We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great familly getaway”
Review of Swiss Farm Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Swiss Farm Cottage
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lushoto
Dar
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great familly getaway”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We have been three times now: it is great to get out of the heat of Dar, and to end up in a location where time has slowed down. This time we stayed in the newly built bungalow, which had all the comfort required, and perfect for us sharing with another family (so 4 adults, 6 youngs kids in total).
The staff were very welcoming (and went out of their way to meet our request for birthday cakes, killing ants etc), and the food tasty and plentiful. The kids spent their day outside running freely with minimal supervision, and loved having a fire to warm us up in the middle of Africa.

Two slightly negative points that could easily be remedied:
a) there is a water reservoir which is relatively deep. With young children, it would be good to fence it off (much like you would do for a pool), especially as it is hidden away from the parents sight if they are around the bungalow.
b) Clear prices and rules on the tours would be useful. We went for a walk from the lodge to the waterfall, and the price initially asked was Tz 20,000 per pax (we were 15...). This was swiftly negociated to a more reasonable fare, but a standard fare would be helpful (for visitors, but also likely for the guides). In any event, we highly recommend the walk!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dar_resident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    15
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
15
15
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at Swiss farm cottage for 2 nights on our honeymoon this summer. The place was very picturesque and the cottage clean and comfortable. We were glad of the blankets in the cottage as it got very cold late afternoon/ evening! The food was great, good hearty portions so don't order too much! About 20 minute drive from lushoto so be aware that you cannot walk into town but we liked being away from it all. We felt that the guided walk from Swiss farm cottage, although beautiful, was a bit overpriced.

Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Turned up unnanounced, great place to stay, discount if staying more than one night. Temperature fell to 14c at night so they lit a fire for us! Great home cooked food, beef stroganoff at Tz shillings 16000 is one of the best I have tasted.

Local treks available. More accomodation being built, probably open new bit in July?

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

this place is amazing , i went there in 2012 with friends and family once we reached our jaws dropped the place is on a hill with many small cottages filled with flowers breath taking , was so cold for me since i live in a tropical city , we went on hiking to a waterfall near by , the food was great the staff were really nice to us i want to go again with my family soon .

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saira o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We were a little aprehensive after reading the reviews, but I am so glad we decided to go anyway. We spent one night at the Cottage, I wish we had time to extend our stay. Everything from the accomodation, to food and staff were superb. The wine was a little expensive, but other than that we had nothing to complain about.
Thank you to Sandra and her staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

After reading the most recent two reviews, my husband and I (who had already booked a 4 night stay at Swiss Farm) almost cancelled our booking. However, in the end we decided to stick with it and we didn't regret it. The cottage is based in a lovely area, with a beautiful little living room, dining area and bedroom. The comments about the rooms being dirty make no sense to us... we found everything spotless and the staff were eager to clean our room every day. The washrooms (described as VERY basic by the previous reviewer) were basic in their setup but nicely decorated and the shower had lots of hot water. We found the staff extremely friendly and helpful. My husband was sick for two days and Tobias, the guide, went to great pains to make sure he was okay, riding his motorbike back and forth to town to get him medicine. We found the food delicious, and while it seemed that the prices were steep at first, we discovered that a single portion was huge- enough for us both to eat with leftovers. (And we are not small eaters). With that in mind, the prices for food were actually very reasonable, as we shared a single portion for dinner each night. Wine also was priced at about the regular price for a glass/bottle that you would pay in a restaurant. The hike to Irente starts out on a main road that is currently under construction. However, as you go along you pass through lovely farm land and villages, and we even had lunch at Irente Farm (included in the price of the hike) which is in a gorgeous rainforest setting. We enjoyed the chilly evenings in front of the fire, and then curling up under our thick blankets. I found that midway through the night I would kick off my blanket. My only complaint would be that the mattresses and pillows were quite hard, so we woke up with a stiff neck most days. I would recommend that you give this place a try, and don't let the last two reviews sway you:)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

A group of us stayed here overnight, and our first impressions were good.

The cottage we were given has a lovely main room which is beautifully laid out with a big dining table, and a cosy seating area near a fireplace. To the side of the main room is a pretty wooden structure which holds all the kitchen necessaries. Beyond this, however, lay two sparsely furnished, cold bedrooms, with VERY basic ensuite bathrooms (and cheap toilet paper!). No heating facilities in the bedrooms or bathrooms, and Lushoto can get very cold. We were freezing, especially in the morning as the fire we'd built the previous night had gone out.

The worst part of the whole stay, however, was the food; it was awful. Tasteless, and extremely expensive. The wine was also very expensive. In years gone by, it used to be difficult to get supplies in Tanzania, both due to transportation, and also because of a lack of availability, but this is no longer the case, so there's no real excuse for bad food!

The only really positive part of this is the wonderful, warm, helpful and smiling staff. They so wanted to make sure we were looked after, and comfortable. if you decide to visit, do so for the staff and the location. Just be warned that the roads are terrible at the moment, so it's a bit of an arduous drive from the main roads, at the moment.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MsFancy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra M, Owner at Swiss Farm Cottage, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for your helpful reviews.I personally apologize for all the discomfort you had.I had been away due to some personal issues that are now resolved.So for you and all our future visitors,we promise you that we will work on these problems such as food,as the chef cook herself was away with me as we happen to be family.We shall work on our wine prices, and with time on room heating facilities, though most people would think the fire place and blankets are enough. Please do not be threatened to visit us again.We are aware that without you customers we are nothing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lushoto hotels
0.0 mi away
Irente View Cliff Lodge
Irente View Cliff Lodge
#10 of 24 in Lushoto
37 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kakakuona Lodge Lushoto
Kakakuona Lodge Lushoto
#7 of 24 in Lushoto
15 reviews
4.2 mi away
Avocado Lodge
Avocado Lodge
#3 of 24 in Lushoto
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Green Farm Friends Lushoto
4.1 mi away
Lawns Hotel
Lawns Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lushoto
114 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mkuzu Creek Resort and Camping Site
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Farm Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Farm Cottage

Property: Swiss Farm Cottage
Address: p.o. box 70, lushoto - mkuzi, Lushoto, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Tanga Region > Lushoto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lushoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Swiss Farm Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss Farm Cottage Hotel Lushoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing