We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple yet perfect place to stay for a few nights.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lushoto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mullers Mountain Lodge
Ranked #12 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Lushoto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Simple yet perfect place to stay for a few nights.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Muller's is in the middle of nowhere on the outskirts of Lushoto which makes it a perfect place to get away for a few days. The main building is simple, yet classy. It has a very colonial vibe to it.
The rooms were nothing special, a little on the small side. U did like how they provided extra blankets as it got a little chilly at night. The bathroom was very small too. Water was warm, but not hot.
I only had breakfast there and then t was nothing special.
The highlight of the place for me was all the amazing greenery planted everywhere. It was also amazing to see the large vegetable garden in the back yard.
I would defiantly go there again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Psycochem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    25
    19
    11
    2
See reviews for
22
20
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

I have never been happier than visiting mullers mountain lodge I have been here more than 8times since I ever stepped in th3 enviroment is beautiful the service the food the weather everything is a peace of mind my self and my family love it there

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

It's a one hour transfer from the main Dar to Arusha highway, but it's climbing through lovely mountainous scenery, The location of the lodge is beautiful, set in its own grounds with the chalets scattered up a slope from the main hotel. The rooms are basic and comfortable, The inside of the hotel has a lounge with a log fire (it can get cool in the evenings) but we preferred huddling next to the huge chimnea in the garden next to the bar and under the stars. Breakfast was fairly basic with eggs cooked to you liking. Dinner was a buffet with several tasty hot options to choose from and, once we had established that chicken was not appropriate for a vegetarian (after the first night), they served up some good veggie options for the other two nights we were there,

All in all, a very pleasant stay though nothing out of the ordinary - though we can't comment on the value because the cost to us was part of a total Tanzania package.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

The environment is beautiful, the lodge nice and staff friendly. However, the food was not really special. Breakfast quite basic and we did not get a feeling that the staff really made efforts to pleasantly surprise their customers although prices are rather high. We needed to ask ourselves for juice and cheece for breakfast instead it being offered by the staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DAR2011_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

We've spend a long weekend in Mullers Mountain Lodge. Our first impression was very positive. The lodge is beautiful and situated on a perfect spot in the Usambara Mountains. But allready after one night we considered changing to another lodge. Allthough there is a lot of staff, they seem mostly busy entertaining themselves, playing games, hanging around the bar, drinking and laughing. Dinner is nothing special and if you're not so lucky you get old, dry bread for breakfast with a bit of jam and an eg. The staff obviously lacks supervision. On our last day and night we were the only guests. As desert they presented us the cake that had been on a plate outside all day. Also they turned off the water heater, they obviously forgot we were still there... The bill was incorrect, we had a strong impression the staff tried to let us pay for the beers and wines they had been drinking themselves during the past few days...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CcH1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lushoto hotels

Miri, Malaysia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

We booked to stay for 2 nights but after surviving a long and dusty bus ride to get there we instantly felt relaxed by the beautiful scenery and welcoming staff and decided to extend our stay by an extra night. The lodge is a colonial era farm house built from red brick and has lovely gardens with lots of flowers and fresh vegetables and herbs. There are rooms in main house as well as in small bungalows set in the grounds which are a short walk through the grounds and raised up on a hill with gorgeous views of the surrounding countryside. The inside of the room was simple but comfortable and luckily the bedding was nice and warm as the evenings can be really cold - warm clothes needed. The lodge is about 14km from Lushoto and a pick up can be arranged. This is free if you stay more than one night. Breakfast and lunch were so so but dinner was really good with lots of fresh vegetables from the garden. We paid $50 per night including breakfast and dinner is $10. There is nowhere else to eat nearby in any case. There is a fair selection of wine at reasonable prices, and suprisingly, credit cards were accepted. There are lots of nice walks to do nearby which the staff can advise on. The staff were extremely friendly and very helpful. I would definitely recommend this lodge though was less keen on the bus ride to get there.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveller1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2011

We greatly enjoyed our stay at Mullers Mountain Lodge. The owners have managed to create a very friendly and cozy, almost familar atmosphere. Staff are super-friendly and helpful, offering free coffee, tea and cake right upon arrival. It is pretty cold up there (1,800m) but there is a fireplace in the 'living room' where one can get warm and read a book. The lodge is situated in a beautiful compound with nice gardens, many different trees and birds (including some pretty fat ravens), area to sit and relax, etc. Unfortunately we did not have time to make any excursions but the lodge is renting out mountain bikes to those keen to explore the area.

The rooms are fairly basic but neatly decorated and absolutely OK for the price (we paid $45 for double) in the context of Tanzanian standards. I would however recommend to invest in lamps (instead of bare neon lightbulbs) and a slight improvement of the bathrooms. The walls are not very thick but I guess most people visiting the lodge will be of the calm type...

Please be aware of this: Similar to most other good accommodation in the area, the lodge is not in Lushoto proper but about 14km away. 14km doesn't sound much but most of it is a pretty bad dirt road, so it can take up to 45 minutes and your car will not be grateful for the ride.... if I had a normal saloon car I would think of twice before trying. However I saw that the road is currently (March 2011) being upgraded.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Weltwohnen10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lushoto
0.0 mi away
Swiss Farm Cottage
Swiss Farm Cottage
#1 of 1 in Lushoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.0 mi away
Highview Hotel
Highview Hotel
#1 of 2 in Karatu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lawns Hotel
Lawns Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lushoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Avocado Lodge
Avocado Lodge
#3 of 22 in Lushoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kakakuona Lodge Lushoto
Kakakuona Lodge Lushoto
#10 of 22 in Lushoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mkuzu Creek Resort and Camping Site
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mullers Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mullers Mountain Lodge

Property: Mullers Mountain Lodge
Address: Lushoto, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Tanga Region > Lushoto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Lushoto
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing