We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach...nothing else”
Review of Siam Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Siam Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Ko Kut
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great beach...nothing else”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We travelled to Koh Kood in January -2013 and we chosed this place for our visit based on the reviews we have read. We had planned to stay four nights but ended up staying only one.. We loved the beach, nothing to complain about there, it is very nice. This hotel has the best beach among the 3 resorts here...but dont worry, it takes less than ten minutes to walk from one side to the other :)
When we arrived we decided to try out the restaurant before we went to our room. First WARNING sign, they failed with the fried rice and that got us worried, very worried about how our stay would be! (How can you possible fail with a fried rice?). The staff was nice and friendly in the restaurant and very helpful wanting us to feel at home, but they did fail to prepare a simple fried rice....

The room was a new built "bunker" where the AC was turned on at 3pm...Did they have a remote control to the aircon? Nope, not at all so it was full blast over the bed if you wanted to use it or nothing at all. There were quite a bit of ants in the room but nothing we did not manage to handle.

Free wifi in the restaurant area but it worked slowly and sometimes not at all.

A couple of other hotels / bungalows are located just a few minutes walk close to this beach and next time we will select one of those resorts. The food, service and cozy feeling was so much better there. We are wondering why these hotels cant cooperate and clean up the path leading between them so it is not filled with rubbish etc. We DO NOT recommend this hotel and we have traveled quite a bit in asia and know what standards there are to expect

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ivarsson70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    44
    27
    28
    34
See reviews for
31
70
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We just returned from a 6 days stay at Siam Beach Resort and already miss it. The luxury you'll find there is not in the slightly anterior and also new bungalows they offer. It's the beach, the clear, turquoise water, the nature above and beneath the water surface and the nice staff you are surrounded by.
It's an authentic place to be. At the right time - beginning of main season - only a few people will be there and you can perfectly enjoy yourself by doing nothing, discovering thousands of fishes, reading in a hammock, renting a kajak or scooter to experience the waterfalls close to Siam Beach.

The food is pretty good, the staff friendly and helpful and for a sundowner drink take your seat on the pillow and listen to absolutely delicious chosen music. Forget Cafe del Mar - the Ja Ja Bar is real and far away spot from any annoying mainstream. Not stylish or posh, like you maybe expect. But it has it's own spirit you won't find at any 4 to 5 star polished western standard bungalows.
The good thing about being such a basic and rustic place - it keeps the snobs away.
But don't think it isn't tidy or something like that. It's cleaned whenever you want it.

Conclusion: This place is the great evidence, that beach you only know from catalogues and post production do really exist. See for yourself!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hannes W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

It was a really nice spot clear water,clean beach.Arriving the first day i liked the place and bungalow ,but needed a lot of fixing.The manager was so arrogant,very rude and could not give a damn about the customers and he made sure you knew it.I spent a lot of time in thailand 4 trips and i must say this guy was terrible and immature.They were so stingy with their meals ,i ate from the restaurant from the main road all the time.The staff were not too bad.This jerk spoils this nice place and i will return again only if this jerk is replaced.He is about 5'8,chubby and has a bald spot[looks like a eye in the sky]

Room Tip: Make sure there is not any building etc or work being done unless you are deaf
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Joe c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

This place has so much potential but fails to deliver other than offering stunning views over Bang Bao Bay, arguably the most picturesque beach in Koh Kong and one of the most beautiful beaches I have seen. The accommodation is very dated and in need of refurbishment, the bed linen was badly stained and the bathroom looked like it could do with a good scrub. The food and ‘bar’ area was pretty non-descript and the food was the poorest we had tasted during our two week trip to Thailand. Some of the staff were very friendly however, the manager was very abrupt and rude.
Much better to go along the beach to the Koh Kood Resort where for the same money you can get a far superior, much cleaner room with breakfast included for the same money.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rossweir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Kut hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Umea, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

After 10 days in the resort, we must say; You can't get a better vacation. It was like the western islands 15-20 years ago. Quiet, no selling on the beach, no shops, fantastic water, lots of time for reading, delicious food, friendly staff, Just what we needed, a couple from Sweden 62+67.
After a week our son came with his family, 34+33+3+1, and stayed with us in the bungalow beside, they said the same. Very easy and relaxed living ;) We will go back.

Some helpful facts after our luxuary 10 days:
Nice stone bungalow with fan and TV + breakfast, lunch, dinner, beer, drinks, icecream + motorbikes + tickets to the speedboat back to Trat = 30.000 Bath. Can you live cheaper at home? 3000B/day for two persons.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Umeborna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2012

My boyfriend and I cycled to Siam Beach Resort from a resort on the other side of the island in the midday sun (yes, we were very stupid!). When we got to Siam , we spent some time swimming and admiring the incredibly beautiful beach - really one of the best on the island - before I got awful, awful heat/sun stroke. I was very, very ill. Immediately, even though we weren't staying there, the staff at Siam Beach Resort ran round, finding me a seat, putting a huge fan in front of me, mixing me special drinks, giving me things to bring me round from my delirium, finding me medicine, etc. I was sick all over their resort but they kept telling me not to worry about it. I was there for at least an hour, totally reliant on them, and they looked after me very generously and well. Then they drove us back to our hotel, along with our bikes! Lovely people. And an amazing beach.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Long T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Very beautiful beach with clear water just outside your bungalow. Stayed in a basic bungalow with fan it was ok but very hard pillows. There are some space between the bungalows witch is nice.
It is not a fancy restaurant, but a nice and charming place with good food, low prices and friendly staff. I stayed for 9 days and had no problems to get clean towels and cleaning when I asked for it. If you have problems Mr Thalay is very helpful and speaks good english. I´ll definitely stay there again if I come back to Koh Kood It is a nice and peaceful island.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank facebookSiwkarlsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Kut hotels
3.8 mi away
Koh Kood Beach Resort
Koh Kood Beach Resort
#4 of 14 in Ko Kut
212 reviews
0.8 mi away
Horizon Resort Koh Kood
0.6 mi away
Cham's House Koh Kood Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Shantaa Koh Kood
Shantaa Koh Kood
#1 of 14 in Ko Kut
373 reviews
0.7 mi away
A-Na-Lay Resort Koh Kood
0.9 mi away
Dusita Resort Kohkood
Dusita Resort Kohkood
#6 of 14 in Ko Kut
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siam Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siam Beach Resort

Property: Siam Beach Resort
Address: Ao Bang Bao, Ko Kut, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Kut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Ko Kut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Siam Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing