We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
190 results
Traveler rating
63
59
34
17
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
63
59
34
17
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews street restaurant beautiful beach sea resort sand island mattresses bkk pier scooter
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 190 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2012

This place have some upsides and downsides as well

Great:
1. FOOD! It is totally value for money. The amount of seafood and meals they feed you per day is why I think this place is not that bad after all. They are very generous in amount and quality.
2. Quiet Beach.
3. Friendly and helpful staffs.
4. Small water/beach activities to help you pass some of your time

Not So Great:
1. Accomodation. It is not bad for the price we payed but personally I hope it was better.

All in all, me and my friends had a great & relaxing time with some minor kayaking and going to the waterfalls.

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank choymy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

The positives:
1. Located on a stunning beach
2. Lovely beach bar

The negatives:
1. Unfriendly manager, a blond lady who could not be less interested if she tried. No welcome given just herded towards reception when we arrived off the boat
2. Expensive for what you get. Rooms very basic and not all that clean
3. The breakfast was not at all nice. Congealed food in the buffet trays.
4. No information in the rooms about the resort or island. This is pretty standard.
5. Lack of sinners for guests.
6. They offer wifi but it is non-existent. I appreciate it is a remote island but the wifi at Shantaa is perfect.

We stayed for 1 night and checked out. Supposed to stay for 5 nights. Luckily Shantaa had a cancellation - a stunning resort and only a fraction more expensive. Definitely worth it.

I have travelled Thailand extensively and I do not often post bad reviews. If you want poor value for money then this is the place to stay.

Date of stay: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Sun2009_Sun_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

I'm not sure why these two resorts are lumped together, as people are reviewing two different properties owned by the same company. The properties are very different. We stayed at the Captain Hook Resort. As noted by another reviewer, the hotel is technically not beachfront. However it is a less than 10 m swim/kayak (free rental) to the beach across the small river in front of the hotel. It's about a 5-minute kayak to another, better beach on the other side of the peninsula occupied by the hotel. My husband and I went for our honeymoon, and the beach was deserted and absolutely pristine. It's actually the same beach (just further down) as the vastly more expensive Soneva Kiri Resort. The rooms are rather rustic, particularly the bathrooms, and while we slept okay, it could have been better. The simple, outdoor bathroom we didn't mind so much, since really it's just a bathroom. But the proximity to such fantastic, uncrowded (or in our case, deserted) beaches was well worth putting up with a less-than-luxurious room. I thought the restaurant food was excellent and well-priced for such an isolated resort. They had free snacks/juices at various times throughout the day and if you don't mind limited choice, you could probably eat for free all day. But I'd recommend going a la carte, it was worth it!

We stopped by the more expensive Peter Pan and Tinkerbell Resorts at the other end of the island, and were very glad that we didn't stay there. The beach was a main beach on the island and much more crowded and not as beautiful as our own "private" beach. The Captain Hook Resort was nearly all domestic tourists, who for some reason didn't seem keen on kayaking around to the nicer beach or even venturing across to the also-uncrowded beach just across from the hotel. To each his own, better for us to have it to ourselves! The Peter Pan/Tinkerbell Resorts seemed to be mostly European guests sunbathing all over the beach, so it felt much less exotic and much more crowded. Can't comment on the rooms or food at these resorts.

Room tip: Pool villas have much better views than the standard rooms. We didn't book one as there is a very nice pool next to the bar and it seemed silly to pay so much more for a tiny pool that's not even enclosed (i.e., everyone can see you). But if the view is important, it really is much better from these rooms.
Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LKocaturk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

This resort is not beachfront at all, it is rock front and the staff speak little if any English at all and just walk off, not understanding what you asked for and thus doing nothing. Rooms smell funny, not sure if it is rotten wood or materials but something like that. Bathrooms were some outdoor deal and all that gets you is mozzies everywhere, no way of keeping them out of the room and of course no way to ask the staff to help.

Food was OK to be fair and it is not a bad location, despite lack of beach, but looking over at Away where we ate dinner i suspect is a better place to stay as they do have a beach and they have i saw when there been doing a lot of rebuilding and making new rooms etc. Not sure what their prices are though.

Room tip: Take your own mozzie repelant to plug in and get them out of whatever room you stay in.
Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichieBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Everything was perfect ecxept for breakfast and dinner.
You can enjoy both things in the next hotel Tinkerbell.
It is only 200 meters up the beach and owned by the same people.
Beautifull beach and fair priced rooms.

Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monique v
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews