We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveler rating
9
16
8
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
9
16
8
3
2
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 38 reviews
Reviewed December 6, 2011

For Rest has cleverly used very inexpensive construction materials to design a tasteful, cute guesthouse.

We loved being right next to a mangrove forest, sleeping over the water, and also nestled in a sleepy little village. For Rest is in a very small Thai neighborhood, rather than on a pretty beach filled with too many tourists/guesthouses/hotels and no sense of the real people who inhabit the island. At For Rest, we saw villagers rowing out on their painted wooden boats and passed others tapping rubber on vast plantations on the island.

It is a bit far from the more popular beaches -- a 30-minute motorbike ride, but we quite enjoyed exploring the island and seeing how the Koh Kood residents live.

My main complaint is that the use of cheap materials means the walls are quite thin, so we could hear the phone in the neighboring room -- even when it was on vibration mode. However, that didn't really bother me, as our fellow guests were respectful and quiet, perhaps knowing that sound travels there.

Koh Kood is a long way to go for even a 3-day weekend from Bangkok, but should we head that way again, we would definitely stay with For Rest again.

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tang_Dunand
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed here for just one night in early May (was supposed to be three nights but we left early due to the reasons below). We chose the hotel based on some positive reviews she saw on the pantip.com website and also the good appearance of the hotel's website. What we found is that, while this hotel might be a satisfactory place for local Thai residents, it falls quite short of Western standards. I should point out that we weren't expecting five-star quality, but we *were* expecting a nice, basic beachfront hotel with attractive surroundings. That's not quite what we found.

First, the good. The rooms and other facilities are nicely decorated--the photos on the hotel website are accurate in that regard (also see my photos).I was also impressed with the online chat service when making the reservations--they have an office in Bangkok with good English-speaking staff, and the staff at the hotel were genuinely friendly. However we found the resort to be unsatisfactory in a number of other ways.

-The driver was twenty minutes late picking us up at the boat pier, which may not be the hotel's fault but it was a premonition of things to come
-The shuttle bus but was actually a pickup truck with benches in the back which is typical in rural Thailand. it was a long, bumpy 20-minute ride, mostly on unsurfaced roads. The driver had some hygiene problems so we were thankful not to be sitting in the cab with him
-We could see as soon as we dropped off in front of the resort that it wasn't what we were expecting. The resort is surrounded by a number of run-down houses that are inhabited by locals. (see photo)
-The view from our room's deck was not of a beach or even of a forest, but of these surrounding houses. (see photo)
-Locals living next door played loud Thai pop music music all afternoon from the stereo in their pickup truck.
-The hotel premises is clean but the surrounding area is littered with trash. (see photos)
-It's not a beach-front hotel. The beach is only a short walk away, but on muddy path littered with trash. (see photos)
-The view on the beach is great if you look to the left, but if you look to the right you see a pier for big industrial freight barges. (see photo)
-The resort has no cellphone service despite the fact that we were told during the reservation process that it would. My TrueMove iPhone didn't get any signal at all. My girlfriend's DTAC Blackberry got one bar sometimes, but only if she was standing in just the right spot.
-The food in the restaurant could generously be described as ordinary.
-The hotel has no hot water heaters which means cold showers, but at least the water pressure was good.
-The shower is not separated from the rest of the bathroom so everything gets wet.
-The shower is open air (no roof) which is actually kind of nice, but because it's not separate everything in the bathroom gets wet when it rains--if you need to use the bathroom when it's raining be sure to bring a towel to dry off afterwards.
-The light fixture in our shower did not work.
-The shampoo dispenser was broken.
-Some of the hotel guests were loud and rowdy in the restaurant area for part of the evening. We didn't complain but neither did the staff do anything to quiet them.

We decided pretty quickly that we would cut our three-day reservation short and go to another resort. It was a challenge to contact other resorts because we had no cell service and no wifi internet available but we were able to use the hotel's public computer. We decided to go to Shantaa based on its top ranking on TripAdvisor. Its per-night cost is three times as much as For Rest so it exceeded our planned budget for this trip, but it also far exceed our expectations and saved our holiday.

Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Corman922
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

The journey to Koh kood from Bangkok was quite long on the bus/boat but once we got to the guesthouse it was quickly forgotten. The location of the guesthouse was nestled right beside the coconut plantation, long stretch of beach and also the little estuary leading to the sea. It was perfect for a spot of kayaking, beach time and we were able to rent the motorbike to get out and about. The design of the guesthouse is spot on. I loved the chic bathrooms and simple and natural look to the place. The staff were very freindly and helpful, and went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. The rooms were very clean. The food was really tasty and in good portions. My only comments- maybe they could do with a couple more 'desserts' on the menu! The banana fritters and pancakes were lovely but maybe some ice cream too? lol we have sweet tooths! Also the resort only had thai channels...in one way i loved it as it got me away from the tv but i do think it would be good to have the option of english channels for your western visiters. or develop a really good dvd library and put dvd players in every room - its very quiet in the evenings.
But overall a wonderful and when I have time I would love to go again...and I wouldnt stay anywhere else!

Date of stay: April 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank vixandkae
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed May 7, 2017
Google Translation

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed April 11, 2017
Google Translation

Date of stay: April 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews