We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Khajji Cottage 2013 - An Alice in Wonder land Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Devdar

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Khajjiar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Devdar
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Khajjiar
Mumbai
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Khajji Cottage 2013 - An Alice in Wonder land Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

This was my wife’s first reaction when we walked towards it .

Later horsemen and photographers would tell you “ stories “ about various movies shot there including 1942 A love story !! .Occasionally in the day tourists will use it as a backdrop to take pictures and create cacophony around it . Daring ones will barge in to enquire how you got so lucky !!

The cottage can be booked online on the HPTDC website and consists of 2 separate Bedrooms that can be booked individually . However there is a common door between them in case rented to gather by larger families . Each cottage consists of a living area with sofa and chairs and a massive bedroom with a double bed and extra place to sleep another 3 to 4 people

Part of the HPTDC Khajjiar complex they are located at the extreme end of this beautiful meadow called Khajjiar

A Separate Caretaker provides basic breakfast / tea coffee and with advance notice serves warm meals from the HPTDC restaurant in Hot cases .

Cupboard has extra Duwets and blankets and a room heater . Hot water is consistent due to a separate storage heater . Lenin was clean and replaced daily .

The cottage even has a Television Set with Dish for bored kids seeking city life .

The floor work is of wood and a bit old and creaky . Just to preserve the place so that many more tourists can benefit for long years , its strongly recommended you be soft footed and tip toe around the place !!


Cottage 101 is recommended because its living room offers a unhindered view of the meadow ….

Hire them is you prefer solitude and want to rest and recuperate . 2 nights /3 days if perfect after which you start getting weary of the nothingness .

Place gets bright at 5 AM with sun peeping from big windows and call of birds …… one can walk on the grass with due on it and the whole meadow completely to himself …… later tourist traffic from nearby Dalhousie bring vendors of Bhelpuri / fruitchat / Shilajit : - ) and all kinds of stuff !! .

Nearby restaurants provide wholesome snacks and meals . The Tipplers too wont be disappointed as there is a liquor shot tucked away between small dhabbas !


I am for sure going back there one day !!

Room Tip: Insist on Cottage No 101 as it has better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Nirav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    71
    32
    8
    5
See reviews for
110
33
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

I have been in Devdar hotel from 14 May- 16 may,By reading review from trip advisory i book this hotels,When i reach this place location was excellent but hotel was terrible,I come from The Bagsu Macleodganj so same good feeling was in my mind as The Bagsu was very good HPTDC hotel, but i found this hotel in very poor condition, at arrival the receptionist given me his mobile number to call for any service as hotel telephone is not working, i have used my STD call for tea coffee,Room was slightly inclined towards front so always feeling it fall now,room was very uncomfortable as whole hotel is made of old wood even single person walk you feel whole hotels is shivering,Food quality was very bad, even roti,cutlet they made from maida only,so i need to brought food from Puri hotels in meadows.what every written in food menu its was not available.all food are below standard.

This hotels needs huge maintenance by HPTDC, It spoiling HPTDC image.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AshishKmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

We visited this place during winter season.I know its off-season but then we were on a back-packing travel. After travelling dharamshala and mcloadgunj this place we found out to be even better. We found place to stay just in front of totally snow clad Khajjiar lake- Devdar. With spacious rooms and excellent staff this hotel was gem.They arranged for us a nice bon-fire in the night and on our special request made us Mutton rarra(best rarra ever tasted).Rooms were lake facing hence the early morning view of the lake was breathtaking. Bottomline- If you keep yourself adventurous you will enjoy to the hilt.

Room Tip: Lake side view would be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gem_kaushik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Located at a prime place of Khajjiar. Almost all the meadow is in front of you visible from all the rooms (we booked one deluxe room later on changed to a 4 beded room). Overall the hotel needs serious maintenance. Hotel staffs were very cordial and the service was also very good. Surprise, surprise, you will get wireless service available free of cost (check with Manager). Though the signal is weak and will be available within the dining area area and rooms around. .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bsaikat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed in the khajji cottage for two nights in the month of November 2012. It has an amazing location (right on one corner of the big green landscape at Khajjiar). I would recommend to have the booking done for this cottage in advance because there are only two rooms here otherwise you would have to stay in the Hotel Devdar. There is a dedicated care taker for Khajji cottage who gets you meals, breakfast, dinner at your room. In the night it can get a bit scary because of the location of the cottage but believe you will have a great time there no matter what time you visit there.

Room Tip: Book the khajji cottage in advance before your trip. You won't get the rooms if you try for a wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RaviChourdia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

One of the most beautiful places of our country is Khajjiar. We went with our around 2 year old daughter and was mesmerised by the scenic beauty of the place. People travel around the world but I hope they also visit this place.
There is only one hotel available and it is comfortable. The house keeping and the room service people were very co-operative and they really take care of the guests. The food quality is good though the options are limited like every hill stations. They took special care of the food requirement of our daughter.
The view from the room is just wow! On the whole we would like to visit again to this place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RajaGuha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We did not stay in the hotel as we were staying in Dalhousie. But we visited on of the rooms, on request, and found it to be decent with a great view of the khajjiar grass-field. We had lunch there and found it to be really tasty and yes the tawa roti/chapati was an add-on for us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeetu_1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Khajjiar
0.3 mi away
Shining Star Resort
Shining Star Resort
#5 of 5 in Khajjiar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Residency
Royal Residency
#3 of 5 in Khajjiar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
3.5 mi away
Aamod at Dalhousie
Aamod at Dalhousie
#5 of 34 in Dalhousie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Grand View Hotel
Grand View Hotel
#1 of 34 in Dalhousie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
4.4 mi away
Alps Resort Dalhousie
Alps Resort Dalhousie
#8 of 34 in Dalhousie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
5.3 mi away
JK Clarks Exotica Dalhousie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devdar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devdar

Property: The Devdar
Address: District Chamba, Khajjiar 176314, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Chamba District > Khajjiar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Khajjiar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing