We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing hotel”
Review of Royal Residency

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Khajjiar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal Residency
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Khajjiar
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“amazing hotel”
Reviewed May 10, 2012

I had gone with my friends in d month of december....the staff was very warm and welcomed us with a smile...the view from every floor is beautiful...specially the big open space that they have facing the mountains on every floor.. is just amazing....the food was very good...they have a in house bakery and the stuff was really good and fresh...the rooms were very spacious,neat and clean.overall a very comfortable and a highly recommended hotel to stay....3 cheers!!! keep up good work...:-)

Room Tip: take a room facing the valley...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neha g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    29
    11
    7
    5
See reviews for
33
19
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2010

We stayed in this hotel for a day. It is at a little distance from the main grassland of Khajjiar (around 2 km). Our room was on top floor and the balcony from the floor had a amazing view of the mountain intermingled with clouds. The restaurant was decent and the room was neat & clean.
Overall it was a good experience.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iknalos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2010

We booked 2 rooms online as we were 8 people. we were greeted cordially by the staff. the rooms were neat and clean. And the staff was very helpful. I specially liked the food. A bonfire was arranged for us in the night. We played a lot of pool there. The place has in house bakery so we enjoyed having pastries and burgers. Although i feel that the service could have been a little better, besides that i had a comfortable stay and will love to visit this place again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaurav10b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington D.C.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

This hotel was very dirty. There were a lot of bugs in the room and the bathroom looked like it had never been cleaned. The towels and sheets in particular were smelly and stained and did not appear to have been cleaned since the last person stayed there. The man at the front desk told me he would have someone clean the room but when I returned that night it was obvious that no one had cleaned it at all. The service at the hotel was poor over all- staff if lazy and apathetic.
The location is alright, but there are 2 other hotels literally across the street and many nicer hotels actually in Khajjair (this hotel was like 30 min drive from Khajjair). Also nicer hotels in Dalhousie and Chamba.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Laura_Meek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Khajjiar hotels

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2010

The hotel was located 2kms away from the main city/meadow of Khajjiar, which itself has a radius of few kms. It is recommended that you have a car at disposal if you are staying here. It’s quite a big property & have plenty of rooms which are spacious, clean & well done up.

They have the basic amenities of hot water (morning only), TVs, room service etc. The staff is cordial & try to help make your trip as comfortable as possible. Food however was not the best, although the menu is extensive the taste is not the greatest, hence would recommend that you stick to the basics & not try anything too fancy. Chinese served was pretty decent. They have a splendid view of the valley & mountains, which you can enjoy with drinks in the evening before dinner from the common sit-out area. They however do not have a bar but the staff will help you with the arrangements.

After being disappointed by a meal in the hotel, we set out to check out the other hotels, and were relieved to find out that we indeed were in the best hotel the place has to offer. Hotel Deodar & Shining Star absolutely did not match the standards of the room & amenities in Royal Residency. (Hotel Deodar however had good food, which they also packed for us so we could enjoy the same in our hotel in leisure.) Overall our stay was very comfortable as well as enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SapnaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2010

We booked the hotel thinking that it would be close to Khajjiar. But it was 2.5 kms away from Khajjiar. The hotel owner said that we can walk down 2.5kms but trust me 2.5kms in hilly area means a lot. It was quite far and the distance is not at all walkable. Moreover the hotel is in a very secluded place where there is nothing, no habitation nearby. We felt as if it is haunted. Though there are many rooms but we were the only couple staying there. So felt quite unsafe. Pls avoid..instead opt for Hotel Deodar which is right in Khajjiar or Hotel Mini Swiss. But pls avoid this.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank NehaDasani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2009

We booked the hotel via email. They did not charge any money for
advance booking, they promised we were picked up from the airport, the
reception boy welcome us with a smile, they give us clean room.. The
bed is really comfortable, mattress are so soft. We had a nice sleep.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kporetzky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Khajjiar
0.0 mi away
Shining Star Resort
Shining Star Resort
#5 of 5 in Khajjiar
113 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mini Swiss
Hotel Mini Swiss
#2 of 5 in Khajjiar
108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alps Resort Dalhousie
Alps Resort Dalhousie
#6 of 36 in Dalhousie
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Grand View Hotel
Grand View Hotel
#1 of 36 in Dalhousie
1,721 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ashiana Regency
Hotel Ashiana Regency
#1 of 4 in Chamba
24 reviews
0.0 mi away
Classic Hill Top Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Residency

Property: Royal Residency
Address: Khajjiar Chamba Road, Khajjiar 176310, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Chamba District > Khajjiar
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Khajjiar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Residency 3*
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing