We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place and location but a few problems”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
A-Na-Lay Resort Koh Kood
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Ko Kut
Reviewed March 5, 2013

A very peaceful resort - lovely location and beach with walkways. Warm, safe sea - great for kids. Make sure you use plenty of insect spray in the evenings. We spent 5 nights, longer than most people, the place seemed to be constantly full. Our main room was quite expensive for the quality of accommodation but the setting and facilities made this acceptable - a more basic room would have been a better choice - the luxury room wasn't worth it.

Our main concern was the management and we are very easy going people usually. One manager was trying to keep it all going pretty well by himself and he was stretched - he did his best to be friendly and chat to people. He had support from an English speaking lady in Bangkok who we spoke to on several occasions as his English was not strong (he found fluent English speakers harder to understand). Our first 'argument' was over the luxury room which we were promised accommodated 3 people - it didn't... this was eventually solved but tainted our stay. We had other problems/unsatisfactory situations: hot water running out (needed new gas cylinder), jacuzzi not working properly, doors not shutting, dangerous kettle, got food bills muddled, argued with us over snorkelling (he kept getting Europeans muddled up). But all these things were relatively minor - just annoying. He did advise us correctly on the best way for us to get to Trat airport - we went via Koh Chang and spent the day there.

We made use of the kayaks and snorkelling trip. The pool was refreshing. There is a distinct lack of seating around the pool and on the beach which should be easily sorted. Many people stayed sitting outside their own lodges on the chairs there.

The food was varied, excellent and good value. Don't eat in the small cafes nearby - I suffered bad consequences! We were entertained by Fire Dancers on 2 of the evenings.

If you want to hire scooters go to the places just outside the resort for better vehicles at a cheaper price. You can get to the waterfalls and fishing villages.

The massages were variable - the older lady was by far the best.

We paid for an expensive room and felt we should have been more pampered. If we'd gone for a more basic room I think we'd have been happier. We have lots of good memories and had a very relaxing time in general - just a few mishaps along the way. Our resort looked as though it had one of the best locations/settings - a real paradise and away from it all.

Room Tip: Go for a basic room (with hot water if you need it) - do not go for one of the expensive ones - they...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank joanna1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
There are newer reviews for A-Na-Lay Resort Koh Kood
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 131 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

The bungalow with A/C+fridge+hot water was big, clean, pretty new, with a nice porch from where to enjoy the sunset. The stuff is friendly and helpful.The food at their resto is good and the prices are reasonable price (100 thb/main dish). The spot is fantastic: close to waterfall and mangroves channel (abt 4.5km), with a wonderful fine beach in a small golf with crystal clear water and rocky spots for snorkelling at the sides.
No too many choices for eating elsewhere than the resort, only a small shop with basic things from where you can also rent motorbikes to do the tour of the island. Koh Kood remains simple and beautiful, the mangroves by kayak is magic, the fisherman villages still not touristic, waterfalls still not crowded. To conclude: Great holidays!

Room Tip: We have seen around 3 rooms before saying Yes. It seemed a quite big resort, not the same quality of...
Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Alice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Koh kod is a very green island with crystal clear sea and a variety of beautiful beaches placed downwind of the prevailing wind. The night life leaves a little to be desired as the external restaurants are very limited and shopping is practically non-existent.
The resort is located on a small bay with a very quiet and charming sea. The bungalows are spacious and quiet so our experience was definitely positive.

Room Tip: The new bungalows are very nice and in the range of 50 sq meters
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank giustdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

First side of hotel is: small houses where you live are a little poor, I saw in a few of theme that in the bathrooms wasnt roof... Houses was clean. Far away from nice beach(about 30min walking). NOTHING in neighboorhod-only road, forest and somewhere small houses. Second side: that is one of the most beautifull place I had ever been. Staff is impossible nice, helpful. Boss of the hotel is like nice man(he give us bike for tour, and fishing for free, also extra price for food). Houses are on the seaside-view is great. Food-amazing and very cheap(try flat noodle in greavy with pork or shrimps-it is the best food I eat in Thailand). Atmosphere in restaurant in the evening is unique(for 1500bath you can eat'dinner set'- that is amazing! Soup, shrimps, squids, salad, fish, crab, rice-very tasty, fresh, great). Very nice breakfast, everyday different. Beach 30min walking away from hotel is beautifull, clean sea. Everything is great. I will back there! Great place!

Room Tip: If you take a room with aircon and roof in the bathroom you will fell very good-believe me!
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pikim t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

This place is mainly making profits on Thai package tourists. Nothing wrong with it, but this explains the attitude and how the place is run. Run down rooms, bad food, shaking floors/bridges( the whole place is sitting on the rocks and one walks on the wooden bridges all the time). Ok, they have a pool- but its cold and half if the sun chairs are broken. Rooms are a disaster- no shelfs, wardrobe or at least hooks. I had to keep everything in the floor. Dark, broken bathroom... Everything us just old and crappy... And this applies to Analay all in all.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LodhiAna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This resort was just perfect for us. The location is extremely quiet and the beaches empty and mostly unspoiled. The manager was a little hard to warm to but he seemed to have a sense of humor. The breakfast times were very strict 7-9am do not turn up at 9.05. Breakfast was adequate. The room we had was very lovely with a lovely lush green surrounding and overlooking a lagoon and the ocean. We were in room 46. It did however overlook an amazing room that was on its own little island with a its own little bridge and big enough for 3 people. It had an incredible view and was very private with a jacuzzi. I am not sure how much it cost but would def get this next time, it also has bean bags. The cost was very high however, our room was 3000 baht a night which was very high but we did have a fridge, flatscreen tv, lovely location and very clean. The toilet did keep breaking every other day but nothing that caused us any problem. Our friends stayed in a place for 1200 which has no aircon or fridge or kettle and was on the main path but i think it was great value to be in such a nice resort.
You have snorkelling and kayaking right from the resort! Its brilliant and not expensive. There is a gorgeous pool that we just did not expect to be so nice and would even consider booking a room by the pool if we went as a group again. We did say that we would go back for more romantic holiday there because it is so gorgeous and our friends even went back 2days ago because they loved it so much so that says alot i think. The resort that i would have preferred was Tinkerbell but this was the best value we think. They have started to do fireshows as well which was ok but i was not expecting this and it is done by the staff which i was not sure they enjoyed particularly but this only happens when the resort is fully booked. They also do a bbq, the bbq was ok, the first night the fish was incredible but the next it was horrible. So a bit of a gamble the squid is lovely and you see them bring it in fresh from the catch.
A great thing is that they have water and hot water available all day which impressed us and they also have a well stocked beer fridge with wine and soft drinks but i didnt see cocktails. We took our own drink though because we didnt even expect there to be any beer available.
There is a littel shop very close by with everything you would need and also bike hire so we got motorbikes out for the day which was fab and easy to get around.
Def recommend.

Room Tip: Try get beach front if possible
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank natalie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed 2nights for Old VIP Jacuzzi room (4,000THB/night) and 4nights for New Air-Con Bungalow (3,000THB/night) and 4nights for New Fan-Bungalow (1,800THB) during a New-Year Holiday.

Rooms
This resort has a 2 type rooms.
Here has an Old Bungalows and New Bungalows.
Old Bungalows and New Bungalows are same price.
However prices are according to room category.

VIP Jacuzzi room
They provided old Bungalow VIP Jacuzzi room for First 2nights. (Most high category room)
Room is very small (Around 15sqm) and very dirty.
Looks just like a temporary shelter house.
They did not maintenance.
Jacuzzi function was not work. (Just bath tub)
And muddy smell water flowing to Jacuzzi.
Refrigerator was not work.
Also could not closed door without fitted.
Many insects come from lot of gaps and holes in the wall and door.
Mat has been used many years.
No springs and consumed.
Could not sleep well

Air-Con Bungalow
New Air-Con Bungalow is OK.
Room is around 40sqm.
Facilities are OK and room is clean
I do not know why this room is cheap than VIP Jacuzzi room.
Better than VIP Jacuzzi room.
We prefer this room.
However, toilette was not flushed.
They could not fix it.
Should be wait for our stool could be melt in the bowl.
Room is very dark.
There has a just 2 small ramps in a room.
We could not read a book.
Also many equipment were beginning consume already due to the maintenance reason.
However, these are not mind for us. It was small issue for us.

Fan bungalow
Room is very small. (Around 10sqm) they do not supply to hot shower.
Screen window is just one side.
Therefore, wind is not passed inside room.
This room is very hot with the evening sun shining in.
A temperature has been raised almost 40 decrease C or more.
But it very easy washes for dry out clothes due to strong sun shining.
This price rate was 1800THB par night by internet booking site.
We discovered same as fan Bungalow next beach.
Price was just 500THB.

Bamboo bungalow
Price is 500THB but we did not stay.
Looks just like a dog house or slum.
Feel is like a constructions worker if you will stay.

Foods
Prices are quite expensive.
Taste is poor but not terrible.
However, drinking menu is reasonable prices.

Resort.
Resort owner has been building a rooms but he did not make a road inside resort.
Animal trail can network to each rooms and restaurant.
We walked on the bush when go to restaurant or beach.
There are no ramps on the trails.
So, you have to hold a light if walking at night.

Service
Resort owner always works with effort.
Probably he is good man but he does not know how managed about resorts.
All staffs quality levels are very poor.
They can not speak English.
(Resort owner can speak English but not fluently)
Major staff can not speak Thai too. They are Cambodians.
(I can speak Thai but it was difficult communication with Cambodian staff.)

Environmental
Location is nice but you should be rent a motor bike for move in island.
Beach is very nice. (Not white sands but water visibility is good.)
Beautiful coral reefs lay at the beach.

Activity
Snookering trip is 700THB par person.
10:00 to 14:30
Speed boat available.

Summary
Room rate is almost twice expensive than other resort.
You are able to stay hear with comfortable if resort could be provided new bungalow for you.
All of constrictions are without maintenances.
Old bungalows are seems deserted houses.
Here is not reached to international standard service.
If you would like to stay at the here you do not miss antimosquito device and light and comfortable sports shoes for trekking in resort.
Danger for children or old person.

If someone ask to me.
Will you came back to this resort?
I would like to say YES if they provide New Air-Con room and less than 1200THB par night.

Room Tip: should be stay new rooms.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank イグモル
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Kut hotels
3.3 mi away
Koh Kood Beach Resort
Koh Kood Beach Resort
#3 of 14 in Ko Kut
219 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cham's House Koh Kood Resort
0.1 mi away
Horizon Resort Koh Kood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Siam Beach Resort
Siam Beach Resort
#14 of 14 in Ko Kut
156 reviews
1.2 mi away
Away Koh Kood
Away Koh Kood
#4 of 14 in Ko Kut
300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dusita Resort Kohkood
Dusita Resort Kohkood
#6 of 14 in Ko Kut
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A-Na-Lay Resort Koh Kood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A-Na-Lay Resort Koh Kood

Address: 76/1-3, Trat-Laem Ngob Road | Nongsamed, Ko Kut 23000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Kut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Ko Kut
Price Range: $35 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A-Na-Lay Resort, Koh-Kood, Trat, Thailand: Luxury Thai bungalow villas and suites surrounded by greenery tropical garden with sea view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your A-Na-Lay Resort Koh Kood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing