We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!”
Review of The Devdar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Devdar
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Khajjiar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2011

If you are planning a trip to Khajjiar, make it a point to plan a stay at the Khajji Cottage. Not without reason, Khajjiar is called a mini switzerland. The Khajji cottage at the far end of the meadows makes for a peaceful and quiet getaway.

The rooms are spacious. The hotel provides for a caretaker specifically for the cottage and his bungalow is situated just behind the cottage.

Food quality is great. For lunch and dinner, you will need to give the order to the caretaker in advance.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mihir J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 195 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2010

Stay was hassel free, we chose to go Khajjar a week before peak seson and got booking easily throgh the website. In fact we changed our booking and hotel managment was quite helpful in let us do that as hotel was pretty empty. Food was okay, though service was a bit slow. We found hotel was under staffer and ill maintained. They can do a better job in improving the service and upkeep of hotel.
Overall the stay was pleasent and location of hotel is quite good so I would recommand this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pnj-del
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

The services was fine as compared to rest of hotels.
The rooms were very huge and clean.
The view from hotel was amazing.
The rooms were best.
the food quality was ok.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dayworld_777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2010

We had travelled to khajjiar from Dharmshal, which was a tiring journy. when we reacheed Khajjiar , seeing the green shaded mewdow our heart was full of joy. The best view was from our hotel bedroom. we had booked 4 bedded room, having one wall of full glass, . You can just relax sitting on bed , looking at the soccer shaped medow surrounded by thick forest of Devdar trees.
It was too cold, in month of May.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dipikapanaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2010

Khajjiar is called Switzerland of India and its true. It is a very beautiful place. The Devdar hotel lacation is also very good. You can watch the beauty of nature from inside your room. The staff was cooperative, the rooms were good, the room service was not up to the mark. The food was good.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SunnyBhai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2010

we booked two cottages which were in the lap of khajjiar, by location this was the best place,but your expectation sholud not expcet much more,
rooms were very old, sleeping rugs, bed covers were old,rooms needed renewal,
but bathrooms were big with hot water all the time,TV stand was broken and we need to put it on our own hard-luggage to give it a proper support
room service was very poor and they gave us a phone without any connection, reception was not helpful, we asked for the manager to change room but he was in chamba(as we were told)that time,
most of the time we spent in the geen lap of khajjiar itself and took food from the road side resturants opposite of this hotel
night was a nightmare since rats started to play through the tunnel of old rejected fireplace,HORRBLE experience, wont recomend anubody to book the cottage rooma

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anonya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2009

Khajjiar is a breath taking place. Truly called the Switzerland of India. I did not expect the hotel to be that cozy, done up with great texture. The location of the hotel is stupendous perhaps the best in Khajjiar. Since it was a peak season, I was lucky enough to accidently block the rooms in Devdaar which proved quite prudent . We stayed in the Super Deluxe rooms and were quire lucky to have the corner room. The room had a separate dining area cordoned off by a separate door. The HPTDC have put lot of thinking in the texture of the rooms and have done up the roms quite elegantly. The whole experience is kinda unforgetable and thanks to the Devdaar for giving my second yet unforgettable Honeymoon.....after 4 years of marriage.

Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
5  Thank the3leo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Khajjiar
0.5 mi away
Shining Star Resort
Shining Star Resort
#5 of 5 in Khajjiar
115 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mini Swiss
Hotel Mini Swiss
#2 of 5 in Khajjiar
115 reviews
5.1 mi away
Grand View Hotel
Grand View Hotel
#1 of 37 in Dalhousie
1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Alps Resort Dalhousie
Alps Resort Dalhousie
#4 of 37 in Dalhousie
138 reviews
3.2 mi away
Aamod at Dalhousie
Aamod at Dalhousie
#5 of 37 in Dalhousie
162 reviews
5 mi away
Snow Valley Resorts Dalhousie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devdar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devdar

Address: District Chamba, Khajjiar 176314, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Chamba District > Khajjiar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Khajjiar
Price Range: $37 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Devdar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing