We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bed for first impression”
Review of Koh Kood Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Koh Kood Resort
Ranked #15 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Ko Kut
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I'm here first, the woman who manage about booking, she forgot. She didn't to prepare the room for me. Then in the evening, I have dinner at the restaurant in the resort. I ordered four of food but, she served the plate that I'm not to order. she assure that I order. The fact, I'm not!!!! so I must to pay that the plate which not order. I want to remind you. If you have the meal at the restaurant of resort, you must to check the bill before pay every time.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank neera_plaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 287 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013

This resort has a perfect location. The bay is beautiful. The water is crystal clear and for snorkeling you just walk into the sea. Usage of snorkeling equipment, kanoes and towels for free! The bungalows are good value for money. This is one of the cheaper places to stay on the island. So do expect a high luxury resort. The bungalows have enough space. They are pretty clean and beds are comfortable. The breakfast is ok. The menu for lunch and diner does the job but there are better places to eat in the island. The staff is very helpfull. Just go there and enjoy the environment and rent a motorbike to explore the island.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My family checked in on Jul 19, 2013 but early check out on Jul 20, 2013 (Jul 19 - 21, 2013)
1. We're booked in website they've special request then I ask for a rose for my wife but nothing
2. We got room no. A1 (see view) inside the room, they don't have amenities. This is unbelievable!
3. The room is dirty, the toilet is dirty, the bed sheet is dirty (blood is on). How can we sleep?
4. No light, we're stay in the dark
5. Stair case is broken when we arrived but they fixed it when we leaving. How is service?
6. When we early checked out no one ask us what's happened. They just looking at us. Nothing!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
8  Thank Narout C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I had an amazing stay in Koh Kood at this resort, it is the cheapest one on the island but has amazing standards, I think.
Paid 700Baht for a fan bungalow (and yes, it really is the cheapest..) and was absolutely delighted. The bungalow was very basic, very clean and comfortable huge bed (seriously huge!!), a fan and a safe. The bathroom is indeed half open, but in my bungalow there was a plastic roof, so that did the work. Fairly clean, I'd say, again, by Thai standards. Really can't complain about anything.
The bungalows have a little terrace in front, either facing the garden or the beach, I had a little bit of both :)
They have a bbq every evening, with great great food, although more expensive than what you're used to in Thailand, even on the islands. But, when you're there and you put everything together, you realise it truly is worth it.
There's a nice lounge area, very comfy, maybe not after a tropical storm when all the moths and butterflies start swarming around.. We did have a wifi issue during and after the storm, but that was a really nice excuse to stop and take in the beauty and calm of the place, rather than check your emails or Facebook :)
Saved the best for last :)) The staff is amazing. Absolutely fantastic. Mostly (if not all) Cambodian, I believe it's a family place, they were so nice and kind and helpful! I had read some reviews before I went and someone was saying that they're quite annoying and obviously only after tips. Once you get there you realize that there is a lot of staff, especially round dinner time, and they're always around you and it might seem a little much. But then you see that they are genuinely just trying to make you as comfortable as possible and all they want is to make sure you're happy :) Wonderful trait, I'd say :)
It is an expensive island, and, subsequently, an expensive resort, but it is a beautiful island and a lovely place to spend some time and relax. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adynutzah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 days. The room's cleanliness is acceptable. But we don't quite like the bathroom's interior design. The resort could have had a better decoration. As we bought it as a package, 6 seafood meals were provided. They all tasted so good. We loved it. Last but not least, the service was also great. The staff was friendly and happy to serve us. With 4,900 THB (3 days 2 nights), this was above our expectation.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GhibS1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Koh Kood is a great place to include on your Koh Chang island-hop. It’s a two-hour speedboat ride from the southern Koh Chang pier at Bang Bao, so make sure you plan your route around the islands in advance. Otherwise, like us, you might make a few unnecessary trips – as pleasant as they are when the seas are relatively calm.

With a jetty of its own the Koh Chang [Nature] Resort is one of the many on the island that the fast boats can drop you at directly.

[See our holiday video here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SIVwlS261Ak]

You’ll know you are approaching the resort as you enter the narrow-mouthed, sheltered circular bay. The first pier on the left is yours, and we had a trio of staff running to meet us as we stepped ashore so that all the bags were carried to reception in double-quick time.

Arrival felt a little formal and somehow slightly awkward, but maybe that was just us. Unlike some places they did want to see a printed booking form, although there is free wi-fi, so if you are relying on an email that you haven’t saved on your smartphone it’s easy enough to access it.

The room choice is essentially one of three (or maybe four) seaview bungalows (A1 being the best) versus a decent number of garden ones, none of which seem to have much to choose between them.

We had C1 and it was airy, spacious and perfectly OK. Nothing special, a few cracks here and there, but fine for the money (probably the best value on the island in fact).

The air-con had no remote (which confused the porters) but operated from a wall control. It wasn’t the most efficient, but it did the job. It does however go off from about 6am until the early evening (although the power stays on all day and there is a good fan).

In the bathroom you get a big area with an open-roofed shower. The shower ‘cubicle’ can’t be closed though, so expect a few flying things flapping around the wash-basin if you leave the lights on.

The safe has a key rather than a code, which makes it solid and reliable. The mosquito net is big enough to cope with the size of the comfortable bed.

Outside there is a decking area. Some rooms get chairs, some don’t – ours didn’t…but it’s not likely you’d want to sit out anyway, as the ‘garden’ is a relatively dusty area shaded by tall trees.

If you decide to look inland from the resort then rent a scooter. I walked up to the nearest shop and café, and it was a half-hour round trip – with not much to show for it.

Back down at the resort, the reception area and restaurant are on a small slope above the beach. As well as the free wi-fi there are also plenty of power sockets if you need to keep your laptop charged. Down the steps there is a small bar, a grassed section merging with a decking area full of sun loungers and the ever-present massage zone.

A nice touch each evening we were there was that at around 8pm a projection screen was dropped in front of the massage booth and a ‘blockbuster’ film was screened. We got to see The Gangs pf New York and Pulp Fiction to a backdrop of lapping waves. Just remember to pull up a chair close to the speakers or the sound may get drowned out by the surf.

The beach is non-existent at high tide as the sea comes right up to the decking. At low tide the sandy crescent bay is exposed and you can walk most of the way out to the end of the pier before getting much more than waist deep

To the right of the beach the sand gives way to rocks, and if you follow these out to sea there is good snorkelling to be found. This is enhanced by the fact that the resort replenishes the natural coral by ‘seeding’ new pieces (which they were in the process of doing just as we prepared to leave).

Kayaks are plentiful and free to use and if you do fancy a change of scenery there are a couple of other resorts just down the beach. However if you are only here for a few days there is no need to go elsewhere as the food is great and I can recommend the barbecue if you want a few days free of Thai-style cuisine.

Room Tip: A1 is the best sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JohnBownas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This resort lies in a secluded bay on the far side of Koh Kood. It takes 75 minutes by direct speedboat to reach the jetty. There are two other resorts along the sandy beach. Koh Kood Resort looks a bit disappointing at first. But then the bungalows are all right. The double bed has a mosquito net. The A/C works from 6:00PM to 6:00AM only. But there is a fan. The toilets are separate from the open bathroom concept. The shower has hot water and is open to the sky, whereas the rest of the bathroom is covered up.The only place to sit is on the verandah. There are plugs in the room, a small fridge and a basic wardrobe. The bed is rather comfortable but the place would gain at being revamped a little. Food is fair and prices are quite moderate when you think in terms of transport. The staff are all Cambodians. They are extremely friendly: some speak good English or very good French too. They have put long chairs with parasols on the seaside. But these also would need to be renewed. At Koh Kood, the water is crystal-clear and the bay is really nice. You may rent a motorbike from the resort to explore the island a bit. The package includes a snorkeling trip to the Marine Park at Koh Rang (about 35 mn away by speedboat.)

Room Tip: All the bungalows look alike. Those at the front have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christmate11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Kut hotels
3.6 mi away
Koh Kood Beach Resort
Koh Kood Beach Resort
#5 of 14 in Ko Kut
222 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cham's House Koh Kood Resort
0.6 mi away
Horizon Resort Koh Kood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Away Koh Kood Resort
Away Koh Kood Resort
#3 of 14 in Ko Kut
319 reviews
5.6 mi away
Soneva Kiri
Soneva Kiri
#2 of 14 in Ko Kut
481 reviews
2.5 mi away
Koh Kood Paradise Beach
Koh Kood Paradise Beach
#18 of 42 in Ko Kut
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Kood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Kood Resort

Address: 45 Moo 5, Bang Bao Bay, Ko Kut 23210, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Kut
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Ko Kut
Price Range: $64 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Koh Kood Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koh Kood is slowly becoming a last lost paradise where you can still find nature resorts like the Koh Kood Resort. Here you will see the clearest sea water in the country, stay in Japanese styled bungalows in beautiful botanical garden, shower under a million stars and enjoy the most delicious fresh seafood you have ever tasted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Koh Kood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Kood Hotel Koh Kood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing