We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh the food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Koh Jum Oonlee Bungalows

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Jum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Koh Jum Oonlee Bungalows
Ranked #1 of 8 Ko Jum B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Oh the food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We loved Oon Lee Bungalows. We travelled in the very wet season, but thankfully our experience at Onn Lee and Koh Jum has still left us with wonderful warm memories. The grounds and rooms were spotless, the garden divine. Monkeys were visitors on your roof top and the views from each bungalow were beautiful. We stayed in the two bedroom family bungalow and it was more like a small house. Our boys loved it. By far the stand out for me was the food. It was the tastiest food I experienced on our travels to Thailand this time. The communal eating and relaxing space was gorgeous and like all the other reviews state, Valerie and Onn were wonderful. If you are after a white sandy beach at your doorstep, this isn't your place. But if you would like to experience a not quite so developed part of Thailand with warm people and a little more adventure, then it's the place! Our only regret is that we didn't stay for very long, we had to find the sun! If you make it there, enjoy! If the carpaccio of prawns is on offer, order it!

Room Tip: The more expensive family room was further from the sea, and was beautiful and allowed for separate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    47
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
31
146
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Just a short review really, my wife and I came on our honeymoon for 6 days and couldn't of asked for a more beautiful, welcoming and idyllic place to go. Valerie and Oon are the perfect hosts and their resort is a fantastic place to stay. I cant really recommend it highly enough we went off season but still found plenty to do and weather was great. Everyone we met on the Islands was helpful and kind and would hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paddylynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hout Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Totally agree with previous reviewers, Valerie and Oon have absolutely got it right and I'm a little reluctant to write the glowing review it deserves so as to keep it a bit more of a secret! Valerie, Oon and everyone who works there all work extremely hard and go out of their way to help and make you feel welcome.

The bungalows are spotless with lots of lovely little touches to make your stay extra special. They're perfectly designed to maximise privacy and the stunning views. The food is fantastic, every meal we ate there was delicious.

Yes, the beach is rocky, but sandy beaches are a ten min walk along the shore.

Like so many others have done before us, we ended up changing our plans and staying on longer, we were lucky that someone delayed their trip so that there was a bungalow available for us.

The snorkelling trip was a highlight, as were sundowners on the decks with new friends. We also really enjoyed a day scooting round the island. We started off on bicycles but at nearly 40degrees and with those hills, we soon switched to an engine.

You can get a motorbike taxi to the village for 170 baht (a 20 min hilly walk to the pick up point but you get o see monkeys!). We managed to get a pick up truck all the way back from Andaman resort one day for around 250 baht.

Thank you Valerie and Oon, we'll be back!

...if you go to the village green/ square at 5pm some days you can see elephants!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randomkat80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Valerie, Oon and their team have built up a beautiful lodge on the unspoilt island of Koh Jum and they bring in a very personal top-notch service, that I've never experienced anywhere before.

The bungalows are built alongside the hill, so that you never have a bungalow obstructing your view to the beautiful garden or to the ocean - that gives you privacy in your own space while still being in reach of all the facilities - take in account that the climb can be "hard work" after a few sundowners at the bar, watching the sunset with Ko PhiPhi on the horizon - but the food is worth every "effort"!

You can spend the days in your own hammock in the shade, go snorkelling right in front of the beach, take a moped-tour of the island with it's unspoilt infrastructure, kayaking, take in a massage ... in my eyes a little paradise, which will definitely see me again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jochen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

This was our first stop ever in Thailand's Islands and I consider us incredibly lucky. The warm welcoming you receive by Valerie when you walk up the stairs makes you feel like you've just arrived at home. The wildly beautiful surroundings/landscaping make it feel like you've arrived on your own private island. There is so much attention to detail in each of the bungalows, the restaurant, relaxation decks, bar....and the list goes on. Valerie is a wonderful woman who always makes sure everything is just right. Her crew is outstanding; so friendly and concerned about your comfort. Although the beach directly in front of the resort can get be rocky it is fun for snorkeling (equipment provided at no extra charge) or you can walk just a bit down the beach for perfect swimming space.

We can't say enough about this wonderful place and can't wait to plan our next visit.

Room Tip: For just a few baht more the sea view bungalows aren't a bad way to wake up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather4383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Excellent , delicious, clean, friendly, Family Business!

Funny People who know what Service means!
Perfect Bungalows for a very Good Price!

I've Never Seen auch a Professional Kitchen in Thailand!

Hope See you again sometimes! We will for Site come back to Koh Jum! Wish you a Nice Holiday too

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sadepsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We were planning to stay at Oon Lee for 5 nights, reservation and transportation advice all worked out very well. You can see that the place was built with a lot of love. So much effort put into little details, you can feel it. We were staying in one of the simpler bungalows with sea view, no air condition, just a mosquito net and a fan. It was quite hot during our stay and we were sweating pretty hard as we were spoilt by air conditions at our previous stays.

Things you should know:
- yes, there will be at least geckos in your room, but they eat all the mosquitos and bugs
- yes, there are some cracks in the floor, "things" could get into your room - we were sleeping with open windows and never had a problem at all. first two night we were a little bit freaking out about this fact, but hey, you are on a small island with no major resorts and thousands of tourists - it is worth it.
- yes, the beach right in front is rocky - if you expect a white sandy beach a la Railay, go somewhere else. (you need to walk a few minutes to get to a more sandy area) - there are definitely nicer beaches out there --> go on a island tour, you can rent the longtail boat with a driver from the resort
- yes, the food is more pricey than e.g. eating at the nightmarket in Krabi, BUT the food is ALWAYS excellent, tasty and you ARE on an island with no major grocery strore or anything around. (a bottle of water is 35 baht, a can of beer around 70).

If you can deal with all of the above, this is your perfect stay. Cozy, family run, warm and welcoming atmosphere, relax and do nothing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The Great B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Jum hotels
0.2 mi away
Ting Rai Bay Resort
Ting Rai Bay Resort
#1 of 4 in Ko Jum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
2.0 mi away
Season Bungalow
Season Bungalow
#2 of 4 in Ko Jum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Koh Jum Resort
Koh Jum Resort
#3 of 4 in Ko Jum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Jungle Hill Bungalow
Jungle Hill Bungalow
#2 of 8 in Ko Jum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
2.2 mi away
Koh Jum Beach Villas
Koh Jum Beach Villas
#1 of 21 in Ko Jum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
1.9 mi away
Golden Pearl Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Jum Oonlee Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Jum Oonlee Bungalows

Property: Koh Jum Oonlee Bungalows
Address: Kidon Beach, Ko Jum, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Jum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Jum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have created Oonlee Bungalows on the island of Koh Jum to be more than just another vacation resort amidst the others. It's a family affair. Simple, yet luxurious, beautiful and exotic, charming wooden bungalows stand on stilts, scattered around a shaded, tropical garden. Master craftsman, Oon carefully managed the construction of the bungalows and Lee the design details which proved to be a enjoyable and successful division of labor. The price of the bungalows range from 800 Thai Baht to 3000 Thai Baht at high season. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Koh Jum Oon Lee Bungalows Hotel Koh Jum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing