We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Priceline
Trip.com
Official Hotel
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (433)
Filter reviews
433 results
Traveler rating
180
129
56
39
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
180
129
56
39
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews koh kood free kayaks ocean front beautiful island duplex resort beaches sea canoe bangkok motorbike maldives
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
217 - 222 of 433 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Took the whole package of half board, 2 great meals a day + transportation + free waterfalls tour + Free sail for snorkeling.
Room was at the front, facing the beach.
The staff, service, food, trips, view, rooms, facilities, etc etc...was 1st class !! Excellent !!
Don't expect to meet dancing place or fire games.... It isn't the place for that.

RECOMMENDED !!

Remarks:
1. Rope curtains swept across the windows transparent in the evening. Immediate change is required on that.
2. No information about the quality of other rooms on the site.
3. There is also a swimming pool and a spa, wasn't checked.
4. Spectacular sight sailing and rowing in canoe self.
It is not recommended to go out to the open sea to snorkeling sites in the winter. Stormy sea and not close to the resort. Maybe good at the summer.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thai Sell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

When we was looking for a place for holiday (as an alternative to Hua Hin, Cha Am, Pattaya and the southen islands), our friend recommend this place for us. We spent 3 nights here and we got what we were looking for. Despite of heavy rains (since we went during the monsoon season), everything is very nice. The weather is cool (although air-con and hot shower are not working during the day), and the place is right next to a private beach (you can go sunbathe but definitely not swimming because of the rocks) and not far from the Klongchao waterfall. For me it is just the perfect place where i can linger with my favorite book all day and can go kayaking a bit for a little exercise. Totally a getaway.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chidsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Loved our stay here, the beachfront rooms were so comfortable and had a lovely view of the ocean, but did not like that the AC or any electronics did NOT work between the hours of 8am and 6pm, so if you are the type to enjoy cool Air con for a nice morning to sleep in late, or come back all sweaty from a day out, this is not for you. The food was delicious, and staff very friendly and accommodating. Got a lot of lovely pictures. The wildlife was very cool to watch and the tropical setting was unforgettable, but bring your ant/mosquito spray. The green curry is the best I've ever eaten, and I live in Thailand, so that's saying a lot! :) Enjoy your stay!

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobynIsAllOver
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

My family of four people, two adults and two children, aged 2 and 4 years old, stayed at Away in the second week of March 2012. A very relaxing, very nice vacation. The staff make this place. While not everything is perfect (where is?), the staff really, really try hard and really, really care. That is why we would return to Away if we ever return to Koh Kood.

The hotel is ideally situated, although no swimming beach directly attached to the property. We used the free kayaks to cross the five minute gap to the long white sand beach across the water.

Once time I left the kayak too low on the beach across the way and didn't realize the tide had turned. We got so carried away at the other end of the beach and in the cafe at the other end of the beach, the tide rose above the level where the kayak was resting. When we returned the kayak was gone. Thankfully the staff had been watching and they retrieved the kayak before it was lost to sea! I literally swam back across the gap and brought the kayak back for my family to return to the hotel. That is how small the gap is between hotel and beach.

Bear in mind that all products and food must be brought in from either other islands or the mainland, so a trip to Koh Kood is not a gastronomical adventure by any means, but we did not go hungry!

The grounds are well kept, the rooms are clean and functional, the mosquitos minimal when we were there, and the sunsets memorable. Very nice place.

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JonahArnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM-BHMAsia, Public Relations Manager at Away Koh Kood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2012

Greetings from the Away Koh Kood team.

Delighted to hear the team at Away made your family holiday such a great experience. Good to hear you enjoyed the sunsets, no doubt from one of our loungers set up on the beachfront.

I will be sure to pass on your kind words in regards to our staff’s attentions and in general their actions that made your stay all the better, something crucial for any holiday at any resort.

If you do indeed decide perhaps to come back one day to Koh Kood, please do remember us.
Sincere best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Advice about how to go to Koh Kood : Taking the bus from bangkok is probably easier for going to the pier to get speed boat to Koh kood,, the bus takes about 5-6 hours..if you're booking with Siriwhite Speed Boat, they provide a transfer (im not sure if its free or cost about 60 baht)from the bus terminal to the pier, but flying to Trat Airport, only choice you have is taking a private van or private sedan which costs about 1100 Baht( with Koh Chang Minibus which u have to book it through their own website only) or 1800 Baht (with Bangkok Limousine which is a company providing transfers to various places from Trat Airport) It takes 1 hour from the airport to the Laem Sok pier where u get speed boats to Koh Kood. If you travel to Koh Chang, its much easier flying to Trat since the airport is way closer to the Koh Chang ferry pier and they also provide the share van transfer to your resort in Koh Chang, u dont even have to book it, u just pay when u arrive at Trat Airport.

All in all , the staffs are very nice and helpful even though it's probably hard for tourists since they probably dont speak english very well. It's all the same at any hotels of Centara that the staffs arent that fluent in english. even their 5 stars hotels.
I just dont like their accommodation that much since its been run down but it looks friendly with the environment. only thing i love from this place is that i could see a very nice view of the beach from my bed. I would choose to wake up early in the morning every day here in Koh Kood with the nice view and the tranquilment that I will never be able to find in Bangkok.

if you dont mind paying high price but getting low quality of accommodation, Away would be one of your good choice.. the room doesnt suit the price shown on booking website. it's been run down,especially the bathroom. i dont recommend this place for people who are "sensitive" with toilet and bathroom. since the toilet design makes the staffs hard to clean it all up so i could see hmm dirty stuff on it. the water has some kind of salty taste too, I had to use drinking water this time to brush my teeth.and since the resort have some kind of "Eco policy" , they save everything they can save. I totally understand that they try to be friendly to the environment as much as they can but im not sure if this policy goes well with hotel industry since most of people expects good room, good food, good services, and good facilities especially when staying at high star-rating hotels. I really want Away to develop their accommodation and their policy. i think they could probably be better than this.
I rent a motorbike and search for some other places for hanging out too , Tinkerbell resort and Shantaa resort is one of resorts i recommend for having a good meal , they have more food to choose on the menu and good quality of food serves (especially at Shantaa, but its just not beach front resort, u can still get panoramic view of the sea though). and Tinkerbell is probably one of the best resorts in Koh Kood with its location and environment, the white sand with clear water is just right in front of u, i didnt see the room though but i think it would worth more staying at Tinkerbell.

just check urself first what you like and what u r like before booking so that u wouldnt regret it later. it is a risk too booking an accommodation.

Room tip: ocean view room is stunning if u want to wake up and see the panoramic view of koh kood sea. but it wouldnt be that easy for old couples to walk up to the hills
Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NocturnalSom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM-Astudo, Public Relations Manager at Away Koh Kood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2012

Greetings from Away Koh Kood team

Thank you for taking the time to compose this review of your stay with us just recently. If I may just clear up and correct you on a few points as below. Firstly and most crucially we are not part of the Centara chain any more having just recently gone under a management back in September 2011. Many improvements have been made in this short space of time.

The very rustic and natural theme of Away is indeed very unique, although in your case perhaps mistaken for run down. I am sorry to hear that this may have impaired you overall enjoyment of our resort as on the whole, with your comments in regards to good service and great views, it sounds as if you very much enjoyed your stay with us. You are quite right about our 'Eco' theme, which is not only a part of the Away brand experience, but part of the many challenges brought about by being located on such a wonderful untouched Island Paradise.

Our sincere best wishes and hopes to see you here at Away again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews