We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Cocobar&Bungalow(Ko Jum)(Great Value!)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
$25
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Koh Jum Resort(Ko Jum)
$26
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Jungle Hill Bungalow(Ko Jum)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Golden Pearl Beach Resort(Ko Jum)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (304)
Filter reviews
304 results
Traveler rating
268
24
7
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
268
24
7
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate poolwrite this reviewbedroom villaour honeymoonlow tideabsolute paradisetotal privacyperfect placepure naturedelicious thaimini vaneco resortspent nightskrabi airportbeautiful islandgreat foodthe resort offers
Filter
Updating list...
119 - 124 of 304 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2013

One week here is simply not enough. The staff and management of these gorgeous villas have created a remarkable sanctuary -- one that's far enough away to feel like you're completely disconnected, yet rich with all of the services that make you miss nothing. Here's why:

1) The sea is like bath water. And it's beautiful. We swam every day, kayaked, snorkeled, and took a day-long boat trip to four neighboring islands for more snorkeling, exploring, and swimming in deep green bowls of limestone.

2) Koh Jum is a cool little Thai island that's unspoiled by tourism. Absent is all of the typical resort bull*hit and it's simple to navigate and enjoy. Get a bike or scooter and visit the three tiny villages. Shop locally. Check out the homemade coconut ice cream lady. Buy seafood from the fisherman just up the beach (mornings) and cook something in your villa's kitchen (the blue crabs are amazing). Go out for the day with the longtail boat guys (Mick and Sam!). Smile at the locals. Stop and chat with people. It's a great little island -- safe, sweet, innocent, and [--]-up by tourism.

3) The quality and service at the villa's restaurant and bar are perfect. We had curries, duck, crab, papaya salads, espresso, desserts, and just about everything we could ever wish for on vacation. And it's all a killer value. We were 5 people for the week and our total food/bar bill was about what we would spend in one day at a major resort in Phuket. The chef and wait staff get 5 stars from all of us.

4) There are massages beachside/poolside with two amazingly well-trained and talented ladies. Ask for the oil massage and get 2 hours of deep relaxation with the waves breaking just beyond your feet.

5) Koh Jum Seafood Restaurant -- at the southern end of the island -- is a little family-run joint built on a wooden pier over the water. The crab curry, the salads, and everything on the menu, will blow your mind.

6) If you don't mind a little bit of authentic island "roughing it" (e.g. you'll be delivered to the resort in the back of a pick-up truck, there are giant mud puddles in the dirt roads, air conditioning is non existent, etc.), a stay at this resort will reward you by melting away any urban tensions that may be floating around in your CNS.

But one week here is just not enough.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

The other reviews do this place justice, the only slight disappointment was the beach which was rocky ( some would say this is good, so the developers stay away)

We arrived early November, with no air con it's a tough place for babies and young kids at night, being the biggest baby i particularly struggled at night, as the humidity is stifling.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TERRY26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

There is no need to go into too much detail, as this place truly is paradise. We arrived by long boat directly to our villa - we were amazed by the idilic location and overall layout of our villa (Baan Chai Ley). We awoke every morning to the sounds of paradise, not many people and hugely respectful in everyday. I thought I had seen paradise until I stayed here, untouched, unspoilt and unplugged. You can truly be at one with yourself (and others) here and relax and disconnect from your busy lifestyle. The food, drinks and overall service was not only too notch, but also extremely reasonable. An absolute gem worthy of a strong and unheard of 5.0 perfect Trip Advisor rating.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gazfjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We love to travel and see new places and very rarely go back to a place we have already been, even if it was really lovely. The exception to this rule appears to be Koh Jum Beach Villas, which we have just visited for a third time and have hopes of visiting a fourth and fifth time too.

We came back again, this time to celebrate my partner’s 50th birthday. Although we eventually changed our travel dates a little, which meant we weren’t staying on the actual day, the staff all made a fantastic effort to make the trip really special for us. I know from the reviews that they do this for everybody anyway, but full credit to Chris, Severine, Vera, Taa, Oh, Malee and the many others in the team for making it all seem so effortless, even if you know that underneath that they are peddling like crazy underneath to keep it so perfect.

There are so many superlative reviews here now it seems like overkill to add more but they deserve the good press and it’s reassuring to know that they haven’t let their standards drop or become complacent as time has gone by. I have already written two lengthy reviews after visits one and two and don’t have much more to add, except that it has possibly got better!

What makes this place still stand apart from the others is a magical combination of factors – a peaceful and quiet island with a well established local fishing community who love their island and don’t want it to change too much; a magnificent stretch of beach looking out across the Andaman Sea to the scenic (but much busier and more spoilt) Phi Phi islands; beautiful and comfortable villas built and decorated in a sympathetic and environmentally sound manner; careful landscaping with the emphasis on promoting the native flora and fauna; seemingly happy local staff paid fair wages and employed year round ; great food in a restaurant owned and run by a local family and finally, excellent management and stewardship, with the owners having a vested interest in setting the bar high and to keep on raising it.

Thank you everyone for another fantastic stay and bring on trip number four!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paperduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We came here for a couple of days and immediately prolonged our stay for an additional night and... would love to stay for much longer. We stayed at Baan Chai Ley Villa - the perfect place directly on the ocean. The villa is nicely designed with plenty of love for every detail. Few meters to the private beach. However its privacy is irrelevant because there was anyway barely anyone except some staff members (also during high season according to the staff). If you are looking for an exceptional place which combines peace, beauty of the nature, careful, friendly, helpful and intelligent people, native way of life on the island, ocean sunset from your bed, real Thai culture and not least good food go for Koh Jum Beach Villas. However do not make our mistake. Go there for a longer time - the official minimum stay of five days has its reasons. But be aware! This place makes addictive! :)

Room Tip: There is noting to add. Every Villa is wonderful and special. Just choose by the area / number of people.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IgorSchmied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews