We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exclusively for You”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Cham's House Koh Kood Resort
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Ko Kut
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The resort is bran new it opened in May last year. Some construction is still on-going, but it didn't disturb our stay. We got a beautiful bungalow away from the others. After check-in, which went very smoothly, we sat down on the terrace and enjoyed the garden view.a few minutes later a waiter came with a bottle of red wine and some fruit as a Welcome greeting. The red wine was French, very good quality. All the amenities in the bath room was of the famous Thann brand.
We enjoyed a BBQ dinner for 2 - exclusively for us on jthe beach, which simply was fantastic. We had our own chef and waiter the whole evening. My husband was very thrilled that I had arranged this special birthday dinner for him. As a special gesture from the resort, we got a birthday cake. The staff were all very service-minded and attentive.

Room Tip: Ask for a bungalow near the beach and away from the walking street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank winniebjornhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHKManagement, General Manager at Cham's House Koh Kood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear Winniebjornhof,

Thank you for your contribution and review of our Resort.
It is a pleasure to read that you were enjoyed your stay with Cham's House Resort and our service.
We ensure to share your positive feedback with our team and look for ways to improve the weak areas you addressed.

It is rewarding to read that you were very enjoy staying with us and all facelity provided.

We look forward welcoming you again in the future.

Boonyok Kannika.

Resort Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (301)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

140 - 146 of 301 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2013

Arrived on Koh Kood after 6 days @ The Chill in Koh Chang. Felt like coming from a big city out on the country side :-)
Booked CH through Sawadee.com before we left Norway, but did not book any transportation from Chang to Kood. This arrangement was done by a small travel agent in Kai Bae beach in Chang. He even helped us to arrange transport from Kood to Trat mainland, and taxi up to Rayong. All this went very well, even if we where a little suspisious :-) when we arrived with speed boat to Kood ( about 1,5 hrs trip), CH picked us up at pier at a different location, since CH do not have a pier yet. This will be ready during 2013. The trip took about 6 minutes on dirt road. When we got to CH the building does not look very special at the front, but once you get up to the reception area, paradise apears for your eyes :-)
We got our beach front pool villa straight away, and luggage was driven down.

Room / Villa:
The villa was located more or less directly at the beach, with our own small swimming pool, which even has bubles :-)
Inside it's very spacious, with a big room with a cebtered bed. (Can walk around the bed) a small kitchen and one of the biggest bathrooms I ever had on a hotel / resort. Lots of space, and 2 sinks, open sky windows, seperate shower room, seperate toilet room both with glas doors, and even a outdoor bathtub, with real open sky. Built like a chimney :-)
The bed was extremely soft and comfy, with really nice pillows. A flat TV with a DVD player (movies @ the reception) BOSE sound dock for Iphone, quiet aircon, fan, minibar and a Illy cofee machine and plenty of different bottles with cream, soap, bathrobes, slippers, mosquito repellant, free water bottles etc. View from bed was splendid, right out on the beach and the sea. Turn down service in the afternoon, with refillmof water bottles. Upon arrival we got a fruit basket, and a chilled italian sparkling wine in our room, complementary :-)
The small private pool was also a good experience, after a day at the beach enjoying our drinks :-) some of the bungalows with private pools are not so very private, but the one we had was probably the best :-)

Beach:
The Beach......long, white sand with coconut trees hanging down, some small reefs to snorkle. Free kaiaks, beach matress and different balls and stuff for kids. Nice and comfy sunbeds, both doubles and singles, not directly on the sand, but 10 meters away from the sea. The best thing, is that you basically have the entire beach for yourself :-) Very clean sparkling blue hot water, almost like the Red Sea in Egypt :-) some debris get's to the beach, but is taken away by CH personnel. They clean the beach every day. Probably one of the best beaches we have stayed on, and as said only a handful of people.

The Staff:
Exellent, not really more to say.....always helpful. Even the German Hotel Manager spoke to us at least a couple of times during the day. The Manager also helped the other staff, cleaning tables etc, which I think is a very nice thing to do. Since we celebrated my wifes 40th. Birthday on our 3rd day, we had a private BBQ at the beach. They gave us a very good evening, on the beach. All set up very romantic with lots of candles, different meals coocked next to us, and we even got a cake and a Thai rice-lamp lit for us. They also made a birthday card for my wife, wrapped up nicely in flowers. CH also has a free trip every day to a waterfall 15 minutes away. This was a really nice trip.

Food & Drinks:
Breakfast ok, but could have been much better. Bacon from beef, not pork, which is strange I think. Juice and coffe very OK, bread could have been better, but home-made jam was very good :-) to few choises for a Hotel in this class.......
Lunch was really nice. We ate mostly club sandwitch and pizza ant tasted very good, and served at our sunbeds. They even have Procecco :-) all reasonable priced. Dinner was also good, but the BBQ at the beach could have had more spice. A lot of fresh seafood, but a little tasteless for us. The 3 starters we had was actually very good. A good choise of wine on the menu.

Cham's House is a beautiful little place in heaven, even though the Hotel is not completly finished yet. There are some construction on the upper part of the hotel, but no noise further down. This will be finished before teh summer. Rest of the Hotelnis really beautiful, with nice green ares, and a natural jungle by the doorstep. The only other buildings in the area is a small back packer place to the right on the beach. Rest of the beach is just a jungle :-)
There is nothing to "do" on Koh Kood other than to relax and have a great time at the Hotel, so if you are looking for a party Island, go to Chang or Samet. Is it heaven and paradise you arenlooking for, Kood is the place :-)
We sadly spent only 3 night and 4 days at CH but regret we havent booked this place longer :-(
Next time we go to Thailand, we will go to Kood and CH, and probably one of the other island near by.

The best 3 nights and 4 days we have ever spent on a Hotel, that says it all ;-)

With Love from Stavanger, Norway


Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
7  Thank Stig E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHKManagement, General Manager at Cham's House Koh Kood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear Stig E,

Thank you very much for your very detailed review.
We are realy pleasure to read that you enjoyed Koh Kood and Cham's House and its service.
Our Goal is to make every guest feel comfortable and at ease. We are happy to read that we achieved this goal for you. We ensure that we will share your positive comment with all our team to let them know they did a good job.
It would be a real pleasure to see you again in the future and I am sure our team will welcome you back with a warm and sincere smile.

Kind regards,

Boonyok Kannika.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I just came back from this resort yesterday (March 8-10). There are still some construction up top near the lobby. But all the bungalows are done. We stayed at the beech front pool villa. The view is spectacular, the room is clean and new, the aircon isn't cold but plenty cool, the bathroom is nicely done and naturally lit with separate tub, shower, and toilet...lovely. The staff who went to pick us up at the peir went out of his way to service us. Most of the staff are ready to please you but the resort itself still need some fine tuning. The breakfast choice was minimal and quality was just so-so. Lunch wasn't very good. I am sure they are having problem with the kitchen management. The food was slow to arrive but they tasted OK. The BBQ dinner was a big let-down for its price. Again, the choice was rather limited. The beach is nice, the water is clear but being rather isolated mean the trash would flow in at night and the staff is rather slow in cleaning it up. They should have done it at 6:00 am to please the early bird like me and the kids and I don't think any guest would be happy to finish breakfast and come down to the beach to find that they are still cleaning it. Overall, it was a pleasure visit. The friendly staffs help but I really felt they have issue with lack of man power and management. And I wish that they keep it small... the new building will bring more guest and thus it might lose its charm of being a small resort in a prestine beach.

Room Tip: Bech front bungalow is the best. The rest of the bungalow is garden-view and rather bunched up toge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Er1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHKManagement, General Manager at Cham's House Koh Kood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Warm greetings from the team of Cham's House and thank you for your stay with us.

Thank you for kind comments regarding the facilities and our staff services ,we regret that it was less than your expectation We will ensure to share your positive and negative feedback with our team and look for ways to improve the weak areas you addressed.

We are looking forward to wlecoming you to visit Koh Kood and Cham's House again!

Thank you for your feedback and with regards from Koh Kood,

Boonyok Kannika

Resort Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

With the positives comments of Cham's house , we totally 5 persons had chosen it for our 2 nights accommodation. However , we had experienced a bad stay as below.

1, Long check-in : we had waited for at least 15 mins, one more ,we needed 3 rooms (2 king bed and 1 twin )for our stay , the girl who led us to the room had no ideas which is twin or king but just ask us to see while she opened the door, so weird?

2, No telephone in the hotel room ! Rediculous !

3, Crazy charge : After the checkin at about 4:30pm ,we planned rent motor bikes and heading to a near by beach for seafood which will take around 20 mins , and the hotel told us that it is too dangerous to drive as it is nearly sunset, and we asked for another way to go , Cham's suggested to rent a car and charged us 2800 THB for a round trip, what a reasonable price? Charge us 2800THB with totally 40 mins trip? We had finally rent a car through a snorkeling trip company ,they offered us 600THB, may I know if Cham's robs ?

4, BBQ dinner : 1200 THB person , the seafood is just .... Just .... BAD , the shrimps and crabs had been frozen for 1 month ? Not fresh at all. But the dessert is Good !

5, The beach : extremely Dirty , rubbish everywhere , hardly believe a 5 star hotel 's beach can be like this , even Siam beach resort near by (3 star) is even better!

6, No Wifi: On the day we checking , we had no WIFI , we did called and no one come to fix it, then on the next day after we back from snorkeling trip and we report to the reception again , and the reply is , it is connected , pls try again. OK , we did try , but it doesnt work, we are asked to use the public WIFI in the lounge. we insist to use the wifi in the room , the staff come and doesnt really check! Just showed us his phone is connecting and claim the WIfi is work and gone even we showed him our iphine doesnt work with the WIFI.....finally I called again and they come again, finally they told me there r connection problem with the IPhone.

7.No refill : one of the room has no bath gel and towel refill, the outdoor bath is dirty .

May i know if the friendly German Manager who was mentioned in trip advisor is on holiday?

Honestly speaking ,we are very disaapointed regarding this stay .

One very warm service had been provided by Chams: my slipper is broken and they are so friendly that they fixed or for me .

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hapikel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHKManagement, General Manager at Cham's House Koh Kood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear Hapikel and friends,

We were very disappointed to hear that you were less than satisfied with your stay at Cham's House, we would like to offer you our sincere apologies for not being able to provide you with the great holiday atmosphere, as well as the level of service and facilities that you were expecting.

We regret that our staff was unable to speak English fluently and made you disappointed , also the WIFI signal made you unhappy we were not excuse but we like to explain you that our WIFI system we use the satellitesystem it caused sometime the signal missing due to bad weather.

We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with an outstanding experience in the future once we are fully operational and to have the chance to show you that we truly can provide you with the peaceful and relaxed holiday that you deserve.

Thank you for your feedback and with regards from Koh Kood,

Boonyok Kannika.

Resort Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Don't get confused by first glance you catch from the resort coming down the narrow muddy road and seeing some of the construction at the resort back side area. The resort is still in a phase of soft opening but your stay will not be disturbed as heavy and loud work seem to be done already. The staff is extremely friendly and well acknowledged and organized all our transfers and pick ups in a perfect way. Also many thanks for the complementary bottle of red wine. Reading a lot about overpriced and poor quality food on Koh Kood we really were surprised about their great Thai Food restaurant and more about their very reasonable prices compared the resort's category. They serve as well some delicious Western Food next to the beach. The bungalows are nice even the sleeping area is a bit tiny with huge connected and well equipped bathroom. The whole sand beaches is your's as there's only a 2nd small resort next door. Beautiful palm trees, white sand and clear water with plenty of colorful fish. It's only a pity that the sea current can bring time by time lot of garbage from the civilization. The resort staff is cleaning the beach twice a day but we really hope that the mind set in Thailand will change towards a more ecco friendly behavior. The spa isn't yet finished but they offer some open air massage at the beach. The German manager Manual takes good care to all your needs and questions. We really love the calm atmosphere of Koh Kood comparing to other crowded islands. If you feel bored simple catch a free kayak or walk to the nearby waterfall as the gym isn't yet ready for any kind of work out.

Room Tip: There're some pool villas but the pools are really tiny and why wasting your money by having a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tyrolians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHKManagement, General Manager at Cham's House Koh Kood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear Tyrolians,

Thank you for your contribution and review of our Resort.
We were realy pleasure to read that you enjoyed Koh Kood and Cham's House and its service.
Our Goal is to make every guest feel comfortable and happy. We are happy to read that we achieved this goal for you and your expectation.
It would be a real pleasure to see you again in the future and I am sure our team will welcome you back with a warm and sincere smile.

Thank you again for staying with us and we would appreciate your patronage in the future again.

Kind regards,

Boonyok Kannika

Resort Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Koh Kood is one of the least developed islands we have been to in Thailand, and because of this we loved it!

We, my wife and I, stayed at Cham's House, for 8 nights in January 2013 and enjoyed our stay thoroughly.

The staff, including the reception staff, waiters, gardeners, and the German manager (sorry, I'm bad with names) at Cham's House were all really very friendly, efficient, and smiley, which was appreciated. The German manager takes time to chat to you in a friendly, down to earth way and I thought this was a good touch.

The villa was good and was well equipped with Bose ipod dock (handy for charging your iphone as well as good sound!), espresso machine with free daily replenished coffee pods, and large LCD TV (not that we wanted to watch TV). The bed was very comfortable, and they do a turn-down service in the early evening where they draw your curtains, turn down your bed, and give the room a tidy. We declined this most of the time because we seemed to be in the villa when they came, but it was appreciated all the same.

There are two restaurants, one down at the beach, which serves mainly European food like burgers, club sandwiches, pizzas etc. I really liked this building and its furnishings. The food was well presented and was tasty enough, but was nothing special, although it was very good compared to most other places we ate at on the island which is very limited. One complaint I have is that I think they could do with changing the oil in their fryer.

The other restaurant is where you have breakfast and at night they serve mainly Thai food with some European options if you want it. Breakfast was okay but a bit underwhelming, but the service was always really good which made up for it, and some of the Thai dishes I had in the evening were very tasty. Both restaurants were reasonably priced which was good. I stayed a couple of years ago in Langkawi in The Andaman which was on a similarly remote part of the island and the food and drinks prices were extortionate which pissed me off when you know that on the rest of the island there was better food at a fraction of the price. I don't mind paying high prices as long as I feel like I am getting value.

We rented a scooter from Cham's House which was useful to see both the waterfalls, the two villages, and the makka tree. I would not rent a scooter unless you are pretty confident on one, as the path from Cham's House to the road is pretty rough and up a hill, which is the same all around the island if you leave the main (only) road. I quite liked this as I prefer rugged to over developed.

There is building work going on at Cham's house still but it didn't disrupt us in any way. You get the feeling the location of the reception desk is temporary, so it not the grandest reception desk I have seen, and the stairs you go up when you arrive at the hotel are not the nicest. I really would not let this put you off staying here as the work is almost finished, so they are not doing any loud heavy building work, and it really doesn't affect your stay., but is good to know that there is work going on in case you panic when you first arrive, and the rest of the resort is lovely.

We didn't use the pool which is in an odd location but who cares about a pool when you have the beautiful beach and warm clear sea there. There is a good couple of hundred meters of beach to the left of Cham's house that is completely unused and when you lay on it it feels like you have a whole tropical paradise beach to yourself.

I would say that if Cham's house was on a busier island then I would have probably have been more critical and certain things would have annoyed me, but the fact that you are on a remote, sparsely, populated island, and on the whole Cham's house is really good, then you just take any imperfections with it as part of the charm of being on such a remote island. If you are one of the fussy types that gives a hotel 1 star on tripadvisor for the staff not walking in front of you sprinkling rose petals whilst you walk, then this is probably not the place or the island for you (apart from the massively expensive resort somewhere on Koh Kood, that flys you in from Bangkok in their own cessna plane, has a personal butler, and your personal golf cart- which to me sounds like my idea of hell). If you are happy to be away from the likes of Koh Samui or even Koh Chang, and can appreciate that there are bound to be a few minor problems now and again, then you will love Cham's House and Koh Kood.

If you are looking to relax and get away from civilisation for a while but still stay in relative luxury then Koh Kood and Cham's House should be high on your list.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Caves E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHKManagement, General Manager at Cham's House Koh Kood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear NRowan,

Thank you very much for your very detailed review.
It is a real pleasure to read that you enjoyed Koh Kood and Cham's House and its service.
Our Goal is to make every guest feel comfortable and at ease. We are happy to read that we achieved this goal for you and your wife.
It would be a real pleasure to see you again in the future and I am sure our Gardener and entire team will welcome you back with a warm and sincere smile.

Kind regards,

Manuel Lang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

good service, fair breakfast, beautiful villa and resort but still overprice when compare to other resort in the same level. pool villa is not private and neither big enough for 2-3 persons. if you gonna make the price like this, make bigger pool please. i understand that bathtub is outdoor and i like it but please clean it daily ! i liked it but i couldn't take a bath ! the resort beach is white and clean and you can run to swim directly...

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kharavas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHKManagement, General Manager at Cham's House Koh Kood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you for your contribution and review of our Resort.
It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the resort and our service.

As you experienced our Villas are cleaned twice daily including the outdoor Bathtub. Due to the surrounding nature you might have experienced some leaves etc., even after cleaning. However we appreciate your comment and will ensure to share this with the department concerned to further improve this area.

Thank you again for staying with us and we would appreciate your patronage in the future again.

Kind regards,

Manuel Lang
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Kut hotels
4.4 mi away
Koh Kood Beach Resort
Koh Kood Beach Resort
#5 of 14 in Ko Kut
225 reviews
1.2 mi away
Horizon Resort Koh Kood
2.4 mi away
Away Koh Kood Resort
Away Koh Kood Resort
#3 of 14 in Ko Kut
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Shantaa Koh Kood
Shantaa Koh Kood
#1 of 14 in Ko Kut
397 reviews
6.5 mi away
Soneva Kiri
Soneva Kiri
#2 of 14 in Ko Kut
493 reviews
2.1 mi away
High Season Pool Villa & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cham's House Koh Kood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cham's House Koh Kood Resort

Address: 5 Moo 5 | Klong Hin Beach, Ko Kut 23000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Kut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Ko Kut
Price Range: $80 - $1,207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cham's House Koh Kood Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cham's House is a serene resort in Koh Kood. This 4.5 Star-resort owns a private white sandy beach. The resort is composed of a hotel wing, and private villas with or without private pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cham's House Koh Kood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing