We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living History”
Review of Lawns Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lawns Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Lushoto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2013

It is easy to see why the Germans wanted to make Lushoto, a lush green valley in the temperate Usambara mountains, their capitol. Lawns has comfortably housed travelers for over 100 years. Tony, the owner, is a Greek-Tanzanian who grew up on a sisal plantation in the plains below. He can tell you firsthand about local history and the changes he has lived through. The ivy covered walls of the common area of Lawns whisper of German and English colonials playing golf, cards, dancing, and sipping drinks on the terrace looking up at the Usambara Mountains. There are games in the game room, books and old maps in the library room and a very modern flat screen TV in the main room. Have a drink at sunset on the veranda or meet other travelers in the cozy pub. The breakfast area was originally a ballroom, and then a cinema, the breakfast area is now a sunny cheerful dining room. Breakfasts are a real deal including local fruit, omelets, toast (including Marmite and marmalade), and cereal. A small golf course circles the lodge. Free internet.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 133 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

- Clean
- Old
- Bar area good fun
- Staff were pretty good.
- Owner was a barrel of laughs
- Showers warm
- Room was clean
- Bed big and comfortable.

It wouldn't be my first choice to stay, but it served it's purpose. I was tired, and needed a good rest, and it suited that need perfectly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderingaussie-adam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

A nice location but that's it! Windows in my room wouldn't close and there were no burglarbars. The owner was yelling at guests as they expressed their opinions. Worst of all; 50 liters of diesel were stolen from our truck at night, despite 2 nightguards. Worst place ever!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Djangere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawns33, Owner at Lawns Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Foremost I sympathise with your concern of no burglar bars.The reall truth burglar bars are bannedby law and the fire department, and there is nothing so tramatic as burned alive in your own room with no venue of escape,As for stolen diesel after leaving premises for more than half an hour to return, and complain of stolen diesel we find it very unfair, as customer explicity showed us were he parked ,and there was no evidence of spillage, and furthermore, asked for a receipt to verify filling 50 litres was not forthcoming.We soundly advise all our guests ,especially motorists, to make sure at the petrol station to verify that the petrol pump is off and resseted,eitherwise the pump will continue with previous customers fill,and end paying maybe for 60 litres of petrol or diesel with only 15 litres filled.Its a bitter experience and has happened to me to.Its human nature sometimes to dislike somebody for no reason.
,or conflict of interest with neighbouring facility????

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We spent one night at this hotel and really enjoyed the beautiful location in the mountains and the great bar. The rooms are private, simple but comfortable and the personnel very accommodating.
Free Internet access. We also walked to the little village nearby and enjoyed the market.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeroniqueFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

This is the old German lodge where people escaped the muggy coastal heat. It is now run by a Greek character who with his pony tail will keep you entertained as you cluster in front of the fire in the bar. Our visit was during one of Tanzania's more spectacular storms so being able to not only have our drinks but supper there too made for a memorable evening.
It is only fair to say that the place was never top of the luxury scales and probably never wished to be so; just a comfortable place to spend cold wet evenings after hiking in the fascinating Usambara Mountains with their unique varieties of flora.
Definitely worth the detour.

Room Tip: Look for one overlooking the original lawns away from the noise of the boda bodas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

My visit to Lushoto in December is when Tanzanian summer and heat is almost too much, the I arrived to Lushoto, where the climate is excellent with forests and mountains. Lawns hotel is an old colonial time structure, but such well maintained with beautiful flowers and short grass. I really enjoyed and relaxed. Thank you Tony, I got my Christmas!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LegeTz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

As part of an overland safari we stayed here over night. Arrived late ish so not much to do or see. Rooms big and a little tired ESP the bathrooms that have an air of prison about them. The bed was big & warm. Allah woke us at 430am as did the roosters. Great bar nice staff and free wifi in a limited area. Hot water not so good.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joancollins69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lushoto hotels
4.1 mi away
Swiss Farm Cottage
Swiss Farm Cottage
#1 of 1 in Lushoto
37 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avocado Lodge
Avocado Lodge
#3 of 24 in Lushoto
35 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kanaani Resthouse
Kanaani Resthouse
#2 of 8 in Lushoto
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Green Farm Friends Lushoto
2.5 mi away
Irente View Cliff Lodge
Irente View Cliff Lodge
#12 of 24 in Lushoto
40 reviews
5.3 mi away
Mkuzu Creek Resort and Camping Site
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lawns Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lawns Hotel

Address: Lushoto, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Tanga Region > Lushoto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lushoto
Price Range: $26 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the beautiful Usambara mountains, The Lawns Hotel in Lushoto has the convenience of being in town but perched on the hilltop surrounded by trees and lush gardens gives you that unique mountain feel. Built by German settlers it has that colonial feel with its fireplaces and wood paneling in the main building. Now under new management with many improvements being made. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lawns Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing