We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ao Phang Nga National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yaowawit School/Lodge
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

It was an AMAZING experience to visite and stay at the Yaowawit school/lodge. Very friendly and sweet people working there, the kids where amazing!!!! Stayed there for a week, the rooms and service where very good. Overall just a amazing experience!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yve_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We stayed overnight on the weekend during a mountain bike ride from Phuket to Takua Pa on the coast. We met Vincent, one of the volunteers, who showed us the school, the restaurant and the accommodations. The whole concept of the place is pretty cool, a school for underprivileged children, some direct victims of the 2004 tsunami, some indirect victims, others just struggling from various family issues. Either way, the school has a provided a unique educational opportunity for these children, underprivileged or not, in a beautiful setting. Not only do they have normal school classes, but are kept very busy tending gardens, taking field trips, volunteering at the hospital, learning computer skills, and even music classes. I have never seen a Thai school offering so many different activities.

The accommodation seemed pretty dear for 1200 THB per night, but after seeing how large and well appointed the rooms were, I understood. The food in the restaurant was excellent and they served large portions for a very reasonable price.

Kapong is one of the prettiest towns in southern Thailand, and the hilly countryside has great mountain biking trails, waterfalls, temples, markets, and a very nice hot springs which is a "must see." If you want a taste of country life as well as doing something to help children, this is a good holiday destination.

Room Tip: They have two room types, deluxe and standard and both are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SiamDivenSail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2011

Set in the hills around Khao Lak and nestled in the middle of a rain forest is Yeowa Wit Hotel/School. A lovely getaway from the bustle of Khao Lak (scuba diving headquarters for this area) and only 30 minutes minutes by car/motorbike. The roads are good to and from. Once you’re there you can chose from one of seven units, ranging from deluxe rooms to suites. The rooms are spacious and decorated simply but elegantly. In the morning one awakes with the feeling of having just spent the night in a tree house. The hotel provides all the amenities one could wish for: air conditioning, olympic size pool, good internet connection. There’s a large community room where one can enjoy cable tv, music, karaoke and help themselves to a fully stocked refrigerator of beer and soft drinks. All profits earned go toward making the school self sustainable. The hotel is also a training experience for older students who plan to work in the hotel industry. There are a 150 students in the school ranging from ages 5-18 years. The student body is mostly made up of children from poor rural areas and local children who are at risk due to poverty. Food is prepared by the head masters wife who is an excellent cook. Part of the charm is running into small children on their way to class or meals, (be prepared to answer questions such as “what is your name” and “where are you from”). Communication at times can be difficult (the staff is in the process of learning English) but the price at Suite/900B/night is right for those tourists interested in a unique boutique hotel experience that gives something back to a community of children who otherwise would not have access to an education or hope for a better life.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigGNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2011

Yaowawit is a very special place. Set-up after the Tsunami, it is from its origin a school/orphanage for kids with sad family stories. Meanwhile own agricultural activities, a lodge and a restaurant help to earn money in order to support this project. So you have the great opportunity to spend days in beautiful nature, relax at a spacious pool, and if you like, get to know 100 happy and very energetic kids, who make you smile the moment you meet them. We support one of children financially, so we have our "special friend" our "godchild" at Yaowawit. That's another strong point about Yaowawit in case you are interested in supporting a Charity Organisation and want to make sure the money directly reaches the target audience. Until now, we went twice to Yaowawit. For my 7year old daugther it is a tremamdous learning opportunity, and very joyful (same is true for me as mother). It helps to change perspectives, reflect on real values in life - I personally feel especially for us as European Expats in Asia a very rewarding experience!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnnetteAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2010

We enjoyed our recent visit to the Yaowawit School Hotel in Kapong, in a gorgeous location in the jungle near Khao Sok national park. The executive suite was spacious, as were the superior rooms, and well appointed with a big bed, comfy couches, a separate office and luxurious bathroom. What we most enjoyed was meeting the kids who attend the school (and helped to serve breakfast!), talking with teachers about their educational mission and supporting this important program that helps over a hundred disadvantaged children.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SisterRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yaowawit School/Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yaowawit School/Lodge

Property: Yaowawit School/Lodge
Address: 29/55 Moo 1 | Maw, Kapong, Ao Phang Nga National Park 82170, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Ao Phang Nga National Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ao Phang Nga National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE LODGEThe 12 rooms are beautifully furnished and comfortable providing you with a view over the amazing Thai jungle. Each room has been named after local natural features, thus you can enjoy a night in a standard room (Papaya, Rubber Tree, Jackfruit, Gecko), in the spacious superior rooms (Lemon Grass, Catfish, Rambutan, Elephant, Mangosteen, Palm tree) or take one of the executive suites (Lotus and Orchid)THE RESTAURANTOur restaurant which seats 30 people, is one of the features of the lodge where the kids get to practice their hospitality classes.The meals are all traditional homemade Thai dishes at very reasonable prices: Pad Thai, Tom Ka Ghai, Chicken with cashew nuts, Pork with Black Pepper, Garlic Prawns, Thom Yam Gung and many more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yaowawit School/Lodge Phang Nga Province, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing