We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Koh Jum Beach Villas
Ranked #1 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Ko Jum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2013

My wife and I spent 4 nights in the Baan Chai Ley villa during our honeymoon - the villa is absolutely beautiful and has it's own little path to beach. Even the bed looks out on the beach, so that when you wake up in the morning the first thing you see is the ocean. Koh Jum itself does not have the beautiful beaches of some other nearby islands, but the peace and solitude you get there more than make up for the slightly cloudier water. The entire staff was just so friendly and professional, I can't imagine it even being possible to get better service. We went on a full day longtail boat trip arranged by KJBV to the Phi Phi islands and it was probably the most memorable day of our honeymoon. The KJBV boat captain (his name was something like "Yo") was just so incredibly nice, took us wide range of amazing snorkeling spots, and every time we got out of the water he seemed to have some treat for us like freshly sliced fruit. Our whole stay was something we will treasure forever and I highly recommend it to anyone looking to escape the crowds of other islands.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris1072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 277 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

I am not sure I can say much that has not already been said about this amazing resort. My daughter (7 years old) and I stayed two nights at KJBV March 3-5th and it was truly the highlight of our trip to Thailand. Severine, Chris and the rest of the amazing staff made us feel welcome from the moment they greeted us on the beach when we arrived. Our villa (Baan Jai Dee) was so much nicer in real life than the internet portrays. We were given a thorough orientation by Ta who checked in with us regularly to ensure our needs were being met. The restaurant was simply amazing. From delicious baked goods to amazing Thai dishes, it was great value. They are happy to bring food to your villa, by the pool or you can dine in the lovely surroundings of the restaurant itself.
I can't say enough for the services of Mama and Samat at the sala by the beach. The thai massage was so relaxing, as the waves and birds serenaded you almost to sleep. I highly recommend the foot scrub as well.
We took the bikes into the small town and thoroughly enjoyed the unspoiled countryside on the way.
If your idea of heaven is to relax without neon lights, crowds, TV etc...then this gorgeous resort on a quiet island is for you.
Thanks for an amazing if not short stay...we hope to be back someday soon!

Room Tip: I recommend taking their prearranged transfer from the mainland; made life so much easier than tryin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We are a couple with one teen daughter and we stayed in the Baan Nest villa. After visiting Bangkok, Chiang Mai and Phuket, we planned this to be our last stop in Thailand before returning home to Canada. Everything worked out perfectly from the booking to the transfer from Phuket to KJBV. Our villa with open air windows/doors was amazing and comfortable, but the workmanship, architecture and details of the home were outstanding! The website photos are great but can't truly show the true essence of the place - peaceful, with nature, gentle waves and fresh air. The beaches were very clean and few people to be seen. The staff are fantastic, kind and genuine. Chris and Severine who manage the place are welcoming and helpful too. If you like shopping, nightlife, etc. this is not the place for you. There are some other restaurants down the beach within walking distance, a very, very small village is also very close by but the restaurant on the villa grounds was excellent food and value. The Thai/oil massages were a daily must-do! Tip: be sure
to bring enough cash with you for dining, snorkelling trips, massage, etc. There is no cash machine
on the island. I would highly recommend this place to anyone who enjoys a peaceful holiday.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

One should be careful with recommending places like this - on the other hand, you are worth being treated the best possible way and KJBV is one of those places where they deliver what you expect. And it's easy to get there, what else could you ask for.

Very nice villas (that deserve this name), superfriendly staff, very nice dive shop with - again - excellent crew and a speed boat that brings you to some of the best dive spots in Thailand (Similans are unfortunately dead due to El Nino).

If you look for entertainment, bars, etc., Koh Jum definitely is the wrong place for you. If you look for a place to chill, read a book, enjoy a beautiful beach (maybe the cleanest beach in Thailand), then go there and please leave one villa for us, because we'll definitely come back.

There are also other restaurants in walking distance, the one of Koh Jum Lodge was our favourite (dining with your feet in the sand is unbeatable).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martin_austria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed in Baan Jai Dee for a few nights on a recent trip touring this part of Thailand, and were completely blown away by the resort, villa and island.
Of course I was expecting somewhere lovely, however our stay here exceeded our expectations in so many ways.

Koh Jum Beach Villas is a very special place indeed. From the moment we arrived we felt welcome, valued and totally taken care of. Nothing was too much trouble, every little thing had been considered and thought of to make sure our stay was wonderful. We were met off the ferry (in fact, I hadn't confirmed our exact point of arrival, so they sent someone to both possible arrival points just to be sure!) and welcomed with cool towels, cold drinks and warm smiles.
We were shown around our amazing villa - and it really was very special. Luxurious but practical and comfortable. From the huge beds, full length sliding doors, verandas, balconies, open air bathrooms and showers, fresh coffee and fruit, numerous seating areas, robes, towels, umbrellas, beach mats, water cooler etc, they really had thought of everything. Each of the villas is to the same very high standard.
The pool area is lovely, and as the villas themselves are so nice for people to spend time in there was always space around the pool, no competing for sun beds. All very civilised! There are hammocks on the beach, a huge swinging bed, complimentary kayaks and bikes too, plus a great selection of books and dvd's.
The restaurant is not owned by KJBV, and we found the food to be some of the best we have had in Thailand, very well priced and the service always excellent, again, nothing is too much trouble. We often had food brought to the room, and also enjoyed their freshly baked cakes and cookies in the mornings.
Chris and Severine have created a very special place, and they clearly have a team of hard working and happy people here - all of the staff were so friendly, helpful and welcoming, but I would like to say that Ta in particular does an amazing job for them and her personal touch with our daughter was something really genuine and special and we thank her for that.
We had last visited koh jum 12 years ago, and were curious to see how much it had changed, and we were delighted to discover that the changes had been all positive. Development has been at a far lower rate to some other islands and beaches, and far more sensitively done. Yes there is now electricity, wifi and great facilities on offer, but the essence of the island was totally unchanged. It was as charming and wonderful as ever - there is basically nothing to do here, which means there is everything to do. If you want to relax, rest, read, swim, snorkel, kayak, walk, talk and enjoy the wonderful surroundings then this is for you. If you want tourist tat, late night bar scene and stall after stall selling the same things then stick to the more developed islands.

Stayed: February 2013
1  Thank Ciarasmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We were told that Koh Jum today is what Koh Lanta apparently used to be some 10 years ago. Electricity came to the island not too long ago and a stretch of tarred road is equally new to the island. If you like party and midnight clubbing this is the wrong place!! If you like it quiet and prefer beautiful and empty beaches this is it.

We particularly liked the privacy of the resort, which is large and spread out. We had a villa for 2 (front row), very spacious and very tastefully decorated. This is probably due to the fact that most villas have different owners who do care and use them when they are on the island.
One has the choice to have meals in the restaurant (or bar) or stay in and get meals delivered to the villa. By the way - Urban Café's food is awesome!

The resort's PADI dive center was not too busy - diving tours in small groups were only offered every other day.

Management and team do everything possible to make you feel home. Price value is unbeatable if you compare with other luxury resorts in Thailand.

However, please keep in mind: most of the villas cater to families with kids. If you travel as a couple, be aware of it!

Food for thought: management could in our view be a bit more supportive when it comes to arrival and departure by public transport (i.e. the ferry between Krabi and Koh Lanta vs. the overpriced taxi option) - for an "eco-friendly" resort that otherwise praises itself for its zero tolerance towards plastic-bottles this would seem a bit more stringent.

Room Tip: We recommend first row with direct access to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ORT2MUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We spent a week staying in Baan Nest at Koh Jum Beach Villas between Christmas 2012 and New Year 2013.
The location is absolutely beautiful and very peaceful. Having small children we were a little worried that the boat transfer might be tricky but it was great fun and a good way to start our holiday.
What really makes KJBV special is the service and the attention from the staff and management. Chris and Severine really set the standard and the rest of the team live up to their example. From the moment we stepped off the boat to being waved off on departure, we really felt welcomed.
We left the resort a couple of times on bikes to visit the main village and enjoyed taking the kayaks out and doing some snorkelling off the beach. The Urban Cafe has a decent menu and the food was always tasty; having food delivered to the house was also a big plus when the kids were feeling fractious.
Overall we had a really relaxing time and enjoyed being in such a special place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mopokeuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Jum
0.3 mi away
Season Bungalow
Season Bungalow
#3 of 4 in Ko Jum
137 reviews
13.9 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,488 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ting Rai Bay Resort
Ting Rai Bay Resort
#1 of 4 in Ko Jum
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Koh Jum Resort
Koh Jum Resort
#2 of 4 in Ko Jum
194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Koh Jum Lodge
Koh Jum Lodge
#2 of 22 in Ko Jum
178 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jungle Hill Bungalow
Jungle Hill Bungalow
#2 of 8 in Ko Jum
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Jum Beach Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Jum Beach Villas

Address: 320 Moo 3, T. Koh Sriboya | Nua Klong, Ko Jum 81130, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Jum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Ko Jum
Price Range: $210 - $538 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Koh Jum Beach Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koh Jum Beach Villas is an exclusive beachfront eco-resort for people looking to lose themselves in the unspoiled beauty of long, secluded beaches and lush tropical landscape. This community of privately owned Luxury Villas, offers sumptuous accommodation, each including a master bedroom suite, guest suites, and a dining and a relaxation area. An outstanding restaurant, lounge, pool, dining-in, massage, diving & snorkeling and tours enable guests to relax, explore and unwind in this tropical paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Koh Jum Beach Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Jum Beach Villas Hotel Koh Jum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing