We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shining Star Resort
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Khajjiar
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
“excellent”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights, first week of april with kids ranging 5 to 12 years of age. Reached around 6.30 in evening , the drive in snow itself being surreal.
This was our second visit to the place , first time being for our honeymoon. Although surroundings have become more crowded but the resort stands the same , with a beautiful lawn right in front full of snow this time of the year. A great place for a bonfire till late in the night.
Meals are very ,very reasonable and delicious too . Service was prompt and staff courteous in such extreme weather conditions too.
It was a total white out with intermittent snowfall and walk up the mountain was exhilirating . The location is idyllic ,almost half kms from the main meadow, The owners stay in house and have been successful in retaining charm of the place and not giving in to unnecessary construction.
We were set up in a suite , which suited us wonderfully with 3 kids with lot of space for kids to play and sleep. house keeping & service is good..
Overall a value for money vacation with a guarantee of returning again..

liked the resort & place

Room Tip: choose luxury suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vineet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
awesome841, Guest Relations Manager at Shining Star Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Guest,
Warm greetings from the entire team of Shining Star Resort.
We are so happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us as that's what matters most to us. We always look forward to make trip of our guests memorable and comfortable. Looking forward to your third and many more visits here.
Thank You once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    23
    18
    8
    19
See reviews for
57
15
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Its not clean at all. Had to change the room since there were insects on the carpet. The other room was no better. The bathroom is shabby.
The hotel is slightly far from the lake and the meadows. But have to say that the staff was accommodating.
I would suggest to do only a day trip to khajjiar while staying in Dalhousie.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GargiPareek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
awesome841, Guest Relations Manager at Shining Star Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from the entire team of Shining Star Resort.
Firstly, we regret the inconvenience caused to due to the issue of cleanliness. The housekeeping staff has been replaced already and the issue has been taken into the consideration. We thank you for your helping and valuable response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Khajjiar hotels

Amritsar, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

just Went To Dalhousie with my Friends,Experience at The Resort was Really Awesome,Scenery is really good,those white peaks will definitely left an imprint in your heart! Location is perfect ! & Food here is really good ,Just feels like home,Rooms are really big & spacious,Overall It was a really good experience!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiratKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
awesome841, Guest Relations Manager at Shining Star Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Guest,
Warm Greetings.
We are happy to hear that your stay with us was comfortable and enjoyable for you and your friends. Looking forward to your visit soon.
Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
Level Contributor
111 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed here in Nov 2013 post Diwali festival. The hotel is one of the few hotels in Khajjiar as most tourists stay in Dalhousie which is away from Khajjiar. Our room was on the first floor just above the reception and lobby area. It is one of the best rooms I would say as it has a large balcony (as big as the large room itself). The view outside is simply superb with rows and rows of mountains visible.

The staff is quite helpful and food, service etc. is also good. We had our breakfast setup in the room balcony on next day to enjoy the views and sunlight, despite the cold. All these are really good points of this place.

Though there are good points, there are a some annoying issues too at this hotel, which are as below:

1) There are not water heaters in the bathrooms in entire hotel. They have central water heating system but the turn it on only in the mornings, that too for few hours. It should be 24 hours considering the cold place it is in.

2) They turn off room telephones and intercom system by 9.30 to 10 PM!! This was a shocker as we cannot order or ask for anything after that. So much so, that they even shut off the lights in the lobby and staircase so we can't even go downstairs to reception to ask something!

3) There is no lift. If you have room on upper floor, it might be difficult for elderly.

Room Tip: The room with a large balcony on first floor, just above the Reception / lobby area. You have views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hardikmaharaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
awesome841, Guest Relations Manager at Shining Star Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Greetings from the entire team of Shining Star Resort.
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sparing few minutes of your precious time to review us here. We are obliged that you had a great stay with us at the resort. We have also looked upon the shortcomings that you mentioned. The hot water is available within a time period at the resort as encouraging eco-friendly products the resort is equipped with solar water heating system but in case you wanted the water at any other hour of the day you could ask for it on the reception and you shall be entertained for the same.
Secondly, it was unfortunate that at time that you stayed with us, it was snowy and due to a technical fault the intercoms and the lights were't functioning. We regret this inconvinience caused to you. Looking forward to your visit soon.
Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pathankot, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 17, 2014

This is the best hotel in khajjiar.A very reasonable price and very good hospitality..Free Wi Fi is a plus point.You will stay connected to dear ones even in this remote valley through wi fi internet.And very very beautiful scenery all around this resort..do come and enjoy in shining star resort

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vikas87678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
awesome841, Guest Relations Manager at Shining Star Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Greetings from the entire team of Shining Star Resort.
Dear Guest,
We are glad and obliged that you had a pleasant stay with us. Looking forward to your visit soon. We look forward to your valuable response.
Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanpur, India
Level Contributor
71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

1. A night stay at Khajjiar, 06-07 Dec 13 during an absolute 'Off-Season' time.

2. The following were the advantages:-
(a) Extremely reasonable prices compared to others.
(b) Hospitality was great, both hotel staff & admin were very courteous.
(c) Food & Beverages part was taken care of, a bit spicy though.
(d) The view off the Balcony of the night sky & sunrise was great.

3. The weaker section which the Hotel may like to think on;
(a) Hot water availability is only timed from 07:00 to 11:00.
(b) Linen maintainence definitely requires more attention, specially quilt covers & bedsheets.
(c) The approach road but can be passed as a hill resort so be it like it is.

4. The Khajjiar Valley too is a short walk away and as we prefer a walk than a drive. Overall a 'Good' experience. Something however is restricting me from giving it a very good while there is no rating as good here !

Room Tip: You have to suite yourself to a floor only there are no other options, it's only which floor you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusejBose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
awesome841, Guest Relations Manager at Shining Star Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Greetings from Shining Star Resort.
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your response. We are glad that you took out time to scrutinize our property. We would like to bring to your notice that the hot water availability is restricted because the direct supply if from the solar water heater panels and availability is as per the time limit. Apart from this if you wish to have hot water at any other hour of the day then you have to inform at reception for the same and surely you would be entertained.
Looking forward to your visit again !
Thank You Sir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I wandered around for 4 hours to find a good place to stay after travelling so far and for so long. We had checked in at a guesthouse and paid advance as well, but when we came to Shining start for lunch, we shifted here despite the advance we had paid to other hotel. Very amazing view, amicable service, no disturbance. It the only best hotel in the city to stay in.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riya_thapa2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
awesome841, Guest Relations Manager at Shining Star Resort, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from the entire team of the Resort. We are glad that you loved your experience with us and we feel privileged to serve you. Your words of appreciation would definitely encourage the staff members of the resort to enhance their capabilities in serving our guests.
I would love to share your kind words with the entire team of Shining Star.
Looking forward to your patronage soon.
Thank You!
Warm Regards,
Shining Star Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Khajjiar
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mini Swiss
Hotel Mini Swiss
#2 of 5 in Khajjiar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
3.7 mi away
Aamod at Dalhousie
Aamod at Dalhousie
#6 of 34 in Dalhousie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
4.6 mi away
Alps Resort Dalhousie
Alps Resort Dalhousie
#8 of 34 in Dalhousie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Grand View Hotel
Grand View Hotel
#1 of 34 in Dalhousie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,641 reviews
5.5 mi away
Snow Valley Resorts Dalhousie
6.6 mi away
Atithi Resort
Atithi Resort
#11 of 34 in Dalhousie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shining Star Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shining Star Resort

Property: Shining Star Resort
Address: Khajjiar Nr. Dalhousie, Dist, Khajjiar 176321, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Chamba District > Khajjiar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Khajjiar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shining Star Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This cute and cozy property is in the midst of an Oak (Deodar) forest and an apple orchard. It presents a panoramic view of the milky white Himalayan peaks almost throughout the year. Feel the essence of heaven on earth and enjoy the glimpses of nature in the north Indian hill stream wherein, there exists a charming venture of natural Shining Star Resort KHAJJIAR. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Shining Star Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing