We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice rooms, stupid staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Tumaini Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tumaini Hostel
Ranked #11 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Lushoto
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
129 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, stupid staff”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights to trek to Irente. We got a nice room overlooking the green gardens in the back. The ladies working in the onside restaurant were very friendly and humorous; we shared a lot of laughs.
The water in the bathroom needs to be heated up before you use the shower, this takes some time.
We wanted to pay with our VISA card as there is no ATM in Lushoto town. Unfortunately their system wasn't working and they kept blaiming all our 4 debit and credit cards being unvalid. We tried to explain how to fix the machine but both the manager and employee were to stupid to understand. The next morning when we had to catch the bus, we tried again and (thank god) the **** machine worked. This was quite uncomfortable.
Furthermore our stay was okay here, especially for the price.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back of the building, you will have a good view over the gardens!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ItsSuuS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    12
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
17
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

This is a simple accomodation. If you're a backpacker in Africa you've probably been in places like this before. Our room was nothing fancy but with decent beds, it was clean but a bit damp and with a musty smell. You'll have your occasional loss of power and lack of water but nothing dramatic. On the good side is a lovely garden and a adjacent restaurant which serves really good food. Plus it is right in the town center in walking distance to everything you need. So for 25'000 Shilling a night for a double room this is okay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scalap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

The Tumaini Hostel is a clean and honest place to stay close to the centre of town. Basic and clean throughout and the garden provides a nice place to relax when you are not out and about exploring this beautiful area. Try and get a room the faces away from the street to minimize noise from the road and nearby establishments that can party on late in to the night on weekends. A short walk from the bus station makes this great for shaking off the local touts. Showers are hot, toilets flush, mozzie nets even though this is not a malaria area.
I have stayed there twice in July 2008 and July 2011, and would happily stay again. The restaurant service is painfully slow but does have a reasonable variety. Great for families, couples, and solo women travelers.
The tourists are discovering this gorgeous place. I hope they can find a way to minimize our impacts.
Good cultural tourism activities too. Get the local branch to organize a half day cooking class with a local family, visit kitopeni primary school just up the hill from the Tumaini and say hello to over a thousand local children and their dedicated teachers lead by Head teacher Catherine Joseph. A priceless experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor towards the rear as it can get noisy at night. You will be woken e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sueandmikey_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

We came to Lushoto wanting to get off the beaten track and enjoy something a bit different. Lushoto is a delightful small town in an exceptionally beautiful setting and is still mainly untouched by tourism. Up in the mountains it's good to get away from the searing heat and enjoy the cooler temperatures.

The Tumaini hostel is right in the centre of Lushoto.The accomodation is quite basic but comfortable. Squeaky clean room, hot shower, double bed with mosquito net, power points etc.We probably had the best room in the hotel with a sitting room and a wonderful balcony overlooking the fields at the back and filled with bird song. No need for an alarm, the noise from the mosque, the roosters and the cheeky crows arguing jostled to be the first to wake us up each morning. The service was a bit lackadaisical but the staff were friendly and any problems were easily sorted out. The restaurant at the front serves bland tourist food and there is an African restaurant at the back where the food is a bit tastier.

There are a few small organisations running guided tours and we chose the main group called the Friends of the Usumbaras as they were recommended to us by the CT in Pangani and also in the Rough Guide.

There's a choice of at least a dozen different trips, including multi-day tours with accomodation in local villages. We wanted something not too strenuous so we chose 3 single day treks which just lasted for a few hours. We did the famous walk to Irente View Point with picnic lunch at the farm, Mkuzu Waterfall and the Mgamba Rainforest and they were all absolutely fantastic. It's an enlightening experience walking with a guide who speaks excellent English and can tell you all about the local area and nature and point out loads of things you'd never spot without help. We saw chameleons, colobus monkeys, butterflies and birds and so much more. We also had loads of fun encounters with local people.

The Friends of the Usumbaras, developed in the 1990s by the villagers and officially backed by SNV and the Tanzanian Tourist Board, aim to promote the Usumbaras as a tourist attraction and use some of the funds to conserve nature and culture. They also support many projects to benefit the local communtities.

They are a lovely bunch of guys, enthusiastic and hard working, They also run an unofficial Tourist Information Office and can be contacted via their website www.usambaratravels.com. Highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: choose a room at the back with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PearlW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lushoto
0.0 mi away
Peponi Beach Resort
Peponi Beach Resort
#1 of 6 in Tanga
136 reviews
0.0 mi away
Swiss Farm Cottage
Swiss Farm Cottage
#1 of 1 in Lushoto
35 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lawns Hotel
Lawns Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lushoto
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kakakuona Lodge Lushoto
Kakakuona Lodge Lushoto
#10 of 23 in Lushoto
13 reviews
0.0 mi away
Demani Lodge
Demani Lodge
#2 of 22 in Paje
181 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mkuzu Creek Resort and Camping Site
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tumaini Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tumaini Hostel

Property: Tumaini Hostel
Address: Main Street, Lushoto, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Tanga Region > Lushoto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Lushoto
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Tumaini Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing