We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A heavenly hideaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bann Makok The Getaway
Ranked #1 of 14 Ko Kut B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A heavenly hideaway”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This lovely and cozy little resort makes me feel like staying in a charming hotel in Hanoi and resting fully by Pai River, Mae Hong Son (a few years before it became too popular and touristy) at the same time. Maybe it's because of its location that well hidden in a quiet canal but not far from the beach and its style of the compound wooden houses. Every detail of decorations and services is full of human touch, not mainstream or trying too hard to be a boutique hotel. Don't expect a 5-star hotel service when you can get an even more caring service like you stay in your close friend's villa. It's simply a league of it's own. The food is fresh and delicious. The cocktails are superb. Bring a few books you never finished and enjoy a slow life. Looking forward to going back to this heavenly hideaway!

Room Tip: Rooms by the canal side restaurant get good view but rooms on the back get more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TalentedTitle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    36
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
128
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Luang Prabang, Laos
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We loved the Bann Makok. It is not at the beach but at a river near the sea. The rooms and entire
property was very beautiful arranged. The food in the restaurant was very good. They serve food and drinks I have not seen before For example Strawberry Soda !

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank peter h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

No doubt: Bann Makok was the priciest accommodation of our whole trip. But it was worth the money - because of the beautifully designed, spacious rooms, because of the small size (just eight rooms altogether), because of the extraordinarily nice staff, because of the pretty location and because of the good food. We liked it very much!

Also, it seemed to be unspokenly gay friendly.

(The only thing that confused us a little bit was the music choice in the restaurant area - 80s/90s indie-disco-pop felt like a contrast to the overall relaxing atmosphere.)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank zeitweise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We followed the advises and the comments from Tripadvisor and decided to stay 4 days in Bann Makok.......without knowing that it would be much better than what we expected for!!
Everyone was friendly , really helpfull and willing to do everything that would make our stay there a great experience!The beach is magic ( 5-10min with the kayak) , the rooms are unique and the food was delicious...the best place to chill out and relax!not recomended for "party animals"!The best hotel at the most beautifull island...Koh Kood is a small paradise and worths to visit every single spot of this tremendous island...Hope to see you next year

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nikolas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

I can go on and on bragging about this place. We stayed here for 6 days in January 2012. Just like others' comments, Bann Makok exceeded all our expectation. It's always a gamble if you go somewhere remote. Can be a trap or can be so much more. But since arriving, we knew that this place is just the right one to get away from it all. The location is by the river where it's calm and peaceful while a nice beach is just a 5 minute kayaking away. This is the kind of place where you want to spend the whole day there. Each room has a unique design. We were in room no. 4 at the back. Nice and small with a big bed. Then we moved to Room no. 7 which is the best in my opinion as it is at the end of the compound and no one will ever pass your room. Too bad, the bed is just a little too small for 2 people.

The breakfast is a delightful choice. Even the Thai porridge breakfast is just beyond expectation. Not one single meal that is average. Everything is just heaven to the tongue. All the staff are very friendly and helpful but at the same time leaving you much on your own. The living room area is equipped with free wifi.

Depending on the time of the year when you stay, there might be a lot of mosquitoes. But the staff will give you some mosquito patches or do bring some mosquito repellent.

You can also rent a motorbike to explore the island. There is a waterfall nearby (on a walking distance) and there are other beaches to go to as well.

Bann Makok is worth every penny that you spend. I will definitely come back again.

It is the most remarkable and peaceful place that I have ever stayed in my whole life.

Room Tip: Depending on what size of bed that you want. Room 7 has the best location and layout but the bed is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jbdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I really think that this is the most relaxing and peaceful stay I have ever had in my life. We really could have enjoyed staying for a lot longer than we did.

Almost everything exceeded our expectations - and by far. The food and drinks were excellent and the staff fully contributed to create this peaceful, quiet atmosphere. Every room is unique and has it`s individual character and charm.

The whole place is so outstanding, that you need to be really picky to find something negative that is worth mentioning -exept from the bed. Unfortunately, we both found the bed in room 4 really uncomfortable.

The location by the river makes it even better than being right on the beach - it gives you the "jungle feeling".The short trips to some really good coconut-tree beaches that you just dream about with the resorts kayaks is only charming.

Bann Makok The Getaway is probably one of the best and most memorable experiences I`ve ever had, and there is no doubt - I really want to return to this resort in the future.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wizardclimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

3 nights at Bann Makok was outstanding, the staff where extremely attentive and made us feel welcomed and accomodated us impeccably. The food was very good, we tried a couple of other places on the island and none of them came close to the standard of Bann Makok. Our room was perfect with a private balcony and outdoor shower a real treat. The team organised a scooter for us without any hassle and access to kayaks and activities was done super fast and efficiently. The position of the hotel is perfect, secluded enough to feel like the island is yours yet close enough to head to the beach or jump on the scooter and get a coffee in minutes. For a holiday full of rest and relaxation, this would be have to be up there with the best anywhere!

Room Tip: Room 7 was a great choice as it has a lovely outdoor shower and a small private balcony, it is also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ISAMASSIVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Kut hotels
1.1 mi away
Koh Kood Beach Resort
Koh Kood Beach Resort
#4 of 14 in Ko Kut
212 reviews
5.5 mi away
Cham's House Koh Kood Resort
4.3 mi away
Horizon Resort Koh Kood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Shantaa Koh Kood
Shantaa Koh Kood
#1 of 14 in Ko Kut
373 reviews
1.0 mi away
Soneva Kiri
Soneva Kiri
#2 of 14 in Ko Kut
449 reviews
3.1 mi away
Away Koh Kood
Away Koh Kood
#3 of 14 in Ko Kut
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bann Makok The Getaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bann Makok The Getaway

Property: Bann Makok The Getaway
Address: 10 Mu 4, Koh Kut | Koh Kood, Ko Kut 23000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Kut
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Kut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bann Makok The Getaway 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A simply 8 room amidst the mangroove tree at Koh Kut, Thailand, for those who love beach, sea, waterfall and canal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Bann Makok The Getaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bann Makok The Getaway Hotel Koh Kood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing