We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVELY PEOPLE MAKES A LOVELY PLACE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ting Rai Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ko Jum
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“LOVELY PEOPLE MAKES A LOVELY PLACE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

The people here are fantastic and so helpful over everything, including cooking up a fish banquet when I caught a large barracuda and not charging us. The rooms were cleaned every day. The beach is lovely. The manageress and the other staff were friendly and chatty and funny. Great place to stay

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dicey151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    75
    13
    3
    0
See reviews for
33
169
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bretagne
Level Contributor
73 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

Not so easy to go by road to ting rai , we try ,but road was too muddy , finish our trip by boat.
Ting rai has a little beach , rocky at low tide , but it is the best beach on this area , a lot of more rocks left and right .Breakfast and restaurant was very fine.
We got a family bungalow close to sunset bar with a big terrace , was very nice,except basic bathroom
Problem on this area is that you can out go out without a boat, so it is better if weather is fine...
You can see monkeys at dawn and sunrise,don't leave anything on terrace , specially drinks, because they will rob it...
Bungalows are on hill, with two rows not to far from beach and restaurant , so if you don't want to climb , ask for them.
Staff was very friendly.
No a lot of beach chair,need to take one early if you need one...

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillou29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
308 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

We stayed at a different resort but came to eat here one evening. The food was authentic Thai and very nice.

Everyone seemed happy.

The beach is good.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HalDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

My brother and sister-in-law married at Ting Rai Bay Resort in 2011, hiring the entire resort for all the guests for a week.

After spending 2 nights in Ao Nang, arriving in Tai Rai Bay via a ferry then long tail was like entering a blissful oasis - no more crowds, hawkers, noisy bars or busy streets. Peace!

The rooms are comfortable rustic huts of varying sizes, some very large with multiple beds and very large balconies suitable for families. Others like ours was small but had two big chairs with cushions and somewhere to put your feet up. Inside the rooms are rustic but if you're not expecting 5 star facilities you should be pretty happy. Our bed was comfortable and had a double mosquito net. There was a small desk, chair, lamp and something to hang towels to dry on. Fresh towels and bed linen are provided each day which was a relief as in April when we were there the intense humidity meant nothing ever dried out completely. The ensuite bathrooms are very basic - a small sink, handheld shower, large bucket (handy for washing your clothes in), no hot water (there is just one room in the resort that has hot water and air conditioning and I'm guessing it books out fast!). Some basic toilettries were provided but I would strongly recommend taking your own soap/shower gel, toothpaste etc. Everything is very clean. Each room has it's own balcony with seats where you can watch the world go by. Our room was situated fairly near the bottom of the hill (second hut from the bottom) so were lucky we didn't have much of a climb as the hill the resort is based on is quite steep.

We stayed for 5 nights and ate some of the best and cheapest food we had in Thailand in the resort's restaurant. The bar selection is pretty limited - beer was the main beverage of choice and we brought wine with us for the wedding as they don't sell it there. I don't recall there being any cocktails or spirits offered, but I could be wrong. There is an endless supply of cold water (large bottles).

We didn't explore the entire island but from walking up and down the beach it looks like Tai Rai Bay has the best beachfront as they have deliberately cleared it of the many rocks that otherwise line the shoreline, making swimming safe and relaxing. The resorts has 4 or 5 cabanas. They've probably seen better days but were fine - we picked up some grass mats from Ao Nang which came in handy lying on the beach or on the cabanas huts. There are hammocks and wooden beach loungers around, so there is usually somewhere comfy to lie down or relax. The resort owners and staff are honest, friendly and helpful.

Really enjoyed our stay there. It is a little on the rustic side and the lack of hot water meant the next hot shower we had (at the Hilton, Bangkok) was long overdue! However it was incredibly peaceful and relaxing, perfect if you want to get away from it all, are on a budget, and don't want people hovering over you trying to sell you something every 5 minutes. Take some good books to read and a torch/flash-light will come in handy after dark. There are no shops nearby so if you want snacks bring them with you.

Room Tip: Ask for the only room they have with hot water and air con! It's situated nearest the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aburnsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

After three rather hectic weeks of travelling in Thailand, Laos and Vietnam we found ourselves more than ready to find a quiet place where we could swim, listen to the waves, read a book or two and eat good food when we felt hungry. Ting Rai Bay Resort fulfilled our needs extremely well.

Unlike the bustling towns of Phuket and Krabi, with busloads of tourists and backpackers ready to party the night away, Ko Jum Island (also known as Ko Pu Island), is a place to retreat from the hustle, the bustle, the noise and the crowds.

There is one ferry a day that stops at the island and that leaves Krabi in the late morning en route to Ko Lanta. The same single ferry picks up returning travellers from the island around 9:30 AM on its way back to Krabi.

That one hour ferry ride and then the transfer to a long-tail boat, at sea, creates the separation needed to leave the stress behind and prepare to relax.

The setting in which the resort is located is beautiful. A dozen small cabins climbing the hillside from the beach yet partially surrounded by vegetation including a variety of orchids, bougainvillea and bird of paradise plants provide a beautiful tropical setting.

There are no large resorts to be found nearby. A handful of other similar resorts dot the coastline and one can stroll along the beach or walk along the rugged road to check out what is nearby and visit the Muslim village which is within easy walking distance.

While there is one, large air-conditioned cabin, most of the cabins are very simple. Many consist of a single room and adjoining bathroom standing on stilts and connected to the large, open air restaurant and social hub by a series of rough steps and paths. While there is no air-conditioning and no hot water, there are oscillating fans in the rooms to provide for good air circulation and mosquito netting around the bed. It's quite quiet at night, other than the occasional sound of the waves and the noise of the birds and the monkeys to rouse late sleepers.

We found the food consistently good and enjoyed all of the dishes we tried. There are no set hours for meals so one can eat when hunger speaks.

While Ting Rai Bay Resort has all the hallmarks of being a single-family operation, I was surprised to learn that the staff were not family members. The owner, a Buddhist, has a staff that is mainly Muslim. There is a strong bond of respect amongst them which leaves the impression of a family. Out of respect for the beliefs of her staff, Taam, the proprietor, uses only food that meets the hallal (dietary) requirements of Islam. [This is like a Christian proprietor serving only kosher food where the kitchen staff are all Jewish.]

We are currently awaiting the long-tail boat that will take us away from this oasis of peace so that we can continue our journey. We will head off refreshed, relaxed and well prepared to confront the world in a much more balanced way.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miko_leVoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

Our one week stay at Ting Rai Bay was perfection. The bungalow was gorgeous with a king sized bed and view of the sea - and very clean. We have stayed in other jungle/forest locations and none have come even close to being so well maintained. The restaurant has great seating areas overlooking the beach and water and the food is excellent. The staff was incredibly friendly and always ready with a smile. We were sad to leave and would love to go back. I'd recommend staying here to anyone. Koh Jum is one of the quieter of the Thai islands and we were so happy to be away from all the chaos of high season traveling.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth_Amy_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
112 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

My partner and I just stayed here for 4 nights. Absolute heaven. At first, I was worried that it was so remote with little to do. However, it became one of the true highlights of our two weeks in Thailand. The 15 cottages are all perched in the steep hillside, many with a seaview. A terrific restaurant, extremely friendly staff, very nice beach. By taxi you can visit the tiny Chinese village where there is an excellent place to have lunch or dinner, The Koh Jum Seafood restaurant right on the harbor. By the end of our 4 days, we wished we had booked a longer stay!! It is about an hour by ferry from Krabi. You have to transfer from the ferry to a longtail boat which then takes you to the resort. The staff is very helpful during the transfer as you climb from the ferry to the boat.

Room Tip: Cottage # 7 is a bit more expensive because it has 2 double beds and a huge deck overlooking the sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schanke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Jum
0.1 mi away
Koh Jum Resort
Koh Jum Resort
#3 of 4 in Ko Jum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
2.0 mi away
Koh Jum Beach Villas
Koh Jum Beach Villas
#1 of 21 in Ko Jum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jungle Hill Bungalow
Jungle Hill Bungalow
#2 of 8 in Ko Jum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Last Fisher Koh Jum
Last Fisher Koh Jum
#6 of 21 in Ko Jum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
19.9 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ting Rai Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ting Rai Bay Resort

Property: Ting Rai Bay Resort
Address: 134 Moo 5 Baan, Ko Jum 80310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Jum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ko Jum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ting Rai Bay Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ting Rai Bay resort is a small resort on Koh Jum island, a quiet little paradise at Thailand's Andaman coast.The resort is built into a hill slope and can accommodate up to 35 persons. Nicely set amidst unspoiled jungle and the water is just a few steps below your bungalow. Great views on the Phi Phi islands, famous for their scenic beauty, where the sun sets down in ever changing colours. Tingrai Bay Resort has 15 bungalows with different characteristics to choose.They all are furnished with comfortable kingsize or queensize beds and have private balcony and bathrooms with toilet and warm shower. All rooms have fans. Free wifi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ting Rai Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ting Rai Bay Hotel Koh Jum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing