We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time at Koh Jum”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Koh Jum Beach Villas
Ranked #1 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Ko Jum
Certificate of Excellence
Serbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful time at Koh Jum”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We had a great time at Koh Jum. The villas ar marvellous, the beach spotless, the food at the Urban Cafe and the service out of the world. You get a lot for your money. Its peaceful. Excellent diving resort and excellent diving crew. Its peaceful, so you have to like it like that but that is what we searched for. One little minus: at low tide its difficult to get into the water because of the rocks.

Overall one of the most beautiful islands we have ever been and the Villas are top. We can fully understand and confirm previous reviews.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RolandSerbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    23
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
100
134
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Arriving at our Villa - Bann Chang.. This villa sleeps 4 people with 2 double bedrooms and 2/1bathrooms + private pool.
Firstly the interior design is so fantastic and inspirational you want to put this villa in your pocket and take it home. Its a home a way from home or the home we all wish we lived in should we stay on Koh Jum forever.
Our Villa was super clean offered everything you needed to make your stay practical and sufficient. The staying in this villa all day was fine as you have your own ( Bann Chang Villa ) private pool!
If you want to socialise there is also a communal pool (always very quite) and you are a 3 min walk from the beach front also so you can swim in the sea or scuba dive .
The resort is small , peaceful and very well run by friendly staff who all talk English & French very well.
When you arrive you are welcomed by the managers of the resort who make you feel instantly at home and offer endless service for you to feel like a celebrity.
There is an amazing restaurant and bar on the resort also but you also have the choice to walk to a few local restaurants along the beach front for a little variety. As well as this you can have a spa treatment on the beach front offered by 2 fantastic professional ladies.. Great for both men and women to unwind. At only £2.00 a day for a 1 hour body rub down you can't go wrong!
You can take a day trip to some of the other islands but trust me you'll be missing your heaven in a few hours..
The ideal place to come with a family, couples and friends who want escape the madness of life at home.
I've booked my villa for 2013 already! See u again soon Koh Jum Beach Villas!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ROSYBEAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one week after my brother's wedding in Phuket.
Transportation: We had no problems with the transfers. We were picked up at Phuket Airport then after our stay dropped at the Krabi Airport. The van that we were picked up in was very comfortable. The long boat was fine though a little loud due to the motor. Also, be prepared to climb in and out of it by ladder and when you arrive to be climbing down into shallow water right on the beach. Make sure you have cash to pay for the transfers upon arrival. If you forget to get cash you will have to catch a boat to an island with an ATM.

Food and Drinks: Fantastic. For the entire week we spent around $300. We ate every meal at Urban Cafe except for the two lunches on the boat when we were SCUBA diving. We had about every item on the menu and all were good. Our favorites were: banana pancakes, thai pizza, and the local specialty curry. The service was great. They kept a running tab for us during our stay. Again, have cash to settle the bill at the end of your stay.

Villa: Phenomenal. Perfect for couples. It did get a bit hot at night with the mosquito net but some innovation by my husband with the fans helped a lot. We brought some of our own drinks and bottles of wine/champagne since there is a fridge in the room. I would recommend bringing your own Nalgene like bottle to put the provided water in so you can trek around with it.

SCUBA: We completed the online course prior to arrival. We spent one afternoon in the pool and 2 days completing the Open Water Diver Course (2 dives each day). Vera and Peter were great. They were patient and very funny. We were the only ones being instructed at the time so we got a lot of individual attention. I think Vera is the only reason I got through the highly anxiety provoking experience and enjoyed myself. We plan on continuing the SCUBA from here on out. We definitely want to make our way back to dive with them more.

Beach: The ocean is calm to the point we could float on our backs without being smacked by waves for long periods of time. There are no big waves. It is best to get in the water during high tides as the beach is rocky in places. We also got some great shells.

Overall, Koh Jum Beach Villas is a great place. It is exactly what my husband and I look for in a vacation, small and private. There are other places on the island but none of them appeared to be quite like Koh Jum. They had teams cleaning the beach and caring for the grounds daily. Everyone was very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jambi3484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We thought we would splash out for a few days and stay at Koh Jum Beach Villas and it was one of the best decisions we could have made.
We stayed in the couples villa Baan Noi Chai Ley and the photos on the site don't do it justice. It was absolutely stunning and felt like you had your own section of paradise. The room was 20m from the beach and the beach itself (especially at high tide) was stunning - cleaned every morning and a lot less pebbles and rocks compared to other resort beaches.
The staff were simply incredible. The teams at the on-site Urban Cafe and the masseuses were warm, friendly and really happy to engage in banter. We tried eating next door at Koh Jum Lodge, which looked great but the quality was nowhere near as good as on-site at Beach Villas. We ate at the Urban Cafe for every other meal and it was awesome!
The food and massages were AMAZING and I couldn't believe how cheap they were! 500 baht/ £11 for a 2 hour massage and you could eat well for 1000 baht for 2. You never felt ripped off at all, which was lovely considering the quality of everything else and how remote you were.
It's not the liveliest of islands but if you just want to chill out, relax and enjoy lazy days, this is perfection. Thanks to Chris and Sevrine for all their help - excellent hosts!

Room Tip: Baan Noi Chai Ley is really lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mhalliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Well, thanks to the KJBV crew for making our week long stay a pleasure...

We were welcomed onto the island from our private long-tail boat transfer by Chris and Sev - who manage KJBV - and were whisked straight to our villa for a very quick check-in and welcome by Khun Fon.

From here it was clear this was not your usual 'resort'. The manicured grounds and pathways show the attention to detail that KJBV has put into its overall design, and the detail, style and finish of our 1 bed seafront villa was second to none... This is a unique resort in the sense that all the villas are privately owned and designed, and are not just carbon copy tourist boxes that seem to have sprung up all over Thailand in the last few years...

Koh Jum is a peaceful predominantly Muslim island, with not much going on, which was perfect for the last week of our month stay in Thailand...

Most days were as follows:
Wake up to the waves lapping the shore, just outside your open fronted villa... Have a GREAT breakfast at Urban Cafe (Thai or western.. Try the Khao Tom Gai, and start your day like the Thais do) Take a Kayak and explore the west coast of Koh Jum, or even further if you have the energy... Have a read and relax on your balcony till lunch time... Or take a bicycle and ride into one of the 3 villages or the street food market on the weekends... Eat again... Have an afternoon nap in one of the many hammocks or in your villa... Have a Thai massage on the beach (or in your villa)... Watch the sunset from the deserted beach... Eat again... Couple of quiet drinks at the bar... Time for bed... Repeat...

You get the idea... No all night parties, No jet ski's, No beach vendors, No girlie bars, No nonsense... Just a relaxing quiet island with a great team that will make your stay one to remember...

Once you are in your villa, all the facilities are included... KJBV seem to be on the ball with the little things that can make or break a stay, like charging for petty extras like bikes, kayaks and internet etc... All this is free, and with the VERY reasonable pricing of the Urban Cafe (I have seen more expensive menu's in backpacker places) and drinks at the bar cheaper than most street bars, then you will not worry about getting a shock bill at the end of your stay...

If your really adventurous you could book a days diving or snorkeling with the in-house dive shop... Great instructors and a nice small speedboat (10 or so people) which you will appreciate once you see the other huge tourist dive boats herding people on and off like sheep...

Chris and Sev were always making sure we were comfortable and were happy to go the extra mile for us and arrange a private champagne breakfast on the beachfront... They were even so good to give us a late check out as our transfer was late afternoon and the room wasn't booked for the next day... Not often a resort will do that for you and not ask for a days rent!

Well worth the splurge for something different...

Superb Accommodation
Excellent Staff & Management
Top Notch Location

See you guys next year!!!!

Paul and Debs

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Noeski76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfville, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My husband and I were completely blown away by this place, the people, the service, and how at "home" we felt here. It exceeded our expectations in so many ways. We found out prior to our trip that we were "expecting", and I was feeling especially picky about foods, and I have to say that the restaurant on the resort was incredible. The ingredients were so fresh, and the staff were always so sweet with changing things around for my sensitive palate. We arrived at the very beginning of the season, Oct 1st, the day the resort re-opens, and we had this spectacular beach all to ourselves, and the pool as well almost every day we were there. Chris and Sev were so amazing, and stocked our fridge with some of my favourites before we arrived, but they also upgraded up to a larger villa (Baan Chai Ley) because the one we rented (Ban Noi Chai Ley) didn't have a kitchen and they wanted us to be able to prepare the salads I'd been so craving. We couldn't believe our luck with finding this place, which met our expectations in terms of environmental responsibility, as well as just a friendly, warm atmosphere, where you were always greeted warmly by staff, and anything you need was attended to very quickly, and the peace and quiet of this place was so welcome after a month of travelling extensively through southeast asia. My husband and I considered Koh Jum Beach Villas the highlight of our entire 5 week vacation, and will travel back someday soon with our 'little one'. Some highlights forgot to mention...
- the excursion to mosquito and bamboo island
- the villas are spectacular
- the beach and ocean on your front door step, literally a deserted beach
- the sunsets were incredible
Thanks to Chris and Sev also for their help getting us back to the airport, despite a monsoon coming through :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Chris and Severine and all the team made our trip so relaxing it has taken a year to write this review. I will not repeat much of the detail in other reviews but to say :

KJBV is extremely special and we will return one day. Like many other reviewers we really want to keep this place "a secret" The real test will be keeping the pace of life, exclusivity and great service that they have got so right.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank TheGraysRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Jum
2.0 mi away
Ting Rai Bay Resort
Ting Rai Bay Resort
#1 of 4 in Ko Jum
254 reviews
18.5 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,423 reviews
18.1 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Koh Jum Resort
Koh Jum Resort
#3 of 4 in Ko Jum
188 reviews
0.2 mi away
Koh Jum Lodge
Koh Jum Lodge
#2 of 22 in Ko Jum
178 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jungle Hill Bungalow
Jungle Hill Bungalow
#2 of 8 in Ko Jum
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Jum Beach Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Jum Beach Villas

Property: Koh Jum Beach Villas
Address: 320 Moo 3, T. Koh Sriboya | Nua Klong, Ko Jum 81130, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Jum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Ko Jum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Koh Jum Beach Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koh Jum Beach Villas is an exclusive beachfront eco-resort for people looking to lose themselves in the unspoiled beauty of long, secluded beaches and lush tropical landscape. This community of privately owned Luxury Villas, offers sumptuous accommodation, each including a master bedroom suite, guest suites, and a dining and a relaxation area. An outstanding restaurant, lounge, pool, dining-in, massage, diving & snorkeling and tours enable guests to relax, explore and unwind in this tropical paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koh Jum Beach Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Jum Beach Villas Hotel Koh Jum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing