We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic but relaxing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Jum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kohjum Joy Bungalow
Ranked #4 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Ko Jum
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Ko jum and the Joy Bungalows is my boyfriends favourite place in the world and he wanted to show it to me.
Basically, it's beachside bungalows. It is very serene. Honestly not a lot to do except eat, sleep, read, swim, sun bake and repeat!
The bungalows themselves are pretty rustic & basic. We stayed on one set on stilts so we got nice air flow. Bathrooms are cold showers only. There is no power in your bungalows but they give you a latern to take to your bungalow.
The restaurant is fairly good. We were lazy and ate here for 3 days straight but judging from the other bungalows we saw from the beach, you could eat somewhere different everyday if you wanted to.
As I said, Joy bungalows is quite rustic but for a few days, it's a nice place to get off from the world.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 77 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2014

Joy Bungalows on Koh Jum is a very nice place. Individual bungalows ranging in price are spread from the beachfront to further inland. The central gathering area and dining hall has a large thatched roof and around twenty dining tables, facing the beach. The staff are all extremely friendly, and they're very efficient workers as well. Prices are reasonable. A generator powers the main building with electric lights in the evening till around 11 pm, and guests are given oil lamps to use in their bungalows at night. The whole thing is very quaint, and yet at the same time very sweet. Koh Jum itself is one of the last remaining islands in this area that have yet to be completely ruined by masses of sometimes insensitive tourists and the somewhat arrogant tourist trade workers that you'll find on other, more developed Thai islands. Catch Joy Bungalows and Ko Jum while you can. The charm may not last very long.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
2  Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This is a special place...for us one of the best resort in thailand! We have been here several times, and we have always been very satisfied with the accomodation, the service and the food. The bungalows are all detached and far apart from each other, the garden is beautiful with many big trees, the beach is a vast and deserted expanse of sand, the sea is transparent and clean. But, more importantly, there's an incredible atmosphere all around: relax, quiet and joyful. The place is very nice and clean, the food is very good and they make also a good italian pizza. From here you can easily walk to the village, where you can find some shops and some nice restaurant. The island also is very nice, you can visit it by renting a motorbike. If you want some relax during your holidays, if you want to experience a real thai peace, you cannot miss Joy Bungalow and Koh Jum! A tip: as there is no electricity at night, bring with you a torch.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed here for about a week and it is so nice!The place has only got power in the evening and only in the restaurant, but i only makes it more special! Met the most nicest and friendly people there.I would definitely recommend the resort. It was by far the most relaxing part our trip as the beach so peaceful and much less hectic than anywhere else in Thailand we went

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank takis l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for about a week and it is so nice!
Quite place with a very friendly staff and a beautiful Beach!
The place has only got power in the evening and only in the restaurant, but i only makes it more special!
When you go sleep at night you get a lantern to your bungalow and it makes a great atmosphere!
I can only say good things about this place and hope it stayes this way!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank methgaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

a great and quiet little place directly at the beach! nice little bungalows without any luxury but a nice and clean bathroom (including a half open air-shower)! very romantic and comfortable. very nice staff and some good an cheap thai food. Koh Jum itself is a very quiet and nice island. Met the most nicest and friendly people there! The Bungalows have now electric power and you get a oil lamp, very romantic! only thing is there are too many germans! (note: I'm a german myself!) ;) we will definitly come back!
p.s. compliment for the little barkeeper ;) keep up your good work!! i work in hospitality and never ever a experienced such a nice and personal service like this in a restaurant in europe!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gregwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

- Attentive and friendly staff.
- Whilst comparatively expensive, this is one of the nicest bungalows on the island.
- Nice garden and setting
- Saman is the man and throws a good, fun party. One stafff members turns ladyboy for special events. He fell in love with our French friend (see photo below) which made for a very hilarious evening for everyone excluding our mate! haha!
- Rooms have no electricity but it's not really a problem. I can't handle hot sleeping but didn't have a problem.
- Nice vibe compared to New Bungalows and Freedom Bar.
- We didn't have great weather during our stay but the charm of the island made it not so important.
- Bring mosquito repellant with 20% deet. A German couple was going to leave the island because they had repellant with no deet and got eaten alive. Prepare and you'll enjoy!
- Drink Big Changs cheap and cheerfully in Jum Town for only 60 baht or its 120 in Joy.
- Seafood Restaurant at the end of the street on the water in town is excellent.
- You don't need to hire a bike to go to town. It's only 15 minute walk. If you want to explore the island get a bike for this.
- Golden Pearl is nice. Fun beach beer hut!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucas and Chris... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Jum hotels
1.6 mi away
Season Bungalow
Season Bungalow
#3 of 4 in Ko Jum
150 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ting Rai Bay Resort
Ting Rai Bay Resort
#1 of 4 in Ko Jum
263 reviews
0.9 mi away
Andaman Beach Resort Koh Jum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Koh Jum Resort
Koh Jum Resort
#2 of 4 in Ko Jum
207 reviews
1.4 mi away
Koh Jum Lodge
Koh Jum Lodge
#2 of 22 in Ko Jum
190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Freedom Hut Bungalow
Freedom Hut Bungalow
#10 of 22 in Ko Jum
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kohjum Joy Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kohjum Joy Bungalow

Address: 21/53 Kor Ladprow Soi 15 | Ladpraw Rd.,Chomphon, Jatujak, Ko Jum 10900, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Jum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Ko Jum
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Kohjum Joy Bungalow Hotel Koh Jum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing