all rooms are good
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trunkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We loved our 3 days here staying in one of the Shantaa suites down by the private beach. They come with their own terraces, outdoor bathrooms and beautiful views over the sea. We had one small problem with our room on the first night and the second night we were whisked away to another suite.

Great grounds, great food and lovely welcoming staff.

My girlfriend and I got in engaged at Shantaa and the hotel manager without asking organised us a romantic dinner the next day with a complimentary bottle of wine.

Their Thai and Oil massages are also fantastic.

Room Tip: Avoid suite 5, the other 4 are great.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShanghaiDrummo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We stayed 4 nights at Shantaa resort in december 2010. The bungalows is very nice and clean and with a lovely view on the ocean. The staff on the resort is just perfect! The food on the resort is one of the best in whole Thailand! The island is beautiful with so little tourist! The beaches is one of the best in Thailand! The resort has nice beach but we also rent vespa and took a ride 10 minutes south of the island to even more beautiful beaches. A perfect place to relax, eat good food and to visit beautiful beaches with crystal clear blue water! We hope to come back one day!

To all people working at Shantaa resort:

Thank you for a lovely stay!

Peter and Anna from Sweden

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PetJun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Kut hotels
0.9 mi away
Koh Kood Beach Resort
Koh Kood Beach Resort
#3 of 14 in Ko Kut
219 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cham's House Koh Kood Resort
2.5 mi away
Horizon Resort Koh Kood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Soneva Kiri
Soneva Kiri
#2 of 14 in Ko Kut
468 reviews
1.3 mi away
Away Koh Kood
Away Koh Kood
#4 of 14 in Ko Kut
300 reviews
1.8 mi away
High Season Pool Villa & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shantaa Koh Kood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shantaa Koh Kood

Address: 20/3 Moo 2 | Tambon Kohkood , Amphur Kohkood, Trad, Ko Kut 23000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Kut
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Kut
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Kut
Price Range: $100 - $466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shantaa Koh Kood 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to an isolated island resort that you have dreamed of. Located on north Tapao beach of "Kohkood", the last preserved island of Trad Province. Here at "Shantaa", a small resort on Kohkood, you can truly get away from your busy life. You will wake to the gentle breezes rustling through the coconut trees, spend all day with your favorite book, hear the waves roll onto the shore, watch the beautiful sunset in the evening and then join us at the restaurant for a dinner prepared by our local chefs before having a good night sleep in our warm and beautiful accommodations. "Make your vacation memorable at Shantaa" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shantaa Koh Kood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shantaa Koh Kood Hotel Koh Kood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing