We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Peter Pan Resort
Nearby Hotels
Soneva Kiri(Ko Kut)
$1,027
$970
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cham's House(Ko Kut)
$94
$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$401
$320
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$108
$99
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$40
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveler rating
40
42
23
10
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
42
23
10
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall riverfire showper daybreakfast buffetthe water is crystal clearlovely beachpool villawaterfallseakayakislandbangkokpier
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 129 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This is a resort that is very basic in the elements. We stayed at the deluxe room & there was only air conditioning between 5pm-9am daily. During the day, it was unbearable to be in the room. There was no wardrobe or refrigerator in the room.

The beach was nice & very shallow - have to swim out further to be able to swim properly. However, the sea was pretty rough & not very suitable for swimming. Unless you swim on the side where they have boats to ferry people to the resort.

The hotel will pick you up from the pier and take a mini van to another small pier where the staff will ferry you and your luggage to the resort in an open air boat. Not sure what happens when it rains as the resort has only 2 boats & only 1 of them has a small shelter that covers less than half the boat.

The staff is friendly and the place is quiet. It was newly renovated & we were the only guests in the hotel on the first day. However, there was absolutely nothing to do there, except to the water fall, swim in the sea/pool. We could go snorkling/swimming/kayaking (due to the rough sea, despite not raining).

To go out of this place, we were given the option to hire a van that would cost us between THB500-700 to the town or to the other 2 resorts owned by the same owner (Peter Pan & Tinker Bell). It was not worth it as the transport would only take us to one of the locations & that we had to eat at that location (i.e. @ the resort). The staff explained to us that it was due to us booking only the hotel instead of the package. But paying almost double for the package didn't make sense. The additionals to the package was the meals (which cost us about THB200 max/person/meal) and the waterfall trip (as the other activities would be out of the question due to the rough sea). Also, the website prices for the services were outdated.

Overall, a relaxing trip with absolutely nothing to do and it was back to the nature, with the rooms with ants & mosquitoes. Also, loved the 4 resident dogs, of which 1 would come waking us every morning by lying infront of the door & wagging it's tail against the door.

The manager was nice (only 2 of the staff could speak English) and tried her best to provide good service. Her service did make a difference to us, although we probably wouldn't recommend anyone to come unless they want to have a holiday of doing absolutely nothing at a high price.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jasmine_yeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

This place have some upsides and downsides as well

Great:
1. FOOD! It is totally value for money. The amount of seafood and meals they feed you per day is why I think this place is not that bad after all. They are very generous in amount and quality.
2. Quiet Beach.
3. Friendly and helpful staffs.
4. Small water/beach activities to help you pass some of your time

Not So Great:
1. Accomodation. It is not bad for the price we payed but personally I hope it was better.

All in all, me and my friends had a great & relaxing time with some minor kayaking and going to the waterfalls.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank choymy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

The positives:
1. Located on a stunning beach
2. Lovely beach bar

The negatives:
1. Unfriendly manager, a blond lady who could not be less interested if she tried. No welcome given just herded towards reception when we arrived off the boat
2. Expensive for what you get. Rooms very basic and not all that clean
3. The breakfast was not at all nice. Congealed food in the buffet trays.
4. No information in the rooms about the resort or island. This is pretty standard.
5. Lack of sinners for guests.
6. They offer wifi but it is non-existent. I appreciate it is a remote island but the wifi at Shantaa is perfect.

We stayed for 1 night and checked out. Supposed to stay for 5 nights. Luckily Shantaa had a cancellation - a stunning resort and only a fraction more expensive. Definitely worth it.

I have travelled Thailand extensively and I do not often post bad reviews. If you want poor value for money then this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Sun2009_Sun_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

I'm not sure why these two resorts are lumped together, as people are reviewing two different properties owned by the same company. The properties are very different. We stayed at the Captain Hook Resort. As noted by another reviewer, the hotel is technically not beachfront. However it is a less than 10 m swim/kayak (free rental) to the beach across the small river in front of the hotel. It's about a 5-minute kayak to another, better beach on the other side of the peninsula occupied by the hotel. My husband and I went for our honeymoon, and the beach was deserted and absolutely pristine. It's actually the same beach (just further down) as the vastly more expensive Soneva Kiri Resort. The rooms are rather rustic, particularly the bathrooms, and while we slept okay, it could have been better. The simple, outdoor bathroom we didn't mind so much, since really it's just a bathroom. But the proximity to such fantastic, uncrowded (or in our case, deserted) beaches was well worth putting up with a less-than-luxurious room. I thought the restaurant food was excellent and well-priced for such an isolated resort. They had free snacks/juices at various times throughout the day and if you don't mind limited choice, you could probably eat for free all day. But I'd recommend going a la carte, it was worth it!

We stopped by the more expensive Peter Pan and Tinkerbell Resorts at the other end of the island, and were very glad that we didn't stay there. The beach was a main beach on the island and much more crowded and not as beautiful as our own "private" beach. The Captain Hook Resort was nearly all domestic tourists, who for some reason didn't seem keen on kayaking around to the nicer beach or even venturing across to the also-uncrowded beach just across from the hotel. To each his own, better for us to have it to ourselves! The Peter Pan/Tinkerbell Resorts seemed to be mostly European guests sunbathing all over the beach, so it felt much less exotic and much more crowded. Can't comment on the rooms or food at these resorts.

Room Tip: Pool villas have much better views than the standard rooms. We didn't book one as there is a very nice pool next to the bar and it seemed silly to pay so much more for a tiny pool that's not even enclosed (i.e., everyone can see you). But if the view is important, it really is much better from these rooms.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LKocaturk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

This resort is not beachfront at all, it is rock front and the staff speak little if any English at all and just walk off, not understanding what you asked for and thus doing nothing. Rooms smell funny, not sure if it is rotten wood or materials but something like that. Bathrooms were some outdoor deal and all that gets you is mozzies everywhere, no way of keeping them out of the room and of course no way to ask the staff to help.

Food was OK to be fair and it is not a bad location, despite lack of beach, but looking over at Away where we ate dinner i suspect is a better place to stay as they do have a beach and they have i saw when there been doing a lot of rebuilding and making new rooms etc. Not sure what their prices are though.

Room Tip: Take your own mozzie repelant to plug in and get them out of whatever room you stay in.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichieBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews